1998 Honda CR-V Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1998 Honda CR-V EX from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carKia Sportage

Summary:

The best, little, car I've ever owned!

Faults:

Nothing, has gone wrong with this Honda since day one!

General Comments:

I don't know, where others get these ideas of "under powered", etc.

If they wish to purchase something fast and quick, then WHY, did they buy an SUV to begin with?

SUVs are not MEANT to be "sports cars"!

As to "Fit and Finish"... nothing, on the market today, can even come CLOSE to Honda quality!

I've owned a KIA Sportage and in one word???... "CRAP"! The GEO, my brother owns, is in the shop, more often, than on the road.

After 121,00 miles with my 1998 CR-V, I've changed the timing belt, at 70,000 as recommended and changed the oil...period.

When this one dies, I'll replace it with another CR-V, no questions asked!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2006

21st Oct 2008, 16:21

Well said, I own this car and I love it! It's such a reliable car and it has great fuel economy.

1998 Honda CR-V LX 4 cyl from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cyl Automatic
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance222000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Faults:

The Honda CR-V is a wonderful vehicle.

We have 222000 miles on the truck now and it shows no sign of dying. I would highly recommend this truck to anyone.

We fully intend to purchase another CR-V when we sell this one down the road.

There has been next to nothing in repairs other than the normal maintenance

Gas mileage is OK, but I feel the engine is not large enough, 6 cyl would be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th September, 2005

1998 Honda CR-V EX 2.0 from Malaysia

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Previous carProton Wira

Summary:

A reliable car for paved roads

Faults:

Not much. The TCV can't be tuned. The radio also can't be tuned to local station without modifications. I think this happens because it is a Japanese assembled car.

General Comments:

The car is generally OK for city and highway driving. I am surprised as why this car doesn't have sensors around it to help during parking. The leg room is huge, especially at the back

It about the same as in a Mercedes-Benz S500 series. Acceleration is not bad. My main concern is the squeaking sound from the rear suspention when getting on and of from the car. When doing turns a squeaking sound is heard. My dealer said it was normal. the rear mirror on top of the trunk is really helpful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2005

1998 Honda CR-V EX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 kilometres
Most recent distance68000 kilometres
Previous carAcura CL

Summary:

Reliable, Practical, but Underpowered

Faults:

I've owned it for 1.5 year and nothing needed to be done so far. Just regular oil change is good enough.

I might need to change the front brake pads since they have only 20% left. I might need to buy a set of tires before winter time.

General Comments:

My previous cars are.

1989 Honda Civic HB

1990 Acura Integra Coupe

1992 Mazda Miata

1997 Acura CL

1998 Honda CRV.

All of them are very reliable. I like the Miata the most. Except the Civic and Miata, I think all of them are underpowered.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2003

1998 Honda CR-V ES 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles

Summary:

Underated super car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is probably the best car I have ever had, reliability, comfort, styling, all good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2002

14th Jan 2002, 09:58

How can you comment on reliability, when you have only had it 5000 miles?

1998 Honda CR-V EX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Good value and reliable so far. Not perfect, but better than average

Faults:

Front strut leaked after one year and needed to be replaced under warranty.

Rear speakers cut in and out from time to time, dealer has not been able to find the cause.

During prolonged rain events, the car smells musty.

Spare tire cover has gotten a tear, a hard cover would be better.

General Comments:

Good reliable vehicle overall.

A bit under-powered, but prefer the better miles per gallon.

Seats are a bit hard for long travel, no problem for short distances.

Badly needs a passenger arm rest.

Somewhat noisy in the interior on rough textured roads.

Good visibility and very reliable.

Rear windshield wiper is very loud.

Oil filter is difficult to get to, but everything else is pretty easy to reach.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2001

12th Oct 2006, 11:35

Agree with your suggestions wholeheartedly! The only thing that needed replaced on mine was a water pump... under warranty. JUST replaced the brakes... after 220,000kms, it is mostly highway driven, but there are lots of city kms on it too. It still has the original exhaust system (pipes and muffler) and still runs great.

This vehicle is great... no regrets at all about buying this one.

15th Jan 2008, 15:02

I would agree with all the general comments. My wife's 98 CR-V EX has 138,000 miles with never a problem. She loves it so much that when it dies... or maybe IF it ever dies we'll get her another one.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 17 reviews