1983 Honda Civic DX 1.5L from North America

Summary:

Outstanding!

Faults:

Just about zero problems whatsoever with the car. The only time it ever kept me from getting to where I wanted to go was when the thermostat stuck closed and had to be changed at 180000 miles.

Other regular fixes over the life of this car have been (and well worth it)...

Timing belts change every 90000 miles.

Alternator changes about every 200000 miles.

CV joints about every 4 to 5 years from the rubber wearing out and letting road grit into them.

Headlamp Wiper Turn Signal combo switch on the wheel wore, and was changed at about 300000 miles.

Carburetor rebuilt once sometime after 300000 miles also.

EGR emissions valve worked on a couple of times, and a couple of catalytic converters changed as well, though this may not apply as part of the car in some areas.

Once we did a pre-chamber service, which is the most major service without doing a valve job.

General Comments:

This is probably the best car I have ever owned. All of the above are very minor contributions in keeping such a pleasantly reliable and economical car running.

It has gotten a consistent 47 miles per gallon highway and 35 miles per gallon city even to this day, and this is not a hybrid vehicle.

I have done the normal things like getting new batteries and brakes once in a while, but this car is still on the original clutch and transmission as well.

Just cannot say enough good about this car! It has always passed smog tests with relative ease, and this is the first year it is having some difficulty, due probably to some carbon build-up, but the compression is still good! Because of the performance of this car, other friends and family members have bought almost a dozen cars from the same dealership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2006

1983 Honda Civic hatch petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Its small, its reliable, it'll go for ever!

Faults:

Some small rust spots (fix them myself)

Replaced the radiator thermostat ($35)

Front CV joints replaced ($350)

General Comments:

The little Honda Civic just keeps on going, and purrs along like a Rolls.

The interior trim is in terrific condition, 20 years on, no cracking of the vinyl or plastic. Everything works, the instrumentation dimmer, the rear wiper and demister, the "ding dong" lights-on warning bells.

The 5-speed shift is a bit notchy getting into first, maybe a sign the clutch will go sometime soon.

If only all cars were made to last like these little puppies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2004

1983 Honda Civic 1500 4-door sedan 1.5 liter carburated from North America

Summary:

Looks awful inside, but overall a buy-again vehicle

Faults:

Electrical system problem: tail lights and dash lights are tricky, keep going out, especially when going over a bump or on a rough ride? Perhaps a loose connection, but where? Fuses check out okay.

ERG replaced in September 2003.

Radiator leak 2002; replaced.

Upholstery is tattered, but the car came with ruined upholstery.

Dents, after a police car hit it while it was parked legally (police still haven't fessed up).

Cracked window recently, due to a rock?

General Comments:

Overall a bullet-proof engine; I've driven this car 400 miles in desert heat and its worked fine. Handles very well.

A bit under-powered on hills.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2004

17th Oct 2009, 18:17

I had 1983 Honda Civic hatchback, and it was a nightmare. It was primitive and gutless. The design was so outdated that it had a manual choke. The car had no power at all. It was harrowing when I tried to keep up with traffic, or go through an intersection.

It had a bizarre transmission called Hondamatic. It should have been called Hondanightmare. Basically, it was a shiftable automatic, with 1st and 2nd gear, and overdrive. I had major problems with the transmission. The Civic was like a tin can inside, and it never started in cold weather, despite being plugged into the block heater. I hated that car, and it must have hated me because it died in the middle of the road, leaving me stranded. I will never buy another Honda as long as I live. They are the most overrated, overpriced cars on the road.

18th Oct 2009, 09:52

I recently had to replace an engine in an '83 Civic. Of course, this was after the odometer had been maxed out twice, and the owner had horribly abused the vehicle for its entire life. I think if it can take that much abuse, it was a pretty decent vehicle. The transmission was the original by the way, and it stayed with the vehicle when the new engine was put in.

9th Aug 2011, 02:57

I'm not sure what Civic you had, the 83 doesn't have a manual choke. The car isn't shy of power and lasts forever!! Is this possible your joking? I have one, and it's now August 2011 and has 147000 miles on it. The engine has never been rebuilt and it is a Hondamatic, and that hasn't been rebuilt either. This car just keeps going and it gets great mileage and parts are cheap now. Most of all, it's FUN to drive!

1983 Honda Civic from Greece

Summary:

Mathoysalas

Faults:

No serious problems that make this car leave you in the middle of nowhere.

General Comments:

The road ends this car not.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2003

20th May 2009, 06:50

Yes, this unbreakable machine keeps going on and on. Everyday use and no problems. Had to replace only tires, engine oil, radiator fluid, sparks and nothing else.

Mathusalas xa xa xa!!!

1983 Honda Civic 1300FE 1.3 from North America

Summary:

Best transportation bargain on the planet

Faults:

Carburetor floats replaced at 100,000 miles. Alternator replaced at 130,000 miles. Front disc pads replaced every 50,000 and rear brake linings replaced every 100,000 miles. Master cylinder replaced at 200,000 miles. Cylinder head rebuilt at 150,000 miles. Trip odometer failed at 175,000. Igniter failed at 190,000 miles. Distributer centrifugal advance springs fatigued at 200,000 miles. Right constant velocity joint was clicking at 200,000 miles which proved to be loose grease seal. After 15 years body rust was beginning to show. Battery clamp has corroded away.

General Comments:

The hatchback is very comfortable, utilitarian and reliable. The engine is very well matched to the transmission and the car handles reasonably well. The car is not fast, but will definitely get you where you're going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2003