1998 Honda Integra Type-R (JDM Import) from UK and Ireland - Comments

12th Jan 2008, 16:36

Spot on review. I am now saving to get one.

30th Jan 2008, 16:18

Just bought a championship white UK DC2 Integra a week ago. Previously owned a mk4 130 GT TDI Golf remapped to 170bhp. The Integra is an amazing drive, and fairly cheap to run considering the performance. It is very fast when driven above 6000rpm, and the handling inspires confidence through the twists and bends.

31st Jan 2008, 07:51

What's quicker; the remapped Golf or your Integra?

20th Feb 2008, 16:11

Yes I agree; just bought one such a drive puts a smile on my face every time good read lad. I too have removed 180km speed limiter.

29th Mar 2008, 21:29

Top review. I have 98 spec Type R and the car is awesome to drive, and makes me smile when I put my foot down, and after 6000 rpm I love it. Thanks again for the nice review.

30th Mar 2008, 05:56

If you have a turbo car instead that smile comes well before 6000 rpm.

6th Apr 2008, 10:57

Great review of the Type R and it is clearly a great car. However turbo is a better feeling and the comment about the WRX is not accurate. Giving a 0-62 time of 5 flat for a UK spec clearly quicker on the straight. Turbo does use more fuel but who cares if you're a proper petrol head. Love being in my mates Type R but will stick with my WRX STI.

19th Apr 2008, 11:28

Very good read.

I've owned my 96 Spec DC2 for a year now and love every minute of it!

It's now my fifth Honda after my VTi which I sold for my ibiza Cupra (235bhp) and the Integra is quicker than the ibiza in all ways.

Just back today from a rolling road session and clocked 199bhp and that was on 97Ron fuel (Shell garage was closed) also its clocked a 1/4 in 14.2 so very quick stuff for a car with no turbo.

14th May 2008, 09:43

Great review, cheers. I've had my UK DC2 since November and it's frankly amazing. Came from an MX5 and the DC2 offers nearly as much raw feel with twice the pace and unflappable composure. When the VTEC kicks in (yo) it's as quick as you'll ever need on the road, forget turbos, NA all the way!

14th May 2008, 11:28

The Ibiza is a supermini, therefore probably lighter than the Integra, and with 235 bhp and masses more torque, I can't imagine the Integra being faster some how. Probably just seems faster because of all the noise.

14th May 2008, 16:49

96 spec JDM Integra Type R weighs in at 1060kg, so probably nearly same weight as the Ibiza. And as for torque, unless you're going up a hill in 5th gear, it's not nearly as important as HP once you get moving.

The Integra only has 197bhp standard, and only 130lb/ft of torque, but that's still enough to get it from a standstill to 60 in 6.2 seconds, and on to a respectable 147mph. Once moving the gearing plays a large role too. In 4th gear on a flat open road, I managed to overtake my friend in his Focus RS running at 240bhp with a Blufin retune in my almost standard Type R. He was amazed too. Don't knock a Type R till you've raced one.

15th May 2008, 11:14

I'm sorry but I think the Integra is over rated.

15th May 2008, 16:36

In a straight line the Integra is about as quick as a standard WRX Scooby; nothing in it right up to about 145mph... I should know, I've had 2 Integra Type R's and driven 2 of my friends on a regular basis, and have achieved this time and time again.

However as soon as the road gets twisty in the dry, I can EASILY pull away from said Scooby's due to much better handling; here's where the excellent handling and low weight of the car really makes it shine. And I know now there's gonna be about 500 Scooby owners saying no way no way, it's not true, but I've actually done it dozens of times in the 4 years of Honda ownership.

I will admit Scoobys have one of the nicest sounding engines around, and can produce fairly good power once the boost is raised a bit, but as for handling they suck. Oh, and I've had a 320bhp turbo Integra as well as naturally aspirated one. The turbo running a t3/t4 turbo at 5.6psi... then all Scooby's and Skylines and Evo's ate my dust on the straights too.

16th May 2008, 03:14

Remember, the Integra came out in 1996, and if you compare it to other cars that were released around the same time, the Integra was special. Even with todays hot hatches, it could keep up and still beat the majority of them. With a 0-60 time of 6.2, it's still bloody quick.

