1991 Honda CRX Reviews - Page 10 of 11

1991 Honda CRX HF 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance325000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Reliable, economical transportation

Faults:

At 175000 I needed to rebuild the 1-2 cluster in the transmission. Cost $550.

It used to really eat through brakes until the most recent new pads at 250k. Weird that they have lasted so long, since.

The seats are seriously wrecked.

Somewhat noisy from road noise at rear wheels.

General Comments:

Super low cost of ownership. avg 40MPG at 80mph. Make a weekly commute from San Francisco to Los Angeles (800 miles RT).

Compression still in great shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2002

19th Dec 2006, 20:49

Sounds like your rear wheel bearings are wearing out. That is probably what is making the noise from the rear wheel area. Better inspect and replace them before they freeze up.

1991 Honda CRX Japan Spec B16A from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3200 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

Don't ever ever sell your Rex...!!!

Faults:

I have had the basic wear and tear of city driving. I am a pizza delivery driver and my car runs all day, and most of the evening. Recently I had to replace right front tierod, bushings, brakes, and sport rotors. My car is lowered 3 inches using Ground Control lowering systems and this has caused most of my problems. The clutch is also starting to fail, and will be replaced within the next few weeks.

General Comments:

What I love about this car is that with little modification you too can have your own rice rocket. My car originally came with a 1991 Si 1.6 liter engine and it had 180.000 miles on it. I have just recently swapped motors to a Japanese spec motor called a B16A with 180+ horsepower. If you have the time and cash, this is the ultimate in 4 cylinder race cars you could design.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th June, 2001

5th Aug 2001, 14:47

Uh... a B16A was the VTEC version of the D16A, and it only produced 160HP.

14th Apr 2003, 15:06

B16A1 - 160 p.s.

B16A2 - 170 p.s. (Japanese horsepower. the conversion charts are on the web)

23rd Apr 2003, 11:01

OK what's the biggest engine that can fit in a 91 Crx?

27th Apr 2003, 13:55

I think that would be a b18. You could slap the next size up in there, but you would have to move the steering wheel and driver's seat back to the hatch :)

18th Oct 2003, 16:35

I finally have enough to buy a CRX and get my B18, I can't wait to feel that V-tech vroooooooomAMMMMMP.

3rd Dec 2003, 22:43

Biggest honda motor that will fit a crx is the h22a.

8th Aug 2004, 12:06

The biggest motor I seen that fit in a crx is the jdm h22 type s motor. lots of mods needed, but nothing really major.

11th Oct 2004, 18:05

All you need I a rex is a gsr with a good head pkg.

1st Nov 2004, 21:47

Okay, as far as the superior motor to stuff in a CRX. No doubt... H23. For everyone that can't afford the H23, there's the slightly lesser model of the H22. Still an extremely fast engine to put a CRX, requires a lot of modification. Next step down, B18c5 (Integra Type-R). After that is the B18c1 (Integra GS-R). Afterwards is the b16a2, b16a1, b18a/b then after that you just waste time/money. Two hybrid motors that are very nice for horsepower are the LS/Vtec or the CRvtec. LS/Vtec is a b18 with a vtec head (I have a b16a2), but any B series Vtec will work. The CRvtec is the B20 (a or b). B20b is better... it's newer, slap a vtec head on there... you'll be throwing some very nice torque, and very nice horsepower. But beware, the b20 doesn't have the required valve clearance to accept a VTEC head. It DOES, but not if you go into the higher end of the spectrum for rpm. Piston + Valve = buckets o' fun.

That is my 2 cents.

Email me with questions/responses to jlantic@yahoo.com.

1991 Honda CRX 1.6 DOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 kilometres
Most recent distance109000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

Small and fast, so don't underestimate the power of the Honda CRX-TC

Faults:

Nothing major yet, just new brake pads.

General Comments:

The car runs great, it's so smooth and comfortable to drive, and has great acceleration.

It's such a fun car to drive and also a head turner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2001

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 40 reviews