1983 Honda Accord 5 speed 1.8L 75hp from North America


The Edgar Martinez of Accords!!!


At 182000 miles while driving home from skiing, a radiator hose broke which I didn't notice until I stopped at the next gas station 20 minutes down the road. By that time the engine had overheated enough to blow the head gasket.

At 185000 miles the carburator began having problems, so after fixing that it has been running great!

General Comments:

Perks about this car have been the 32-35mpg. Great control in snow. Just last week it topped out at 117mph driving down the freeway. I only got 28mpg on that trip. =?)

It has aged a lot, but I like to look at it as the Edgar Martinez of Honda Accords.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2001

10th Aug 2001, 16:59

How did you fix the carburetor??? I have had sooooooooo much trouble with my carburetor I would die to find out how to fix the damn thing.

27th Oct 2001, 13:35

I'm interested in knowing how you fix the carburettor too! I have difficulty sustaining the car after it starts. But it will run fine after a warm-up. Suspect a carburettor problem!

1st Mar 2002, 00:22

Whats with the carburetors ragging out at about 180000 miles. My 84 accord "needed" a rebuild at 175000. It was performing well, but the DMV thought it was dirty. $600 later, I'm wondering, just what is the carburetter malady that these mid 80s accords develop.

17th May 2002, 15:45

I had a warm up problem with my 83, ended up being a thermostat problem, just didn't want to run when cold because of the emission control system dumping exhaust back into a cold engine, once I replaced the thermostat, ran fine.

I did rebuild an 82 accord EK-1 Engine, and put it in an 80 Prelude, and I had to re-build a caurb for that, I recomend a re-build, Buy the kit!

3rd Dec 2002, 15:50

I was only really interested in seeing what a 1983 Accord looked like. I got as deal for an 1983 with 17,000 original miles on it for 1700.00, and I just wanted to know what I was getting. Obviously I am getting the deal of the year.

31st May 2006, 10:03

The choke on these accords tend to wear out after 189,000 miles to fix this problem you could just wire it wide open.

You will still have to feather the gas when its cold.

1983 Honda Accord DX 3BBL 4 cylinder. from North America


The best car Honda has put out to date


Paint has begun to chip off all over the hood.

The carberator blew out at 135,000 miles, and finding one of those 3 barrel jobs is difficult.

General Comments:

Great car, cheap, and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2001

1983 Honda Accord LX from North America


Great car, Honda caught on that this was too good a model to continue


Muffler caused severe rust at the back apron.

Replaced two clutches.

Dies intermittently on cold days only in Oregon!

Rear defogger never worked.

General Comments:


Cheap way to own a car.

Will go to 300,000.

I wished I had noticed the rust cancer in the back before it ate out the apron.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2001

1983 Honda Accord DX 1.6 carb from UK and Ireland


Cheap, reliable, comfortable transport


Faulty rear wiper.

When left for 2 days not used, the handbrake seized - a few revs sorted it out!

General Comments:

Excellent car for year - good spec (i.e. 5 speed gearbox), good handling and grip, so far looks pretty bomb proof.

Some small rust patches on the rear arches, but no other rust - not bad for a car 17 years old!

This car is just at home on the motorway as round town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2000