2004 Honda Odyssey Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2004 Honda Odyssey EX-L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

This car does everything I expect of it

Faults:

Nothing, yet!

General Comments:

This car is the best handling car or truck I've owned.

The drivers seat does not have as much leg room as I would like. I'm a big guy and like to strech my legs when driving; I just wish the front seat had about 3 more inches of travel rearward. (It's pretty amazing that when run to the forward position, the seat is about 5 inches from the steering wheel?)

I also wish the parking brake were a hand-operated lever next to the drivers seat.

The parking cog on the transmission seems to hang an awful lot of weight on it when parked on anything, but a flat surface. I try to put the emergency brake on before putting the transmission in park, but I almost get a loud clunk when releasing it from the park position. I hope this won't cause a problem down the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2005

2004 Honda Odyssey LX 3.6 Litre from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.6 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance35500 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Like it, but will not buy it again

Faults:

Our first family Van. I am loving it. Wife complains 1) wind noise.

2) engine knocking, dealer says it is fine, and.

3) gas gauge misleading. When it is reading empty, you can only put in 12 gallons in 20 gal. tank. When it reads half you can put in only 6-7 gal. Wife already stranded on hiway after dropping me off at work going back home, not good Honda.

General Comments:

I love my Honda Odyssey. Wife is not completely wrong, for wind noise, engine knock, and gas gauge problem.

Any body else have these problems.

Dealership fixed first recall quick for transmission cooler line, but no loaner provided.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th May, 2005

27th Aug 2005, 10:04

Wind noise, true. One of many sources seems to be a howling from the antenna at 70 mph. Lots of road noise from tires. Chevy Tahoe much quieter. Even old 92 Dodge Grand Caravan quieter. My trans starting to slip and hesitate. My new problems have just begun.

24th Sep 2005, 14:49

I have a 2004 Odyssey. I also have an engine knock problem, and my dealer also says this is normal!

2004 Honda Odyssey EX 3.5 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Good speed, Good handling. This is the minivan for you

Faults:

There's been nothing that's gone wrong with the van yet. No problems.

General Comments:

For myself, there is a blind-spot on the passengers side if a car is right up next to me.

The mileage started out at 16 city, 21 highway. But it's gradually getting better. I logged 24 on a recent road trip.

The one thing that really surprised me was the turn radius. It will turn sharper then any car I've ever owned.

The entertainment system works flawlessly. Those little rug-rats sit back there and don't say a word. It's a Godsend, I say.

I believe it has the most acceleration of all the vans out there. I was pretty impressed with that.

One thing I don't like much is the little fold-away table they give you between the front seats. It bounces around too much and my Coke splashes around a little bit. I guess they have a heftier compartment type deal you can buy to put in there though.

Overall, I wasn't too crazy about getting a van, but this one is pretty decent. I'm most impressed by the speed (better than I thought) and that turn radius. And of course, a lot of room and flexibility. No negatives, other than your driving a minivan... not exactly a head turner.

One more thing, the Odyssey holds its value pretty good. I think that's a real positive also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2005

2004 Honda Odyssey EX-R V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance4500 kilometres
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

Still the State of the Art in Vans

General Comments:

We traded in our 2000 Odyssey EX at 93,000 km. It was showing its age with above normal wear and tear, and we were on our third transmission (Honda's 4-spd was underdesigned for a vehicle of this size - replacements covered under warranty).

I am insanely happy with the new Odyssey. The newly designed 5-spd transmission seems a perfect match with the beefed up V6 engine, it handles beautifully on the hilly terrain around our house.

The 4-way disk brakes are also a significant upgrade from the earlier model.

The dashboard has been slightly redesigned to improve visibility at the lower corners.

Leather seats are of very high quality. Interior fit and finish is superb for a vehicle of this category.

IMO, handles more easily than the Sienna.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2004

2004 Honda Odyssey Supreme 2.4 iVTEC from Hong Kong

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 iVTEC Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance200 kilometres
Previous carHonda Stream

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is the new 2004 model, with electric folding rear seats in mauve metallic, and special blue HID lamps and fog lamps.

The engine is a gem; it purrs and oozes smoothness.

The comfort is Merc style and roomier; the lower stance is a plus for strong handling.

The middle row of seats feels a tad smaller than the last version, which we use as a company car, but the dash is space age and breathtaking.

It comes as a detuned 160bhp; in Japan it is 200bhp, and rocket like.

Build quality is top notch, but the wheels look a bit cheap or bad taste.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2004

2004 Honda Odyssey EX-L 3.5 VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5 VTEC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Value is finally sitting in my driveway

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Very pleased with the power. when vehicle is fully loaded passing is still no problem.

Handling it tight and firm with limited body roll.

Brakes are excellent. Traction control works well on ice and comes into function under hard acceleration on wet surfaces.

Fit and finish of parts is excellent both inside as well as out.

Rear DVD/Entertainment system functions flawlessly, even with children operating it.

Numerous accessories are available to protect as well as personalize the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2004

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 13 reviews