2005 Honda Jazz Reviews

2005 Honda Jazz VTI 1.5 litre petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.5 litre petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance96000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Perfect!

Faults:

Car has been perfect except for the rear seatbelts, which the dealer changed because I have an extended warranty.

General Comments:

Reliable, zippy round town and fantastic fuel economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2010

2005 Honda Jazz 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Everyone should own one! That said, I am worried about the CVT though

Faults:

Gearbox shudders at take off and coming to a halt.

General Comments:

Fantastic design, can fit anything in it, yet it's so compact.

Back sets are magic also; they fold away to nothing, giving a very spacious boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2008

5th Mar 2008, 13:44

Seems the Jazz is not as prefect as people make out, I have a 2004 CVT SE that sounds like a small diesel when cold its done just 25000 miles. The engine gets quieter when warmed up, but sounds quite disturbing when cold. Honda are trying to hold the problem at arms length at the moment!

5th Apr 2008, 20:59

CVT shudder on takeoff is normal. it seems to take a second to realise you want to move off. The next MY09 Jazz is rumoured to have either a torque converter on the CVT (missing on this model) or a conventional 5-speed automatic. I guess it depends on which specification will be sold in your home market.

Just change the CVT fluid every couple of years, that's all you can do to mitigate the risk.

2005 Honda Jazz SE 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance19500 miles

Summary:

Spacious, but too many faults for a new car

Faults:

My hand brake failed and 20 minutes later it rolled into another car. My rear bumper was all dented. Honda didn't acknowledge the fault.

The seals on the doors were faulty and my back seats were saturated. They knew there was a seal problem, but didn't contact me.

General Comments:

This car is very spacious, and easy to handle.

However the car is terrible for condensation. I'm assuming this was because of the door seals going. The windows are still always steamed up, even though the seals were replaced & the car dried out.

I'm disappointed they won't acknowledge the hand brake fault. The only advise I was given was to keep it in gear in future, & put it on an extra notch.

I find that unacceptable for a car that was only 6 months old at the time. I now have to get the repair done prior to my lease expiring in March. It's put me off another Honda.

I've heard the 2005 Civics are being recalled because of the hand brake failing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th January, 2008

15th Jan 2008, 08:48

Oh my God! Not a problem on a Honda - I thought ALL Hondas were perfect!

15th Jan 2008, 11:58

I agree with that last comment; the way some boy racers go on about their old Civics on here is unbelievable. They would have you believe that Honda is the ultimate form of technology.

2005 Honda Jazz Sport 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Great little car, but delicate

Faults:

Bonnet catch replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Well built car, which is very expensive compared to its rivals, but seems to hold its value.

The steering is overly light, but links well to the transmission and engine.

Does what it says on the can.

Agree with the handbrake comments elsewhere.

Sloshing under the seats is the fuel tank! That's where it is sited.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2007

2005 Honda Jazz 1.5 IDS-i 1.5 Litre from Indonesia

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.5 Litre Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 kilometres
Most recent distance19000 kilometres
Previous carKia Carnival

Summary:

Honda Jazz is My Baby!

Faults:

- Knocking sound from rear left part of the car (seems that the left rear shock absorber is not properly fitted from the dealer)

- Had to install a pair of tweeter speaker to leverage sound quality

- Engine knocking at 2500 - 3000 rpm (the dealers cannot identify the problem and is still not fixed)

- Driver's side window sometimes very hard to wind up. Had to apply silicone spray to lubricate.

- I found that Ids-i edition does not have a very good braking performance compared with VTEC edition. This might be caused by rear disc brake that VTEC edition has.

Basically, there has been no serious things have gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

Compared to my huge old troublesome KIA Carnival Turbo Diesel, Honda Jazz 1.5 ids-i is a very friendly car that requires much less maintenance and got nothing went wrong with the engine as well as the car's body parts.

At first, I was impressed by the booming news that says Honda Jazz requires only 1 litre to travel 25 kilo metres distance. The best average fuel consumption that I've ever had was only 1:17 (1 litre for 17 kilo metres). I guess the booming news was still applicable to Honda Jazz if there's no traffic jam.

The rear seat is not very comfy for long distance travel. Probably the next Honda Jazz generations should have an adjustable rear seat for a more relaxed seating.

A very compact car, but yet has a roomy cabin. I can take my big fat old 29" TV as well as my golf club in the trunk with 4 adults occupying front and rear seats.

Personally, I think this car's body has a pretty design. Especially if painted in Vivid Blue color.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2007

24th Dec 2008, 05:22

Hi. I wrote this review.

I had to sell my Honda Jazz 2005 IDSI recently. There has been nothing wrong with the car, it's just that I had a financial reason.

I've been driving this car for more than 2 years. I can tell you, this car is perfect! Nothing major has gone wrong with the car. I just had to do regular maintenance (tune ups, carbon clean, tyre swaps, replace engine and transmission oil, etc) to keep the car in a good shape. The biggest effort that I did for this car was replacing the clutch, which I think it's normal for a 3-year old car to get the clutch replaced.

I am now driving a Honda Ferio Civic VTEC 1997. It's perfect too! and I've been a big fan of Honda since 1990 (Great Civic '90, Honda Jazz IDSI '05, and now Ferio Civic VTEC '97).

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 19 reviews