1991 Honda CRX Reviews - Page 4 of 11

1991 Honda CRX 1.6 DOHC Manual from Malta

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Manual Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance33250 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

Future Classic

Faults:

Nothing. I just bought the car 3 weeks ago.

General Comments:

Be careful when buying a CRX most of them have been abused and crashed.

Looks gorgeous.

For a 15 year old 1.6 engine its very fast and has decent amounts of torque (especially for a honda).

It's a back to the basics car. No AC, no power steering, but that only makes the car lighter and adds to the characher of the CRX.

The combination of bucket seats and hard ride makes the car unsuited for driving in less than perfect roads.

The car is only 137 BHP however on the CRX this seems like much more due to its lightness. Which also makes this car very conservative with fuel.

Downside of the lightness is that in a crash the CRX is the last car I want to be in.

Roadholding is very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2006

1991 Honda CRX Vtec 1.6 VT from UK and Ireland

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 VT Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Fast, fun, affordable. Everyone should have one!

Faults:

Seats have worn on drivers side, but not too badly.

Problems with suspension and breaks, more to do with previous owners than the cars fault.

General Comments:

Very good looking car that has always and will always turn heads.

Plenty of room in the front, but the back seats are very small so are not really suitable for long journeys. The inside as a whole is nicely set out and does not look as dated as other cars of its time.

It’s practical around town with good fuel consumption and being easy to park. The boot is bigger than it looks like its going to be from the outside and when you put the back seats down a surprisingly large amount can be fitted in. The suspension is fairly hard which makes looking out for and avoiding pot holes second nature after a while.

Once out on the open roads it really does what it was made to do very well. It accelerates reasonably well from low revs and then when it reaches 5500rpm it switches to VTEC which is very loud and exciting. It will then rev past 8000rpm pulling hard all the way. It handles very well with little body roll through corners.

Definitely worth getting one, but make sure your patient and look out for a good one or you could regret it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2006

1991 Honda CRX from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance555109 miles
Previous carFiat 128

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 35,400 k average maintain, drove great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2006

1991 Honda CRX 1.6i 1.6 petrol 16v DOHC from South Africa

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol 16v DOHC Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable boy racer, lacks character

Faults:

Rust on sunroof. That's it.

General Comments:

This car has never ever broken down, nothing has gone wrong and everything is still original. It is very, very fast if you use the revs, past 5500rpm everything goes mad. The problem is, no one drives like that all the time, and at low revs it really struggles. I can't help thinking my old 1.4 Opel Kadett would out-accelerate it from 2000rpm.

Front seats move far back, good for tall drivers, but you'll still find your shin banging on the sharp edged centre console. Gearshift feels flimsy and imprecise, but the clutch and brake pedals feel superb. Brakes work very well with very little fade. Massive grip levels, but the ride is hard and the car gets twitchy if you push it. If it lets go, there will be no time to catch this one. Steering is wonderful.

Still looks modern after 15 years, and still goes like stink if you rev it, but the complete lack of torque is so irritating that I'd hate to drive one every day. This is a car for having some fun with in the middle of the night, during the day it just frustrates me. Typically Japanese, this car is the sum of its parts and no more. Charm is nowhere to be found.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2005

1991 Honda CRX Si JDM 4 cylinder. 1.6 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles

Summary:

The ultimate tuner

Faults:

The car has no problems, probably has to do with the JDM (Japan Do-Luck Marque) parts.

General Comments:

I purchased the car with the hopes of making the ultimate street racer.

It has an automatic transmission, but I put in a manual-style shift knob to look cool.

At 14500 miles, I bought a set of Japanese 20 inch rims, for the back wheels. I couldn't afford the front ones, so I left the stock ones on until I could afford rims.

At 46504 miles, I put the American 17 inch rims on the front.

Installed NOS at 150000 miles, and it makes the car do 120 miles per hour.

This car is a chick-magnet and everybody is jelous of me with my JDM car.

The interior was dull and boring, so I stripped out everything and then put it all back in with one racing seat, one stock seat, and imitation carbon fiber and roll bars. I also put in a boost meter, so people think that my car is fast.

I put on a body kit and a huge hood scoop on a few years ago, in the process I put primer the whole car and then never got to actually painting it, so I used a spray can and some scotch-tape.

This Civic is the best car on the road and is the envy of all the other street racers out there.

I would highly recommend this car if you want to get the ladies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2005

24th Apr 2005, 19:54

I give you some credit for writing a funny review. Although I don't believe it. I had a '89 USDM CRX and I loved that car, I wish I hadn't sold it.

28th Mar 2008, 18:42

I think the reviewer is playing a joke on us.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 40 reviews