2007 Honda Jazz Reviews

2007 Honda Jazz VTi 1.5 vtec from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.5 vtec Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance9000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

An honest and reliable vehicle that will be around for a while. It will never be sporty or luxurious

Faults:

Some creaks and a rattling noise have developed inside the dash not long after taking delivery of the car. It gets worse on warmer days.

Electric air con could be cooler.

General Comments:

Think of Jazz as a scaled down van and you will not be disappointed. It's spacious and frugal.

The primitive rear suspension layout and rock hard setting compromise both comfort and handling.

The EPS (electronic power steering) feels lifeless.

The relatively tall seating position allow you to get in and out of the car with ease. While the oversized controls on dash are cartoonish, they are easy to use.

It is probably the better representation of small vehicles. But design compromises mean it is not as refined or evolved as vehicles in a bigger class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2007

30th Apr 2008, 08:35

For a basic model Honda the Jazz is very good. The car is economical to buy and to run. The car is also roomy when the seats are folded down. Good torque for a small car. My biggest issues with the new car were the noises it made 3 months after purchasing. My mechanics needed to re-tighten the engine mount screws, the screws fixating the license plate and something to do with the brakes.

For a brand new car one does not expect such noises. It took 6 months for my mechanic to even take any notice of my concerns. So if you have noises coming from your Jazz, make sure your mechanic checks everything before the warranty runs out.

2007 Honda Jazz SL Sport 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles

Faults:

Having just brought my first Honda Jazz from new, after less than a week we noticed a thin crack in the paintwork of the drivers door about 8-10 inches long.

I took it back to the garage, who implied it was something I had done. Pictures were taken and sent to Honda, who said it was not covered under warranty, after complaining that I had not caused the problem.

There was something wrong when it was made. They agreed to repair it free of charge, and the service department would pick up the cost. Not what I expected from a new car after less than a week.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th September, 2007

18th Jun 2008, 14:36

Hi, how has the car been since and have you had any further problems with Honda and their service?

2007 Honda Jazz SE 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance500 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

General Comments:

I parked the car in a car park, on a slight slope, and when I returned 10 hours later, it had rolled across one traffic lane, and into a new parking bay.

The dealer said there was nothing wrong with the handbrake. Yes, I know I should have left it in gear, and now I do, but I still feel the handbrake should have held it. Luckily no damage was done.

Whilst I was in the dealer's reception area, another customer heard me explaining the problem to the service manager, came over and said she had brought her Jazz in for a handbrake check because it had rolled down her drive-in and hit a visitor's car parked in front of hers. Taken with other comments on this site, there seems to be a pattern.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th June, 2007

19th Jun 2007, 23:18

Funny, because I have seen a Nissan roll out into the street in front of my house, and an Audi that moved itself because it was not in gear. It is not smart to leave a car in neutral with the brake on. There is nothing holding the weight of the car down, but the rear brakes. At least with it in gear, it will be locked better, but you still need to have the brake on.

2007 Honda Jazz DSi SE CVT-7 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1300 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Versatile, deceptively roomy, reliable and smooth.

Faults:

Nothing. Hasn't missed a beat.

General Comments:

The car is smooth, economical, versatile, roomy and quiet.

The auto box is one of the cleverest ways of extracting power from an engine I've come across: you can use the car in full CVT, stepped automatic (set to emulate a normal torque box) or use the manual "F1" style paddles, but eventually you come to realise that except at junctions or while overtaking, the CVT will drive smoothly and seamlessly without any problems at all.

So far economy has risen over the first 1000 miles from about 37 to over 40 now, and is getting better. Considering most of my driving is in crowded towns and on busy A roads, this is impressive enough, especially when you realise the automatic is as, or more economical than the manual.

Learning to drive the CVT requires a slightly different technique from a manual or conventional automatic. The dreaded 'rubber band' effect is largely absent but the car does sometimes over-rev if you put your foot down, and it's not the quickest to respond -- using the sport mode helps a little. I normally just press the 7 speed button if I need a bit of oomph.

The engine is smooth and quiet once it's settled down to cruise - in fact at a steady 40 MPH the engine is barely touching 1,500 revs and on a straight motorway cruises at 70 MPH turns over at just over 2,500 revs. The feeling of effortless power is the result of clever CVT gearing, however, and the Jazz quickly becomes harsher if you need swift uphill pull or overtaking power -- the engine then sounds a bit like a recalcitrant cow mooing its resistance, but soon settles down to its usual quiet refinement thereafter.

The interior of the new Jazz is a massive step forward from the previous model: brushed aluminium steering wheel, CD / volume controls on the wheel, even a socket for an MP3 player (though mine doesn't play that well through it.)

The trim is beautifully fitted, not a single rattle; the seat fabric is comfortable and well made and the whole thing feels like a car from a class or two above.

The main advantage of the Jazz though, is its interior room. It really is a TARDIS. There's plenty of room for four people and the boot is a very good size. Folding the seats down reveals a van-like flat floor and folding them up enables you to put a lot of stuff in the middle of the car. It takes seconds, and makes for a very versatile small family car.

This is my first Honda, I've owned all sorts of cars, but will never go back. I'll probably order another Jazz when my company lease on this vehicle ends in 2009. It's that good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2007

15th Oct 2007, 05:29

You should also be glad it isn't called the Honda Fit, like it is here in North America.

Fit? Why Fit? What does that mean? Why do the marketing geniuses think that name was preferable over the name Jazz? I don't know...

Anyway, glad you like the Jazz!

Happy motoring!

16th Nov 2007, 14:39

Collecting my New Honda Jazz tomorrow, have been reading all about them, and I have not read one negative comment!

Can't wait until I drive away from the showroom tomorrow!!

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 4 reviews