2005 Honda CR-V Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2005 Honda CR-V SE 2.4 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carGMC Pickup

Summary:

An excellent SUV for the money

Faults:

Absolutely no problems so far.

General Comments:

This car handles well on the road and also in snow and ice.

It is roomy and comfortable. The only thing I notice is road noise on the highway, but not too bad. Lots of safety features that make the driver and passengers feel safe in all weather conditions. The addition of heated leather seats is a plus also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2006

2005 Honda CR-V EX 2.4L from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance2236 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Great SUV with lots of power and lots to love

Faults:

So far I had to change the fuse for the rear power outlet, but besides that the car is wonderful.

General Comments:

This Honda is great, the seats are very comfortable. The i-vtec is silky smooth. Its great for darting around traffic. So far I did not get to see how the 4 wheel drive works in the snow. The power train is superb.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2005

2005 Honda CR-V SE from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Unless you like lemons, DON'T BUY THIS CAR!!!

Faults:

Both front and rear suspension are defective and make odd popping and knocking noises when turning the wheel, going over bumps, and turning corners.

The car has been to the dealer almost a dozen times and is still not fixed. American Honda and the dealer have both have refused to give money back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2005

7th Jan 2006, 15:49

I have the very same car and it has no faults. I have over 6000 miles on it and I love this car! There must be a problem that isn't listed on this comment. I suppose there are dealers that don't stand behind their cars, but that is not like Honda.

Anyway, my 2005 CRV-SE is a terrific car with no faults.

2005 Honda CR-V EX 2.4 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance18000 kilometres
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

Use care over R/R track crossings on angles – could loose control even at low speeds.

Faults:

Maintenance light is often on.

General Comments:

CR-V is finicky city vehicle – works well on city streets - but performs awkwardly on country roads such as gravel or ground.

This vehicle is obviously not made to tow anything. So if you have a small utility trailer – forget it.

People keep telling me that Honda will not honour its vehicle warranty. These comments are coming from reliable people who have owned the Honda Van. This makes me quite uncomfortable and am treating the vehicle like it is made of an eggshell.

This is not a vehicle to purchase if you go on trips over 250 miles (400 km). The driver’s seat gets quite uncomfortable. I fee cramped in the front of this vehicle, maybe its not made for people over 5’10”.

Don’t put anything over the floor such as a plastic floor mat – the carpet will absorb the colour from the plastic mat.

The really good side of this vehicle is the engine. Good engine power for a 2.4 litre. Lots of pick up and go.

Feels like its going to loose control when you go over a railroad track crossing which is on an angle. Nice handling on city roads, but feels unsteady on country roads such as gravel or ground.

Not as silent as one would expect from a Honda. Actually kind of noisy in the cab even without snow tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2005

5th Nov 2005, 19:58

When you say that Honda will not honor its warranty could you please be specific? What exactly won't they stand by?

16th Jun 2006, 09:46

Honda has been very generous with me in honoring warranties. They replaced a part for me then replaced the transmission after the warranty expired because the difficulty MAY have been due to the faulty part. Their service and honestly are a huge factor in my wanting to purchase another Honda.

4th Jan 2007, 12:55

The reputation of dealer varies from place to place. I own a mazda in the UAE, and the dealer service here is excellent, but in some other countries the dealer for the same vehicle may be a complete idiot.

2005 Honda CR-V SE Sport 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance500 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Good all round car, backed by a reliable dealer

Faults:

Nothing so far, but the car is only a few weeks old.

General Comments:

Traded up to this from a Honda Accord, which had given faultless service.

The CR-V for 2005 (in the UK at least) comes with a number of improvements, for example, revised multi-pod headlamps, additional curtain airbags, 'drive by wire' throttle.

The car has so far proved to be more economical than I feared - expected 25mpg, but getting nearer 28 mpg, in a mix of town/motorway driving.

My kids love the extra space in the back, and shopping trips to the supermarket no longer involve squashed groceries - there is acres of space all round.

The 2.0 litre petrol engine has a lot of metal to shift, but the car still has a good turn of speed. There is an excellent 2.2 litre diesel out in March (as used in the latest Accord) but although mpg and and performance is much improved, for my motoring needs, I could not justify the price premium. Even Honda state that you need to drive in excess of 20,000 miles a year to recoup the higher price tag.

Overall build quality seems fantastic. It seems much better than my old Accord, and that proved very durable. Some of the motoring press say the interior is too dark and plain gloomy. I would admit that it is hardly exciting, but everything is well laid out and very easy to use.

Final selling point for me, is my local Honda dealer. The service they provide is just so much more friendly and efficient than those of other manufacturers that I've tried.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2005

21st Oct 2005, 13:14

An update on my CRV.

My CRV is now 10 months old and has proved to be totally reliable. Averaging 28 MPG on what is more 'suburban' than true city driving. On a long run to Devon, I can average 33 MPG.

Luggage space has proved to be excellent, and everything is wearing well - I have 3 daughters that travel in the back and they can make a fair mess!

Only two annoyances: I discovered that the cap to the coolant reservoir had gone missing - how I don't know, but the dealer replaced it free of charge. Secondly, rear visibility when parking is really poor, and Honda should look at fitting a reversing aid as standard (it's an expensive option). These things can't cost much to fit at the factory, yet it would really make a difference.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 9 reviews