1991 Honda CRX Reviews - Page 11 of 11

1991 Honda CRX Si ? from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission ? Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

A definite winner!

Faults:

Replaced battery twice, brakes once, sun roof leaks a little. Currently some knocking in the engine.

General Comments:

I can't believe how well this car has held up over the past nine years. It nearly looks as good and runs as well as when it was new. I find it comfortable, sporty, and economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

1991 Honda CRX Si 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres

Summary:

This car flies!

General Comments:

The 1.6L SOHC, 108hp engine is extremely quick and efficient.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2001

1991 Honda CRX VTEC 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX GT

Summary:

If you can, buy a CRX VTEC

Faults:

Warped front discs, seized rear caliper, usual wear & tear.

General Comments:

Racing RS Turbos from standing starts is a personal hobby of mine (I do live in Essex) they pull off the line slightly quicker, but just when they change from 1st to 2nd the VTEC kicks in and you just fly past.... fantastic!

Seats a bit uncomfortable after 3hrs driving. Honda dealers are expensive, but if you can find a local garage who know what they are doing it can be a very cheap car to run. Steering is a little bit vague & slow but the performance, looks, noise & handling easily make up for that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2000

19th Dec 2000, 16:24

My first two seater.

Right about the rear discs. I made a tool to free up the callipers by turning in and out, it works. The brakes are OK now. p.s It's not the hand brake cable locking on as it may seem.

Now I can have fun as the kids have gone.

Old boyracer, Essex.

1991 Honda CRX HF from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass Supreme

Summary:

An economical, sporty-looking fireball!

Faults:

Alternator went in 1994.

AC rusted out and stopped working in 1994, probably due to the heavily salted roads in Cleveland during the winter.

It's so fun to drive, I tend to go too fast and abuse the brakes. So, I have to replace brakes once a year.

General Comments:

I am the original owner, and I've had it for nine years. I love this car. So many times I thought of upgrading to a newer, bigger car. I just cannot bear the thought of giving up my little, fast car. It's been very reliable. I only wish Honda still made them so I could buy a new one. Everyone loves my car, my husband loves to drive it. I agree with the other comments, there is a bond between CRX owners. I am approached all the time! I love the gas mileage, which cannot be beaten at 50 mph! It's so cheap to fill up. I think if I ever do get a new car, I will keep my CRX too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2000

2nd Jul 2005, 00:02

I love my 1991 Honda CRX HF too! I have 525,145 miles and going strong original engine and transmission. Also averaging 50 mpg + no problem repairs. I live in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma and the summer temps of 100F have yet to affect my little Cindy CRX HF! I also own a 2000 Honda Insight Hybrid and love it like the CRX. The Insight has 160,450 miles and just cruising along at 74.4 mpg!

1991 Honda CRX Si 1.6 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles

Summary:

Very quick, great handling, incredible gas mileage

Faults:

I purchased the car from a nice lady, who had driven it 2 miles daily and had taken great care of it. I have had no problems whatsoever.

General Comments:

"You can have my CRX when you can pry it from my cold dead hands." This is how I feel about my car.

The day I finally found my CRX Si was one great day! I had been looking all over for a car like this ever since I saw one. I just got my Rex about 6 months ago, and it's all around a great car. I was lucky, I got mine for $5.5k, with 58k miles, no rust, great interior/exterior, sunroof, stereo. It's a white 91 Si. Anyway, I had always wanted one, why?

1. Great gas mileage - 30mpg in the city, 40mpg on highway --- with an Si (sport version)! The HF will have better mpg (like a Geo Metro, only the Metro is ugly).

2. Space, space, space. As a college kid, I need hauling power. The Rex has tons of room, considering that it's a hatchback. All my college stuff fits in the car. Clothes, computer, books, some new furniture. It's freaky.

3. Great handling. Taking turns at high speeds, and knowing that the car won't flip, spin, or go out of control. It's a great feeling, weaving in and out of traffic, because the car is so tiny you can fit anywhere. Good for the highway and parking.

