2001 Honda Civic EX from North America - Comments

17th May 2007, 08:35

I bought a 1991 Honda Accord LX for my son two years ago for $500. It wasn't pretty, but ran great with 259,000 miles. We just sold it with over 270,000 miles, still running great, and bought a 1997 Honda Civic HX. So far the Civic has had unanticipated problems, but still gets my son from point A to point B. He was so enthusiastic about Honda's because of the fantastic reliability of the Accord, but isn't having the same luck with the Civic. However, he loves the little car, plans on "customizing" it and refuses to let it bother him that when the car is shifted into reverse, it revs up (instead of idling down) and lopes. With todays gas prices, the car will pay for its own repairs with its fuel efficiency.

11th Jun 2007, 20:12

My wife's 2001 Civic LX is a LEMON. We had to replace the transmission at 60,000 miles and have numerous other annoyances including a bad drivers side seat belt, inoperable passenger automatic window and now the computer seems to have blown - SRS light on constantly, emergency brake light on, service engine light on, power locks don't work and air-conditioning stopped working all in one day. I have historically had OK luck with Honda's (never as great as their reputation which is grossly overrated). I was thinking of getting a Civic for myself before all these problems, but wouldn't even consider it now. Honda needs to focus again on quality or they're going down!

12th Jun 2007, 13:39

Going down hill like GM, Ford, and Chrysler? and not to mention the hoodlums who say Toyota is too? Well I guess a 2007 horse and buggy from the amish is the only way to get you around.

17th Jul 2007, 21:47

I have 147,000 miles on my 2000 Civic, and it never had anything done other than oil changes till 142,000 miles when I replaced the original battery, did the muffler, and a tune up.

The timing belt will be dealt with shortly too, but I do not believe many of these comments. I have relatives with newer Odysseys, Accords, and Civics and have no trouble either.

I think finding the best car company is doing well in sales and finding how reliable one is how they are doing good in the market place. I do not see Ford or GM up there, and all I hear is "good" reviews on domestics on this site and "bad" ones on imports. Now what are you going to believe in? Well have fun driving your Grand AMm or Pursuit. Just don't look for any second looks!

17th Sep 2007, 23:07

Bought new 2001 Civic for our daughter in Feb. 2002...she has just had to finally replace the transmission this summer, after another mechanic charged a few hundred $ to "flush" the trans. to no avail - probably about 60K miles; thankfully, when we transferred ownership to her name recently, we purchased the extended warranty so there was no cost to her. Very surprised to hear about this problem being typical.

10th Dec 2007, 23:22

I've loved my civic (so far, anyway, we're up to 60k miles now), but I have one constant complaint: the floor heater doesn't work! I called my dealer (usually very awesome) and they say it's a standard thing with this car that they can't fix. Since I live someplace cold, this is a huge annoyance for me... is mine the only one, or do you all not have floor heat also? Since they won't go in with a torch and a pipe to fix it for me, any suggestions on how I could maybe fix it myself? (I feel like it can be fixed by rerouting air flow somewhere near the origin since when I switch the dial from face to face-and-feet, the flow drops considerably, making me think it SHOULD send air to the floor, but must be redirected outside or something...) Anyway, am freezing since it's December so if anyone has a suggestion, I'd love to hear about it.

14th Dec 2007, 08:05

Wife's 2001 LX Civic piece of junk. Tranny went at 60K while on an L.A. Freeway overpass with small children in the car. B.S.!!! Refused to cover cost even though always maintained at the same stealership. Shocks/struts never good and now are horrible... feels like riding a shopping cart. Trunk latch is busted and sounds like someone trapped in there while driving. Driver seat only moves back three inches... so if you are over 5ft tall your knees are rubbing the steering wheel.

No one at my wifes job will ride in this thing...

Everyday there is some new piece of plastic breaking, rattling, or falling off. Now the SRS light won't go out. The headliner has been falling off for two years despite my efforts to spray adhere it. Next time I'm offered a Honda I'll run screaming with my shirt over my head and jump off a cliff!!! Engine seems okay for what it's worth.

14th Dec 2007, 12:31

I have a 2000 Honda Civic with 160,000 miles. I drive about 36,000 miles a year. I do not think there is another compact car other than maybe a corolla that could look at good as mine and still put these miles. I am just a student who commutes to school and I drive it like I stole it.

23rd Apr 2008, 12:27

I have a 2001 Honda Civic LX, 95,000 miles over the last 7 years. so far I've had only to replace brake pads and get new tires in addition to the normal maintenance. Just recently I was told the front struts are leaking, the front engine mount is broken, boots are broken and control arm bushings are shot. Total cost for these repairs will be about $1000.

I live in the city, hit a lot of potholes, have gone across the country and back four times, have slid out on ice into a guard rail and nearly totaled my car but it was salvaged.

All in all, I'm pretty pleased with the car. After 7 years and 95K miles, it doesn't seem unreasonable to have to sink $1000 into it.

30th May 2008, 16:02

The transmission on my 2001 Honda Civic EX died 5/27/08. The car has 50059 miles on it! I found another site that has over 190 transmission complaints for this year and model. That site also had complaints for some of the other issues I have had with this car. I had a Chevy Corsica before this car and it had over 100,000 before I had to rebuild the tranny.

17th Jul 2008, 14:22

I'm not a fan of automatic transmissions in compact cars like Honda Civics. I consider most people lucky if they make it to 100,000 miles on the original trans. The people I know that have over 200k miles on a compact car have had manuals, not automatics.

9th Sep 2008, 12:33

I have a 2001 Honda Civic Ex and on my way home from work, I felt the car not picking up speed. I stop by a gas station and the young man drove the car and he check my transmission fluid and found that it was full, he stated I think you need a new transmission. With 60k I think this is unbelievable. I don't think Honda is standing behind their parts.

30th Mar 2009, 00:10

I got a 2001 Civic EX for graduation.

Ever since 68000 miles the transmission has slowly been getting worse to drive on from it slipping and I am waiting for it to go out. Never thought this could come from Honda.

I will never buy a Honda. This car has been nothing but problems, and I baby the thing.

I would be happy if they paid for half the cost; I will now be out all my tax return plus more.