1991 Honda CRX Vtec from Portugal - Comments

23rd Oct 2006, 13:12

Actually there are many tuners that have made the quarter mile in 10 seconds. Go to nopi.com and check the times on many Japanese cars. Many of them are under 10 seconds.

11th Nov 2006, 16:17

The cars running under 10 seconds are not stock street cars.

I checked the NOPI.com website, just like you said. The site states these cars are Pro Stock, etc. Come on, check your REAL facts first.

7th Jan 2007, 17:38

Do you realize that you can make a 11 second with about 6000 dollars for everything including the car. If you'd rather spend at least ten times that just to look "sexy" doing it. if you think your going to get 60,000 just by saving on gas your stupid. Also if you really knew anything about cars you would realize that for about 2000 you can get a perfectly good b16 to replace a motor if it blows up. Maybe you can get me a price on a new corvette engine.

16th Jan 2007, 15:23

CRX's are perfect to swap an engine in to get good 1/4 mile times. They don't cost much to get, you can get one cheap I bought my crx for $1200 and a good b16 for under $2000 dollars. It runs perfect and I've have had no problems yet, even though I race it often against muscle cars and win most of the time.

9th Mar 2007, 08:38

To 20:12.

You must have bought a 1994 Chevy Corsica and put a 350 in it or maybe a s-10.

17th Mar 2007, 05:37

Just a quick note to the people banging on about f1's.

A CRX running 400 bhp like mine (turbo/type r engine swap) has the same power to weight ratio to a McLaren F1, therefor once the CRX is moving and not suffering with wheel spin it would pull almost as hard and as fast as the F1.

17th Mar 2007, 06:04

There are cars with better power to weight than a Mc F1, but it doesn't mean they are as fast, its not just the power to weight that makes the MC F1 what it is, its the complete package and all the research and development that goes into it. It's a perfectly balanced speed machine, your civic is not.

31st Jul 2007, 19:36

Civics were made to be economy cars and are supposed to be practical not fast. And since crx's have only two seats they're not even that. Theres a reason why actual performance cars usually cost more the $1200. I'd like to see you in a race that lasts more than 30 seconds your little Honda block would probably crack in half. CRX's are not made to be fast. If CRX's are faster and better than every car in the the world, which the owners seem to think they are, why do people still buy Camaros and sti's?

4th Aug 2007, 16:08

Maybe they buy those because they don't know about engines or who to go to in order to have your car worked on.

It's a possibility Or just maybe they want a car that can beat almost every ricer on the road without spending a fortune to do it?

I would be surprised if you could find one of those cars you are talking about for say under 7g that can beat a tuned crx or civic or corolla ... Which ZOMG you can do well for roughly 7 grand.

3rd Aug 2008, 20:10

Hey fellas, I am a gearhead like no other. I have a big muscle car and a little ricer aka CRX. In my opinion the CRX is the coolest machine out there.

Mine runs mid/low 12's and gets close to 30 mpg. Very reliable and practical, two seats or not.

With that being said, now that every person out there is a individual and has the right to his/her own opinion, but my money is on the guy who puts the time and effort into his car for themselves and that is what counts.

Oh yeah CRXs, are the best thing ever and they need to mass produce them for all to enjoy.

11th Nov 2008, 14:38

I bought a CRX for 300 bucks. Now it runs 10.46 all day. All motor k 20 is the new school.

14th Nov 2008, 14:52

My CRX ran a 9.56 1/4 mile. Not much getting past me!!!

16th Nov 2009, 07:53

I agree with most of you. I have a 70 Chevelle with a 383 stroker, and two CRXs, one is a 89 Si with d16a6 turbo fully forged running 20+ lbs and a 91 Si with a b16a.

I love muscle more for sound and looks, but prefer my two low ten CRXs. They are just a blast for the price, easy to work on, and great to drive :) Scale weight at 1900 before lightening the car up. Power to weight you can beat a lot of cars, so just enjoy building and racing, and let the best mechanic win :)

387bhp single cam d16a6 at 22 lbs, no spray.

Further comment posting to this review is disabled because of abuse