4. Free revving engine. Even with 108hp, the car pulls all the way to redline in every gear. Makes driving to the mall feel like a episode of Knight Rider. Hehehe. The car is very, very, quick. You have very little weight and lots of power. You will beat many cars off the line with a stock Si. I let a friend --- a very good friend who races motorbikes, drive the Rex once. I believe the quote was "Holy sh*t! This car accelerates like a Ferrari." I just smiled and nodded.

5. Two seater. It's just you and your girlfriend/boyfriend and a lot of gear.

6. Insurance companies like it. I'm paying 600 a year (I'm 18 and a male).

7. Safety. I have seen some pretty sick pics of Rexes in crashes that the passengers survived -- even with the 2 passengers and a 3rd (riding on top of the cargo bin in the back).

8. The CRX community. Any problem you have can be answered correctly, so you don't look like an ass in front of the Honda mechanics.

9. Upgradability! If you get the Rex, you will want to modify it. There are tons of ways to go. You can get the ZC engine (Japanese model of the CRX) or an Integra engine. There are tons of body kits. You can make your Rex into a high performance vehicle (a few mods and you can beat the newest cars) or just a show car.

10. Also, remember that CRX's are sooo rare. I would never sell mine, and I will probably buy another.

11. All Rex owners love their cars. People in CRX's wave to each other on the road, go to expo's, etc. If you can't do that, then the CRX ain't for you.

12. Honestly, with the Suburban, Escalade and other huge SUV's out there, the small sporty car ain't safe. Just have to be extra careful...

HELPFUL LINKS!

http://www.cartalk.com

Click on model reports. You can get in-depth safety info there or try.

http://www.consumerreports.org

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2000

17th Jun 2002, 21:40

Where did he get that insurance, tell me please, I'll sign up today.

12th Jun 2005, 10:19

Well 3 years later (2005) I'm just now buying a 90 Si. I can't wait to get it. Also, 3 years later do you still have the CRX?

16th Jul 2006, 12:51

I wanna know where you got your insurance too? Tell me please. I'm looking for a Honda CRX and found one, I just need to buy it. We looked it up, maybe $3000 a year for insurance, and I have a good student discount and on my mom's insurance!!! Please let me know kiley59@msn.com

22nd Dec 2006, 16:32

Insurance prices largely depend on the coverage you select to carry.

If you only have your state's minimum liability the it's going to be cheap.

I am 34 years old, live in SC and I pay only $474.00 per year and I drive a 1987 CRX Si in Mint Condition.

Don't carry collision or comprehensive insurance, it's a waste of money. Just drive CAREFULLY and you will not need it. Remember, if someone hits you, it's their fault and THEY have to pay for your car and your pain and suffering.

17th Jun 2009, 15:35

I'm 17 and drive a CRX with a B18c1 (Type R) motor, and my insurance is 700 a month, and I have drag racing tickets.

1991 Honda CRX DX 1.5L DPFI from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5L DPFI Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired93850 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carPontiac Trans-Am

Summary:

An average priced ultra-reliable pocket-rocket

Faults:

Very little outside of General Maintance. After 125k and counting, the driver's side CV joint is just now rattling and the exhaust needs to be replaced.

General Comments:

Excellent car, contrary to the deathtrap comment listed in other reviews, This car WILL hold its own in a crash, it may not roll under its own power again but the driver and passenger will be OK. Other than that, excellent gas milage. In the middle trim level of the CRX I routinely get 40-45mpg on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2000

1991 Honda CRX Si 1.6 petrol from Saudi Arabia

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

General maint. only.

General Comments:

I love the feeling of power and speed, although you may not be going very fast, but it sure feels like it.

Internal wind noise is too high when going over 200kph, but at that speed it's the least of your problems.

And yes I totally agree "It's a deathtrap!!"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

2nd Jul 2004, 17:27

Believe it or not this car actually recieved a 5 star frontal collision rating in north america.

12th Sep 2005, 01:24

I'm not sure what you mean calling the CRX a "deathtrap". It's far from it as the other poster mentioned.

I rolled my '91 CRX twice and walked away without so much as a scratch.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 40 reviews