1989 Honda Legend Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1989 Honda Legend Coupe 2.7 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 litre Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance206000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Brilliant car; superb build quality and a great ride

Faults:

When I first bought the car from a dealer, the fuel gauge meter had to be replaced (under dealer warranty).

Brake accumulators had to be replaced (under dealer warranty).

General Comments:

After two years overseas, I came back with a limited budget (AUD $5000) to buy a reliable and comfortable car, that I wouldn't be ashamed to pick clients up in.

I was lucky to find a 1 owner Legend with the leather in near perfect condition, and service books complete.

After a few fixes by the dealer (under warranty), this car has been superb. The ride is smooth, and the acceleration ispunchy when you want to go.

For a car built in 1989, it has all the modern features that still work well; climate control, cruise control, full electrics, electric sunroof, lots of storage space, and great lighting and build quality.

The car is 'floaty', but it is a cruiser, and the turning circle is terrible (seriously terrible), but I love the car, and will keep it for some time.

Interior is very comfortable and clean, and as with most Hondas, everything is in the right spot.

Can be expensive on the fuel if you drive it hard, but if you drive normally you should get 400km per tank (60ltr).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2007

15th Mar 2009, 21:30

I have just purchased a 1990 coupe version, and I am very happy with it. It has great performance when needed, and great fuel economy.

I agree with the statement about the turning circle, as I have already hit one pillar in a carpark.

My speedo makes a funny squeaking noise, but I have been assured it can be fixed.

All in all, I am extremely happy with the car!!

1989 Honda Legend 2.7 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

I love the car, but Honda could learn from Toyota as far as seating is concerned

Faults:

Purchased with a fault with the ABS system - as suspected, a pattern CV joint had been fitted, which did not have the 'ABS Sensor Ring' on it. Genuine part fitted and all OK.

Clutch 'Slave' cylinder had to be re-built at approx 129,000 miles.

General Comments:

A seriously under-rated car, which even today is well-equipped.

I actually wanted a 2 door, but none I looked at had a manual box. In spite of other reviews, the manual box is a definite plus!

I feel that Honda have been a little conservative with their performance figures, or, I've got a 'freak' engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th February, 2004

6th Aug 2005, 12:04

Automatic is definately a plus!!

1989 Honda Legend Coupe 2.7 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired176000 kilometres
Most recent distance198000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Very nice

Faults:

The cam followers are noisy.

General Comments:

The car is the nicest handling car I have owned. I live in rural Australia and the roads out here wreck cars. I hit a kangeroo at 100kph and rippled a bit of paint on the bumper, and I'd only owned the car for 3 weeks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2001

1989 Honda Legend Coupe 2.7 litre V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.7 litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 kilometres
Most recent distance256000 kilometres

Summary:

The best car that I have experienced

Faults:

No faults - factory recommended parts renewals only.

Front brake discs re-machined at 200000 km.

General Comments:

What a magnificent piece of machinery! Everything has been well thought out and the driver operation is sure and instinctive. This car should be studied by most world manufacturers as an example of what they SHOULD be making.

Handling and feel are positive and the driver never feels out of control. Feedback is honest and reassuring.

Acceleration is quite sporty along with wonderful sound proofing and a smooth ride. Certainly not a Porsche feel.

Attention to detail is displayed at every point from the useful storage compartments to the smooth cruise control and computer run mechanics.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2001

12th Sep 2003, 23:03

I was wondering why the engine light always goes on... Was told it was a computer problem, but every thing else was fine... Have you experienced this problem.

14th Dec 2003, 19:37

If your engine check light comes on and stays on I suggest that you check your oil level and oil quality, if the oil is old and sludgy, there could b a major problem on the horizon. Use an engine flush then change the oil and filter, you will notice a difference. The thing to remember with the 2.7 is to change the oil and filter every 5000kms, or run the risk of destroying the engine.

Hope this helps.

1989 Honda Legend Sedan 2.7L 24v V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.7L 24v V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance145000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 929

Summary:

Luxury car at a reasonable price

Faults:

Slight problem with engine thermostat reader thingy, otherwise nothing!

General Comments:

A beautiful car when it was made and still is a luxury vehicle 10 years down the track.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2000

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 8 reviews