23rd Sep 2011, 16:32

My employer had a similar experience with his CRV. After spending time riding in my Ford and being de-programmed from the Japanese ad hype, he bought a beautiful new 2011 Ford Escape. He says there is no comparison. The Escape is solid, powerful, refined and rides much better. The CRV, like the noisy and rattle-prone RAV-4, gives small SUVs a bad name. The small SUV market is doing just fine, however. Buyers of Ford, GM and Chrysler small SUV's all would generally agree. Japanese cars are on the decline. Quality is dropping like a brick, and they are no longer nearly as up-to-date or sophisticated as domestics. A recent issue of a leading automotive magazine recently gave the "new" Civic a very bad review, and recommended the much more advanced Ford Focus. Times have changed, and so have cars.

29th Sep 2011, 09:57

"Times have changed, and so have cars."

I agree. I can't believe how much the domestics have upped their game in interior quality, and hopefully long term reliability and resale value. I'm still a little leery of owning vehicles from the big 3 after repeated problems, both personally and from family and friends though. The sad part was that the same problems kept popping up years later across their vehicle lines, and yet were never fixed. Ex. Most Dodges have problems with their A/C's and windows, GM with their SUV/Truck steering systems etc... Once I have been bitten by a car company, I'm not going to go back and be loyal just because they are American made.

Nowadays, a lot of foreign automakers are building cars here anyway. We were going to look at the Mercury Mariner, but decided against it because it was based on an older platform. We probably missed out, but Ford needs to keep their quality up a couple years before we can trust them again.

By the way, I have read about problems with the automatic transmissions on the new Ford Focus.

12th Oct 2011, 15:28

If the vehicle had more power, it wouldn't have to strain so much to keep up speed. If Honda used a more powerful engine and tried to reduce the weight, you would be getting better gas mileage. The Toyota RAV4's V6 gets about the same gas mileage as the 4 cylinder from the CR-V.

28th Dec 2011, 22:50

There really is no point in making a V6 CR-V. If you wanted more power, go with the Pilot. Toyota offers a V6 for its Ravs, but it's just competing with itself and its other SUVs.

29th Dec 2011, 09:00

I have to totally disagree with your opinion. Nothing compares to the Honda CRV! I agree the domestic market has made gains in their product, but they're still behind both Honda and Toyota in reliability, and especially holding their value.

29th Dec 2011, 12:05

This whole anti-Japanese post is based on hearsay and no actual experience. Seriously, why do you continually go on import threads and spew negativity about vehicles you hate and have no experience with?

Have you ever owned a CR-V? How about a RAV4? I already know the answer is NO. Please post about cars you actually have experience with. I have a RAV 4, and it is super quiet and smooth a year and a half later! The V6 gets the same mileage as the 4 cylinder, and it has almost 100 more hp. It has been nothing but perfect, and is so much fun to drive.

The CR-V could use more power. Even at 185 hp (2012), they are not in the game with Toyota, Subaru, Ford or GM. The thing is, they still sell so well. I see CR-V's everywhere. They outsell pretty much everything in their class around here, just looking at the sheer number of them I see driving around. Contrary to your belief, Honda still makes a reliable vehicle, as does Toyota. I don't care about the recall media circus either, so don't bother. Until I actually meet someone with a Toyota that actually needed a faulty part replaced, it is just a media circus to me. I know many people with Toyota's, and not one has been recalled and actually needed the part replaced that they were recalled for.

To have so much hatred for brands, that you go on about low quality and rattles noise, etc., etc, just makes no sense. It does little to help people actually looking for real advice on which vehicles will suit their needs. I am hard on GM vehicles because I have actually owned more than one and had major problems. HOWEVER, I don't go on every last Chevy thread and say they are crap though. I post about my actual experiences, which hopefully will educate any potential purchasers. Your comments are fueled by speculation and propaganda. There is nothing substantial in your posts to offer any real advice to anyone. Please just stick to the brands you know and love, and have had actual experience with. Let the anger and hatred go...

4th Aug 2012, 01:05

I'm the original poster, and I want to know how you think I am being "anti-Japanese" by posting about my test drive of a 2011 Honda CR-V? This was a REAL experience and my personal opinion about that experience. I didn't totally bash the Honda CR-V. It has its good points, but by no means did I feel it was best in class. I also stated in a reply above that I wouldn't buy domestic until I thought they got their vehicles situated. That is why I looked at the CR-V in the first place.

4th Aug 2012, 10:03

Good grief! The reviewer was a lot more diplomatic about the CR-V than I would have been.

I got stuck with one as a rental for a week. By the time the week was over, it felt like 10 years.

Honestly, it was the WORST "SUV" I have ever driven - noisy, tinny, underpowered & uncomfortable.

I don't know how Honda sells them, and for the life of me, can't understand why they are so popular.

BTW I'm not anti-Japanese, but certainly was not impressed with the CR-V.

5th Aug 2012, 13:07

Talk about beating a dead horse. OK... we get that you guys don't care for the Honda CRV... and yes the CRV has some issues with it. But many of us that buy it, buy it for different reasons.

I bought it because it's fairly safe... at least in crash tests, simple to work on, and it's cheap to buy and reliable.

My 2008 CRV was 19,999 before tax and license... you can't buy too many SUVs for around that price new. And yes there might be better choices out there... but not at that price.

Honda sells 10,000 to 20,000 CRVs a month in the US, and has done it since 1996... they get a lot of repeat business.

I would like to get the newly designed 2012 model, but my 2008 hasn't given me any problems... so the new CRV will have to wait.

If you are looking for a great basic SUV at a fair price... look closely at the CRV. But if you are looking for the fastest, the sleekest, or to wow the in-laws that have never really cared for you... then you might look elsewhere.

For me the Honda CRV makes good sense and value... in a world that is losing both fast.