1998 Honda CR-V Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1998 Honda CR-V EX (?) 2.0 137hp from Grenada

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 137hp Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Reliability and good design

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong. The car has only needed oil and tyre changes.

General Comments:

The CRV is very well built and is surprisingly roomy. It is a very comfortable drive for an SUV.

The engine for this year's model is a little underpowered. I would not use it as a towing vehicle.

Another dependable (smart) Honda vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2001

1998 Honda CR-V EX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Underpowered JOKE!

Faults:

Rear brakes constantly.

A/C problems.

General Comments:

This car is a joke, it doesn't even have enough power to pull itself much less anything else, big mistake on my part.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd January, 2001

23rd May 2001, 21:57

The guy who made the comment about the CR-V is a joke and not being able to pull itself, doesn't know what he's talking about. CR-V ROCKS!!!

28th Jun 2001, 14:50

In 1999 Honda boosted up the horsepower by about 20. I find that it has adequate power for a light SUV.

28th Oct 2002, 19:06

Most people who buy this particular vehicle want a lot of room without having to pay a lot for gasoline. If you want power, you will also have to spend more for gasoline as well as maintenance.

1998 Honda CR-V ES 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 800

Summary:

Better than a RAV4 or Freelander!

Faults:

Central door locking failed.

Front elecrtic window jammed.

General Comments:

Car better than expected - but let down by poor fuel economy.

Comfortable but noisy at speed.

Dealer service excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2000

1998 Honda CR-V 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing as of yet.

General Comments:

This is the slowest thing I have ever driven in my life! I don't know why my husband bought this thing as a SURPRISE! I'd rather have had a Geo Tracker or a Kia Sportage!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd February, 2000

20th Sep 2002, 14:43

You're lucky your husband buys you cars at all, and I really don't think you'd be happy in a Geo Tracker or Kia Sportage!

23rd Aug 2003, 11:01

Excuse me, but I have a Geo Tracker and I love the car and it has been very reliable for me since I bought it new in 1997. Now the Kia Sportage I don't think I would own one not from what I've heard, but I would love to have a new CRV.

1998 Honda CR-V ES 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing at all after 35K miles.

General Comments:

PLUS :Car in showroom condition after 35K miles. Solidly screwed together. Easy to look after. Roomy, everything where it should be. Handles well for a 4X4. Capable of shifting huge loads. Well equipped. Easily the best spec and refinement for the money. A passport to carefree motoring...

Minus: Could do with larger fuel tank as 12 gallons only good for 320 miles. Suggest 14 gallons would be better. Mirrors are electric but not heated. No locking diff for slippery conditions. Headlights have washer spray but no wipe. Alarm system still an option rather than standard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2000

1998 Honda CR-V 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is underpowered big time, they need a bigger engine in these things. Besides that it's a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 1999

1998 Honda CR-V ES 2.0i 16V petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16V petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

SRS warning light came on 1 week after delivery.

General Comments:

Excellent drive, good high position and for a car of its weight and size, the 2.0 has very good low end power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 1998

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 17 reviews