1993 Honda Civic Reviews - Page 12 of 13

1993 Honda Civic ESi 1.6 SOHC from Philippines

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Faults:

The camshaft pulley broke at 115000 km.

The driver's side power window won't automatically stop when you try to raise your window.

The driver's side power mirror malfunctioned.

The front seat sagged.

General Comments:

The power is awesome for a 1600 car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2001

1993 Honda Civic LSi 1.5i SOHC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5i SOHC Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Good hot hatch and easy to tune

Faults:

I had to replace the distributor housing and arm as the bearings were badly worn at 55k.

Had to replace the slave cylinder to the clutch, my fault for not watching the oil level.

Other than that, the car has been running very smoothly with no other gremlins.

General Comments:

As it was only a SOHC it has very good 0 to 60 speed and had good torque and handling all the way up the gears and up and beyond 110mph.

Had it tuned to 130bhp, I had it lowered and also had a strut brace installed, it made the car handled with frightening/amazing grace in the fast and slow twisty corners. Would have loved to have tried the 1.6 VTi DOHC to compare performance.

I found availability of parts very easy considering it was a Japanese import. Very tunable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2001

29th May 2001, 04:38

Hi there, I have a Japanese import 1.5 V-tech-E, I think 102bhp, not sure, single cam, what mods can I do to increase the bhp?

It is very quick, and unreal on petrol, a pure miser! I bought a Janspeed back box, no problems so far. I had a 1.5 dual carb, Japanese import, can't fault Honda, this hatch is very popular with boy racers in Ireland!

30th Aug 2002, 14:07

Hi there... did your LSi had a D15B2 engine? I am writing from Brazil, I have one '93 LSi with a D15B2 engine, 95bhp stock. How did you managed to get 130bhp out of it? Can you help me with that?!

Thanks!

1993 Honda Civic ESi 1.6 SOHC VTEC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC VTEC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carTriumph Acclaim

Summary:

Fast, fun and understated

Faults:

New battery after 5 years.

Faulty spark plug at 98,000, but don't hold that against it.

Lower suspension bushes worn and splitting (very expensive to replace).

General Comments:

This is a very fast and reliable car.

Forget Honda servicing and just insure you keep changing the oil at 6,000 mile intervals.

As you can see this is a high mileage car, but it has very little sign of wear either inside or out.

A comfortable cruiser or a GTi eating monster. You decide how you want to drive this car and it will play along.

Easy 130+ MPH performance (indicated), easy overtaking with 90mph+ in third.

Sticks to the road like a dehydrated leech. Tested on Milton Keynes roundabouts. Very neutral on the limit.

Easy a match for Golf GTi ownership and a lot less common. Like the Golf, performance seems to increase with age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2001

1993 Honda Civic DX hatchback 1.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance108000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Great value economy car

Faults:

Replaced CV boots in 1997, the cost of which was covered by warranty.

Replaced muffler (rusted out) in 1998.

General Comments:

The car is an excellent economy car. Reliable, cheap to run and while far from a performance car, still fun to drive.

The car retained its resale value over the period of ownership. I bought the car for $11,000 CND new in 1993 and just sold it in March 2001 for $8,000 CND. Mind you, I did take very good care of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2001

1993 Honda Civic ESI 1.6 VTEC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carVolvo 340

Summary:

Reliable revtastic runabout

Faults:

Nothing, apart from general wear and tear, battery and exhaust etc.

General Comments:

A wonderful car which deserves greater recognition.

Those who criticise Honda for being boring and only fit for old people have not driven a VTEC engined Civic, the race bred nature of the engine shines through.

Honda servicing and the insurance is the only problem and unfortunately why I will have to part with my car for something cheaper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2001

1993 Honda Civic SiR 1.6 DOHC VTEC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC VTEC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 kilometres
Most recent distance82000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla GT Twincam

Summary:

Trouser soiling rocketship

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Fit a K&N 57i, add a big exhaust, stick a set of 16's on board and lower it and you've got the best sounding, best handling, most head turning, absolute animal of a car for half the price of any top of the range sports car on the market. The SiR is equipped with bucket seats front and back, white dials and sports steering wheel. You just can't go wrong!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2000

8th May 2001, 15:33

steven@carsurvey.org:

The SiR Civics have been available in Japan since long before 1998.

Best Wishes,

Steven.

12th May 2001, 01:46

The guy who says the SiR didn't come out till 1998, you're wrong, more like 1989.

17th May 2001, 21:15

Ah.. A Neon Sport.. not only costs less.. it also does the quarter mile in 15.6 seconds completely stock.. Great handling is virtually useless if your car isn't fast anyways.

10th Jun 2001, 19:23

What are these like compared to the CRX SiR??

Crx@roadracer.co.uk

6th Aug 2001, 04:27

Hey, I'm just wondering if you guys know if the Civic GTi is a DOHC VTEC??? If not I'll probably get a SiR Civic. Yeah!!!

17th Aug 2001, 09:38

I am buying a Civic SiR II as apposed to a CRX SiR, as it handles better; both have LSD (1992 CRX mk2 SiR), and both have 168ps (about); but the Civic has a better chassis... and bigger stock tires; sports steering wheel etc...

1st Sep 2001, 16:35

I am looking at a 1993 Civic siR that has a turbo chip and seems very fast, how much horse power does the 93 siR have? And were they good cars? Did they have the siR in 93...

Thanks, DP.

1st Oct 2001, 18:48

What does a used SiR usually go for... my friend is going to sell me his for 3 grand... and its in great shape...

23rd Nov 2002, 18:05

Hey I own a 1989 honda civic siR best car I ever brought and I'm just getting a turbo put onto it. its FAST

14th Sep 2003, 06:39

Anyone selling a Sir 2 contact me on 07986988126. I have written mine off.

28th Jun 2007, 16:29

I'm getting my 93 sir 4dr with only 40k miles on it tomorrow like new *mint*

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 51 reviews