1994 Honda del Sol Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1994 Honda del Sol S 1.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

A great car that Honda shouldn't have stopped making!

Faults:

Body Integrity is not perfect. There have always been rattling noises from the roof (I see this is common) and a leaky seal on the driver's side window. Recently the seals near the trunk and back window have gone and I've had leaking into the trunk.

General Comments:

Generally, though, I've loved the car.

Great gas mileage, very reliable, have had to do very little besides scheduled maintenance.

Trunk is surprisingly large for a small car... can fit two large suitcases if the roof is not in the holder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2004

27th May 2012, 20:38

Doe anyone have a leaking targa top on a 1994 Honda del Sol? How do you repair this problem? Please help. Email me at electronicrandy47@yahoo.com

1994 Honda del Sol Si 1.6 SOHC vtec from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 SOHC vtec Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Has the power and cornering ability to be an extremely quick car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong for the car, although finding OEM parts for the car is a bit hard.

General Comments:

I've found that the Honda Del Sol is an awesome car.

Gas mileage is great and that's good because once you start driving, you won't want to get out.

Throttle response is quick and the handling is very predictable.

With the SOHC vtec engine and the very light weight, this car has great mid range power. At wide open throttle, you'll feel a surge at about 4000 rpm and it will rocket you all the way to the 7200 rpm red line.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2003

4th Aug 2004, 23:09

I'd just like to add on to the engine part of the del Sol. Having the D16Z6 engine code, it's 125 HP @ 6600 RPM. Personally, having the '94 Si model, the valve timing (VTEC) kicks-in about 4600 RPMs. On highways, a swift downshift to 3rd gear knocks the RPMs right on the VTEC, ~4700 RPMs. Perfect for all you racers out there ;)...

1994 Honda del Sol Vtec 1.6L DOHC vtec from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6L DOHC vtec Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carDodge Dart

Summary:

High performance machine

Faults:

The seals on the doors leak. I had them replaced with newer model ones and they still leak badly.

The driver seat is worn on the left side, but that is to be expected.

General Comments:

I bought this car from an elderly couple so Vtec had never time to shine until I bought it.

It has not let me down. The handling on this car is unlike any other, very tight, hugs the corners. I'm an import enthusiast so I'm fixing it up and its not hard to find parts. Looks very nice all suped out!

Very mean looking intimidating little 4 banger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2003

11th Nov 2007, 04:36

Nice. This is a rare car today. Reliable, quick, great handling... Good stuff.

1994 Honda del Sol Si 1.6 vtech from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 vtech Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

This car rocks and I wish they still made them

Faults:

As most Del Sol owners know, ashtray cover broke and arm rests sag. Driver's seat worn a bit on left edge, but given the fact there was 90k miles on this car I feel this to be normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

This car emphasizes what Honda is about.

It's a pleasure to drive this car. It's equally pleasing to look at.

This car is excellent on fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2003

1994 Honda del Sol V-Tech 1.6 VTech from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 VTech Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance308400 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

A bargin at any reasonable price

Faults:

Clutch spring broke at 60,000 miles, but cost was shared by Honda.

Drivers seat wears easily due to tight entry into vehicle.

General Comments:

This car handles easily on curves and response in steering is excellent. A really fun driving vehicle.

I hate to part with this vehicle, but due to age have purchased a vehicle with easier entry and have the Del Sol for sale presently. I feel that, whom ever purchases this vehicle, they will never regret having purchased it. If you give these little cars the proper maintenance they will last forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th April, 2003

12th May 2004, 17:12

How much do you want for your Del Sol? Where is it? email me please. Vvboy5@yahoo.com Thanks!

1994 Honda del Sol DOHC V-TEC 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

A lot of bang for the buck

Faults:

No major problems.

General Comments:

This is an all around fun car. Decent handling with adequate power for its small size. It will surprise you from time to time. The seats are some of the most supportive stock ones I have ever sat in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2002

Average review marks: 8.9 / 10, based on 11 reviews