2005 Honda CR-V LX from North America

Summary:

It is a great car, and would buy another one when this dies

Faults:

It started to shake when going at high speeds, but that was due to bad wheel balance.

General Comments:

Lots of road noise.

Lots of storage and roomy interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2011

2005 Honda CR-V Executive 2.2 turbo diesel i-CTDI from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Not an exceptional performer, but a good all rounder

Faults:

A plastic clip holding in the passenger indicator repeater light must have snapped causing the light to hang out of the wing. Was replaced on warranty by dealer.

General Comments:

On rough roads there are some annoying squeaks from the interior trim. Also some noise from rear door. Silent on good roads or motorways though.

Love the performance of the diesel engine. Performs as well as any petrol engine I've driven. On start-stop trips of 1 to 3 miles fuel economy is only 33 mpg. On longer runs it averages 42 mpg, but if you simply cruise at 55 to 57 mph on runs of 100 miles or more, I've managed to get 51 mpg. Simple rule here, if you want the mpg DON'T thrash it!!

My parents love the ease of access in and out of the car. They don't have to bend knees etc to get in.

Because the rear seats are slightly higher than front. Rear seat passengers have commented on how nice the extended views are while traveling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2006

2005 Honda CR-V ex 2.4L 4 from North America

Summary:

C.R.V= Cool, runabout, vehicle

Faults:

This is a up date to a other review. The rear fuse for the power outlet has blown. And there are some air leaks making your hands and feet cold in the winter.

General Comments:

This car is quick. Also the handling is great. The seats are fairly comfortable, but the armrest could be bigger. Also the rear visibility is poor. Many safety features here, but no compass!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2006

5th Mar 2006, 23:53

Use your comment option to "update" your review. That way you don't make a new review.

3rd Aug 2006, 05:50

Just to clear things up, I just got a oil change for my car. This was not done by a Honda dealer, but by a trusted shop. Shortly after I noticed oil spots in my driveway. I took the car back to the shop and had the defective filter replaced. When I got home I noticed more oil spot on my driveway. I took the car back again only to here that the car is not leaking, but it is just the rest of the dripped oil dripping off. Today when I take it out of the garage I will see. I was wondering if this is me or this happens to everyone?

27th Oct 2006, 18:48

One more thing to add I stopped the oil from leaking, but I was told recently by my friend that he spotted a small spot of oil in his driveway. Now I am not sure.DAM.

11th Dec 2006, 07:06

It is turning into winter and my left foot is starting to feel the cold air form some place where it is entering the cabin. This happends at about 65mph.I'm not sure where the air is coming from. I think it is entering from the gas cover release by the dead pedal. Does anyone have an idea where the air is coming from and how I can stop it.

1st Jan 2007, 06:39

I now have 13,000 miles on my little CR-V. I just came home from a family trip to Alantic City. The car proved to be comfy, and the 2.4 L i-vtec is great at 80mph.I noticed that it preforms much better then my 1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Gas mileleage was about 25-29 at 75.

2005 Honda CR-V Executive 2.2 i-CTDi from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Easy to live with and versatile in use

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is my second CR-V so I like these cars.

Interior space is very good, no problems with rear legroom. However you cannot plant your feet against the bulkhead in the front passenger seat in the diesel as there is some extra heater system gubbins in the space below the dash.

Only comfort factor missing for me is reach adjustment on the steering wheel.

Overtaking power is excellent with big torque at 2000rpm.

Difficult to achieve the combined cycle 42mpg, though it can be done with gentle driving and by not exceeding 70-75 mph when the fuel consumption rises markedly. Short trips and normal usage are returning about 37mpg at present, hoping this will improve as he engine loosens up.

Road noise can be obtrusive on rough/concrete surfaces.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2006