1991 Honda CRX Reviews - Page 8 of 11

1991 Honda CRX Vtec 1.6 DOHC Vtec from Portugal

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Vtec Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 kilometres
Most recent distance123500 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Truly the power of dreams..

Faults:

Very little rust marks on the sunroof, but nowhere else.

O2 sensors blew due to stainless manifold install.

General Comments:

The real spots car entry level. I've driven several cars with more power than my Rex and none of them putted such big a smile on my face.

Many of them have been trashed, so make a wise buy. I've purchased mine after looking to eleven Rex's. My dad tried her, and bought one for him and mum.

Beautiful lines, superb handling, very rewarding drive. The engine is stunning, I advise to install an air induction kit, makes the vtec sound glorious, and when it goes, it GOES!

Huge aftermarket parts, i've seen tuned cars doing the quarter mile in 11 seconds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2003

24th Jan 2006, 21:40

I would also like to point out that the mclaren F1 is not street legal in very few areas. Thus it is not a practical vehicle for anyone, but a millionaire or a collector. So it is no comparison to the CRX. Personally I am not impressed by 1/4 mile times. If you want to race me with your mclaren I will be happy to do so. Please don't cry when I beat you with a motorbike I bought for 300 bucks on the way to meet you.

1991 Honda CRX 1.6i 16 1.6 DOHC from Poland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance155000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Small

Faults:

Tachometer back-lighting, but it was easy and cheap to repair.

Sunroof was quite rusted so it had to be replaced.

General Comments:

The CRX is incredibly quick and also very sensitive to the throttle. Because of it's low weight (only 910kgs) for the 130hp 1.6) it also reacts very quickly to every input.

Makes fabulous noise as it revs to the 7800rpm cut-off. And you have to rev it that high to extract maximum performance. Mine has been unofficially timed at 7.5sec. 0-100km/h.

The CRX also has some serious handling, but the hard suspension and not very soft sport seats will batter you in town.

Cabin spacious in the front, virtually no space in the back, but who would want to sit in the back anyway?

Trunk also tight, but combined with the rear seating space it is adequate for my needs.

It has some flaws, but it's awesome fun to drive and every time you drive it hard it puts a smile on your face.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2003

1991 Honda CRX hagerstown md 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

Like the energizer bunny, it keeps going and going and going.

Faults:

I have had to replace the rotors three times.

I also have had to replace the axles four times on the front.

I just recently replaced the heater.

The driver's seat has started to wear badly.

General Comments:

After 230000 miles I am still getting about 48 miles per gallon of gas.

However, the speed of the car has slowed down just a little.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2003

1991 Honda CRX HF from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired151000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A great, reliable car!!

Faults:

Hood latch was broken and it required me to get a new windshield because I was going 75m mph on the highway and it flew up and cracked the windshield.

Axle Shafts need to be replaced.

General Comments:

This is a great little car... I love this car because it's great on gas...it's pretty quick considering how little horse power it has and it corners like a dream... if I don't end up owning this car for the rest of my life, I will DEFINITELY get another CRX, preferably an SI and I plan to do an engine swap on this car or perhaps another CRX.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2003

1991 Honda CRX HF 1.8 GS-R from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 GS-R Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

Perfect hybrid platform for a serious performance car

Faults:

MAP sensor went bad at 142,000, took one Phillips head screwdriver and about 30 seconds to replace.

Expansion valve stuck at 150,000 so the AC would not work, A trip to a Honda Dealer and $212.00 dollars later with a new charge of R134 it blows ice-cubes.

General Comments:

Looked for over 1 year for the right car to build up a hybrid. Bought the car from the original owner for a measly $800. Two weeks after I had bought it the car was at a swap shop getting a B18C1 (1996 Integra GSR engine) with a DC Sports full exhaust, AEM cold air intake, a chipped ECU, Japanese YS-1 transmission with 4.26 gearing and limited slip matted to a Proac'tive stage one clutch and a Fidenza 7 pound flywheel. The car rips!

Now that I had a sub 2000 pound car with 185 or so horsepower the brakes and suspension needed an upgrade. I converted the stock 9 inch front disk brakes and the rear drums to 1991 Integra 10.5 inch front disks and 8 inch rear disks. Stomp on the brakes and you could get launched through the windshield.

Suspension upgrades included KYB adjustable shocks on all four corners, Neuspeed springs, front and rear sway bars and a front strut support, Kosei 15x7 K-1 wheels (13 pounds each!) shod with 205-50-15 Azenis. The stance of the CRX is very athletic and it handles far better than I am willing to push it on the street. At NASA and Speed Trial events I enjoy embarrassing $50-80,000 cars with double the horsepower. I'm in the whole car just under $10,000.

Car still retains full interior with CD player, AC and Heat. It passes CA smog, gets 25 MPG and is driven daily. Best bang for the buck if you want a serious performance car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2003

30th Jun 2005, 16:21

That's great! Haha Maybe you could strip the paint off and replace the steel body with a cheap half-assed fiber glass DIY job to reduce weight and increase the embarrassment factor for those flashy car drivers! Haha No mocking here... just an idea I think is fun.

18th May 2009, 15:56

It's a shame you wasted an HF... you should've grabbed any regular civic and kept this gem on the road. at over 50 mpg, why change up that brilliant scheme?

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 40 reviews