16th May 2008, 11:11

HMMM, I'm not convinced an Integra could out handle a Scooby, it's the only car to rival an EVO, and the Teg certainly won't out handle an EVO. Plus there is footage on youtube of a Scooby overtaking an Integra on a corner (a classic STI I think) you might have seen it. Some Scoobies do handle better than others though, for example, no way would a Teg out handle something like a P1, which matches blow for blow an EVO 6 for handling and acceleration. The Teg is known as the best handling FWD car though.

16th May 2008, 15:10

Whats JDM? Japanese domestic model?

26th May 2008, 04:16

JDM = Japanese Domestic Market.

As for the above re Impreza P1, I've just seen a P1 outhandled by a DC2 Teg on the Nurburgring Nordschleife, similar standard drivers, P1 a fair but faster on the straights, but not as quick through the corners. But most impressive is the old Mini Clubman with a VTEC in - looks like it is actually flying when it passes.

26th May 2008, 05:56

In all honesty, if the P1 is out handled by the Integra it means the P1 could have been pushed a bit harder.

27th May 2008, 15:40

Wow guys, all of you are experts in the comment and well I just bought an Integra 1.8. .nothing to it.. no v-tec or type r... and well I wonder if I will be able to beat my friend with his Celica 03. We both are new drivers and I don't doubt that I'm a better driver but I don't know... what do you guys say?

23rd Jun 2008, 09:57

Its not the car that matters its the driver. I own a standard dc2, and have out driven standard scoobies a number of times, but I have also been beaten by them as well.

24th Jun 2008, 15:08

Hi, I'm the one who did the original write up.

I still have my Integra, have had for 15 months, and it never fails to put a smile on my face.

Its interesting how often the comments on this site seem to come down to "X is faster than Y", followed by "no it isn't" kind of arguments...

My 2p worth though. With 197 bhp and 1090 kg, the Integra certainly is quite a nippy car. I've had a mate drive it who used to have a 220 bhp Ibiza FR, and he says he felt there is really very little in it for pace, with the Integra he felt doing much better than he thought particularly at higher speeds, possibly due to its "slinky" shape.

However, ultimately, I will agree, its not a rocket ship. I've been a passenger in a near 400 bhp TVR, and naturally, that was a fair bit faster, but I still didn't feel particularly short changed when coming back to the teg. In actual fact, I think the teg on full chat often feels fast because it is so raw, so low to the ground, and has a hard edged, frantic engine note.

I readily admit that it won't beat top Scoobys and Evos, but I don't think of the teg in that vein. I think of it almost more as a FWD Lotus Exige, as in it's a small coupe with a high revving NA engine. That said, I did have a play with WRX once and trust me when I say, if anything, at higher speeds I was inching away.

I also think some people here confuse handling with grip. Sure a 4WD car will have lots of traction and grip, but handling is all about how a car feels, and that is where the teg really shines. It feels like a big go-kart. Its extremely forgiving and has, when you learn how to drive it properly, seemingly almost physics defying ability on the twisties, considering it's a FWD car!

As for turbos feeling better, I totally disagree. Sure you get all that thrust and torque, but I always found with turbos, because of the low down nature of them, you often exploit the performance more often, and you get used to it and it ceases to be special after a while. With the teg, day to day you don't always go to VTEC, but when you do its much more of a treat than a turbo that's forever making itself felt. Straight line speed gets boring after a while, for most average people driving average cars, but a great soundtrack, crisp throttle response and stratospheric revving ability never do.

In the end, I too wondered whether the teg was worthy of the accolades it has received. 15-months later, its still here, and I have no plans to sell, possibly not EVER. I can honesty say if I fancy a change, I may well just save up the money and buy another car, and keep the teg. I don't think I could bear to let it go.

It's a wonderful car. Its quick, it sounds visceral, hard-edged and utterly intoxicating. It handles wonderfully. It looks great, attracts positive attention, and on top of it all, regularly achieves 30 MPG even around town, and has bullet proof reliability. What's not to like?