1977 Honda Civic Reviews

1977 Honda Civic CVCC 1.5 from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership1977
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance197000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Great car; I drive it because it still runs comparatively good!

Faults:

The odometer has turned twice.

2 engine replacements.

Speedometer doesn't work now.

Heck it's 30 years old.

General Comments:

I still drive it. I love it.

It's slower now, but I still get at least 35 mpg.

It's my old dependable and I don't want to give it up, ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th April, 2008

1977 Honda Civic 1.3L from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership1983
Engine and transmission 1.3L Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles

Summary:

It sucked

Faults:

Bought the car used, and only had it for a total of 6 weeks. I hated it almost from the gate. The choke was very touchy, sorta like my lawn mower!

It was a crappy handler in the rain. Hydroplaned with gay abandon, in Fall rainstorms. Scared the crap outta me a few times!

The cam shaft went on it, $162.000 to repair it. Dealer 'forgot' to re-tension the timing chain. Blew the engine on my ride home from the dealer, after a 2 week wait for parts for the darned car.

Was the worst 6 weeks of ownership. Yuck!

General Comments:

The car was like an enclosed lawn tractor, the cabin was very gloomy and the seats were uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd July, 2007

4th Jul 2007, 14:50

Lets see, 1977, many miles before engine work, dealer made a mistake and you blame the "yuck" car. Comparing this 30 year old car to todays comfortable, "luxurious" interiors, not exactly apples to apples. It was a marvel of engineering for it's day, and a fairly comfortable interior for 1977. Be fair here, the car is 30 years old and gave great service for the owner before you.

1977 Honda Civic CVCC 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles

Summary:

Takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'

Faults:

Front axle broke after spinning through a ditch.

Carburetor is malfunctioning from unknown cause.

General Comments:

This car is great!!! Bought it for $500 and have been offered double. Car runs strong and fast and still hits 110mph on the highway (although it is a little scary in a car that only weighs 1200lbs.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2004

23rd Oct 2004, 13:56

110mph I think you might be a little out on that one there buddy.

15th Jan 2005, 22:04

110 is possible with the CVCC, I had a '77 with the 1.2 50hp and saw 100mph quite often. The guy we bought that from had another '77 with an Accord 1.6 and it would do about 130mph until the engine blew one day (to much engine in a small space, it overheated) so he put a Prelude 1.8 in it. Needless to say we never found out how fast that one went, sanity prevailed that day.

1977 Honda Civic CVCC 4-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 4-cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

One of the best year models Honda ever produced

Faults:

At 90,000, all wiring had to be replaced due to age and corrosion.

CV joints replaced at 91,000.

Automatic transmission rebuilt and serviced at 91,000, as transmission was slipping.

Finally engine started to continuously overheat due to former owner's negligence of maintenance.

Engine rebuilt at 100,000, remedied the problem.

General Comments:

I purchased this car which was on the showroom floor of a local Honda dealership. 72,000 miles on odometer. Paid too much, but she was worth it. It was in prime condition, one owner, (little old lady from Pasadena) -- 4-cylinder, 4-door, automatic on floor, air conditioning, original paint, the CADILLAC of the Honda Civic station wagons. Very hard to locate and replace in today's market.

I drove the Honda for almost 20,000 additional miles without problems other than oil changes.

Dependable, very, very economical, smooth automatic transmission, excellent air conditioning system.

I would consider purchasing the same year vehicle again and completely rebuilding it.

A unique classic in its own right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th September, 2003

23rd Mar 2005, 06:37

Yeah! I have a 1976 civic, I converted it from auto to 5 speed and changed the sick oil burning 76 1200 for an 84 1600cc with quarter race cam, I have 1979 accord wheels on it as well, very little rust and sure has upset some of the locals with newer cars wondering what just blasted past them, good little car easy to work on when you know how big thumb's up to the mighty 76 civic.

8th Nov 2007, 15:02

Hi,

I own a Honda Civic 1977 model. Unfortunately the engine broke down with a camshaft failure of the oil pump drive.

Can you please indicate from where I can purchase a direct replacement for this part?

Please e-mail on- cecilattard@onvol.net

Your help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Cecil.

1st Mar 2008, 05:10

I have a 1977 Civic, it has no problems, bought it for 500 dollars, belonged to an old woman who bought it when she was 60 (she's 90 now), new, it's only done 140000km (don't know what that is in miles) and has still has protective plastic over some of the interior. The back seats look like they were never sat in.

It's fantastic on fuel, runs great, and looks great.

I want to keep it long-term, I think it's a classic.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 4 reviews