1997 Honda Legend 3.5 from UK and Ireland


A reliable, extremely comfortable, prestige motorway mile eater for peanuts


Air con pump.

A/C dash LCD display.

Main fuel pump relay.

Replaced the complete exhaust recently with a bespoke long life SS system, but kept the original cat.

Replaced the upper front wishbones.

General Comments:

I paid £3,100 for the Legend over 8 years ago, private sale at a mileage of 43K. It had FHSH and had been garaged all its life, so was in amazing condition. Love it, and service it myself, which is straightforward for an executive car.

Quality & reliability are first class. It's great to drive, but a bit heavy on fuel, which is understandable. Fantastic as a motorway cruiser… Love it and have no plans to change it.

As with all Hondas, it is of great build quality, but being the Honda flagship, the quality is a lot higher than the usual great smaller Honda cars.

I carry out regular synthetic oil & filter changes every 6 months, so the engine still runs like new; it's on its 3rd cambelt. It is still in amazing condition, as the paintwork and underbody protection is of the highest quality.

I have fitted 17 inch Honda alloy wheels with Michelin 225/55/17 tyres, so get a better ride & fuel consumption, as for such a big engined car, the gearing is a little too low, so this raises the gearing. Originally fitted with 16 inch wheels and 215/50/16 tyres, probably due to being aimed mainly at the American market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th July, 2015

24th Jul 2015, 08:31

I agree the old Honda Legends were great cars. The coupe version is sublime. If I did not have my 1994 Mercedes E Class Coupe, the Honda coupe would be my first call if you can find one!

24th Jul 2015, 18:52

Keep looking for an old fella's low mileage, garaged Legend on eBay or Autotrader and snap it up; that's what I'm doing.

1997 Honda Legend 3.5 V6 from UK and Ireland


Fantastic, but watch for the gearbox problem - they all get it sometime


Shady dealer sold it to me with a gearbox problem. Took it to B'ham for repair - cost 1800 quid.

Back brake discs knackered - 500 quid.

So, I've spent 7500+ in total to get it up to scratch.

General Comments:

It's a V6 with a bloody big engine. It sounds like a V6 and growls when given some juice.

It looks like an ordinary Honda, so people don't know you have 210bhp waiting to be put to use. Awesome power and really is overpowered.

It's basically a rebadged American car, the Acura RL (as stated on the cover of the driver's manual). It even has daytime running light sockets on the lights for the USA. That's why it's a big luxurious ride for the larger gentleman.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2007

1997 Honda Legend 3.5 V6 from UK and Ireland


Much, much better than you would think


A slow puncture was not noticed and over about 2 months caused excessive wear on the ball joints for near front wheel. Cost £200.

A/C wasn't used over the first 6 years of the cars life and when finally switched on the compressor packed in

Cost £800 (not fixing)

Back box rusted (Honda exhausts are no worse than any other manufacturer, but they age faster than the car)

Cost £150.

The rest of the car is absolutely faultless. These are the only faults in 8 years.

General Comments:

I replaced an Esprit SE and an M3 with the Honda.

The interior is extremely roomy and quite comfortable, in a grannies sofa type way. There are basic electric gadgets and the switchgear is Hondas best attempt at being upmarket.

The engine is smooth to 2000rpm (you don't need more) but a bit strained above. Acceleration at any speed is ample, but MPG is about 20 in town rising to 29 if an effort is made to be frugal.

The ride is fairly smooth, but the handling is poor. This is the critical weakness compared to Mercedes and BMW.

I have grown to really like the car. It was never the top of its class or particularly good at anything and that, plus a ridiculous reliability compared to its contemporaries, gives it a quirky character.

Best Bit? £100 for a full 48k service, huge comfort and reliability.

Worst Bit? Poor image and physical size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2006

1997 Honda Legend KG 3.5L from Panama


An excellent car, but not quite a Lexus


Electric door locks keep clicking down long after locks have been set.

A/C evaporator/condenser had to be replaced after 3 years (US$800!).

Front fog light-bulb sockets melt and have to be replaced often.

My model (a KG) lacked some features expected of a US$42,000 car: for instance, it has no power door lock in the passenger's side, or a standard CD player.

General Comments:

This car is a pleasure to drive. The 210-HP, 3.5L V6 oozes power effortlessly up the RPM curve with minimal engine noise.

Handling is excellent for a car this size. Road feel is a bit too high for my taste; I switched the original 205/55R16's for 225/60R16's and both handling and ride improved dramatically.

Cabin not well-insulated; both road and overall exterior noise levels are high for a luxury car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2002