2004 Honda Odyssey Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2004 Honda Odyssey EX 3.5 liter from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles

Summary:

It's more of a sports van than a minivan!

Faults:

Nothing!!!

General Comments:

If you're ever looking for a minivan, please consider a Honda!!! We have had this van since 2005, and the first thing I noticed was the quick acceleration from stoplights and passing on highways. Even when loaded down, it still likes to burn the front wheels at stop signs!

The only thing that bothers me is that when the A/C is on, it drains a lot of power out of the engine, and makes it hard to accelerate, but that's easy, just turn it off!!!

Other than that, this a great, reliable vehicle, that really holds its value in the long run!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2006

2004 Honda Odyssey EX 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carNissan Quest

Summary:

What a let down. My old Nissan is better, much better and more reliable

Faults:

Sliding doors do not close properly. Sometimes will not fully close at all. Fixed by dealer under warranty 5 times. Still does not close right all the time. Expensive repair when warranty expires. Not safe to drive with a door not closed right. So not safe to drive all the time. Sliding door seals stick when it rains.

Check engine light blinking and transmission does not shift the way it used to. Sometimes slips a little.

Lots of road noise.

Lots of torque steer.

Dealer too rushed to do a job right.

General Comments:

My old Nissan which, I still have, just has none of the problems of the Odyssey. Old Nissan is slower and handles not so well, but the doors close, the transmission shifts well, I do not need the dealer to work on it. It doesn't need any unusual service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2006

10th Jan 2007, 12:24

Have you tried pulling fuse #13 to fix the door problem. It seemed to work for almost everyone with the 2000 Odyssey. It's labelled clock backup, but obviously has some control over the doors.

17th Feb 2007, 20:39

Hello, I am curious in which Nissan year and model you have. It sounds like the quest minivan. I would be surprised if it is because until 2002 those were made in a joint venture with ford.

20th Mar 2008, 20:46

I just want to add a comment about the Nissan Quest. Yes, it was built in a Ford plant in Ohio, but it uses a bulletproof V6 and transmission from the Nissan Pathfinder. It's a great little van that doesn't break down (like the domestics and the Honda Odyssey). My neighbor is on her third automatic transmission in her 2002 Odyssey. No thanks! I'll stick with my 1998 Quest. By the way, the Mercury Villager is identical to the Quest underneath. Either one is a good, cheap buy!

2004 Honda Odyssey EX from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7777 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Flawless

Faults:

I have had no problems with this van except for my wife having two minor accidents with the vehicle.

Backing up can be a problem for smaller people.

I felt the body and paint repair costs were reasonable.

Reduced gas mileage until after the break in period.

General Comments:

The Japanese and Honda have fine tuned this vehicle to utter perfection.

Expensive sticker price, but well worth it the price... new or used. If you buy a lower end mini van, you better budget additional money for repairs. Sit in your local mall parking lot for few minutes and hear some of the older 01-02-03-04 mini vans start up and drive away... Buy a Honda!

OEM add on accessories are quite expensive. DVD player, air deflector & fog lights are just a few add ons that will warp the credit card even if you get them on ebay like I did.

I must say, I would never own anything other than a Honda!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2005

14th Jan 2006, 08:50

I have a 2004 Odyssey.

With Navigation and a Dealer installed DVD system

After just over 2 yrs the DVD player was inoperable. DVD does not respond nor does it eject the Disk that is in it.

Went to the dealer, and he is ordering a new player. Still under warranty so I'm not out any money.

Hope this is not going to recur, as I will be out of warranty soon.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 13 reviews