2006 Honda Odyssey EX from North America

Faults:

We are experiencing unusual tire wear at the front left side of the van. Every now and then, we can hear a slight noise, not something we should be experiencing in such short time of owning the vehicle, which is not excessively used.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st January, 2010

2006 Honda Odyssey XL 6 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Awesome car; Honda needs to cancel the contract with the company that produces the navigation disk

Faults:

The only issue that I have is with the company that produces the navigation data DVD disk for the vehicle. When I first called they stated that the 2008 data disk would be out in March. It is now April and I called again only to find out that it will be released in July. As a consumer, tell me why I would be purchasing a 2008 data disk when 2009 is approaching around the corner? The company responsible for the disk data should offer at half price since it is being released half way through the year. How can Honda contract a company for late products? Honda needs to re-evaluate the contract with this company.

General Comments:

The vehicle is outstanding. It has great gas mileage, rides like a cruise ship, and accommodates the whole family - even the dog.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2008

2006 Honda Odyssey LX 255 HP from North America

Summary:

The Honda Odyssey is a great van with a serious design flaw: a poorly protected condenser

Faults:

The AC condenser failed at 17,609 miles. The Honda service department claims there was a hole in the condenser, which caused a loss of the system refrigerant. Replacement cost was $665. Service was not covered by my extended warranty.

This is a known problem, widely reported by many Honda Odyssey owners. When I asked the service manager what can be done to protect the condenser from future damage, he said nothing.

General Comments:

Over all, I love my 2006 Honda Odyssey. It is a great road car.

But...I will not buy another Honda unless I can be assured that this poor design feature has been fixed and any future condenser failure is covered by the warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th August, 2007

2006 Honda Odyssey LX 3.5 from North America

Summary:

The car is good, but costly to repair

Faults:

Leaky A/C condenser.

General Comments:

The A/C condenser is prone to damage by road debris due to bad design.

We had the same exact problem with 1995 civic.

Honda needs to step up to the plate and fix this problem.

Also, file your complaints with office of the attorney general within your state.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2007

17th Jul 2007, 21:37

I have not had any problems with my condenser, and I do not tailgate trucks dumping rocks like I see many people doing. Do you people really care about your car if you are hitting rocks? Stop tailgating.

18th Jul 2007, 12:41

We had the same problem with the AC condenser in our CR-V. I do not think that the problem is tailgating and hitting rocks, but rather a manufacture's defect/bad design.

18th Jul 2007, 15:31

In the last three weeks I just drove 3,000 miles of smooth MN roads, some even behind dump trucks... BUT NOT TAILGATING!!! I had no problems with getting hit with things on the roadway. It seems kind of like chance when it comes to getting hit with a rock right in the condenser. I have heard comments on how poorly Honda Condensers are built, but I believe it could happen to any car.

I think you guys need to examine where you drive, seriously. I have 156,000 miles on my Honda now and have had no trouble. I am not slow either... It has been at speeds well over 90, so do not think I am some grandpa driver.

2006 Honda Odyssey EXL from North America

Summary:

Major flaw with A/C design

Faults:

We own a 2006 Odyssey EX-L. Within 2 years and 10,000 miles after purchase the air conditioning stopped working. The dealership diagnosed the problem over the phone by suggesting roadside damage to the condenser. The exact problem was confirmed when we took the car in for repair. A quote of $850 in repair charges when the car is still under manufacturer's warranty!

General Comments:

Looking at many other reports, the car has a flawed, unprotected placement for the A/C condenser, which makes it highly prone to roadside damage. Honda and their dealerships are fully aware the problem. They have not made any recalls since it is a good money making business for both: "genuine parts from Honda" and "friendly service and labor fee" for the dealership!! A single incident can cause the buyer of a new car in upwards of $800 with no further warranty. The same problem can occur within days. I did not expect Honda to remain insensitive to this major problem with their car design.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th June, 2007

8th Jun 2007, 19:18

The same thing happened to my 2007 van. A rock damaged the cond and the cost to repair was going to be over $900. Luckily, my dealer fought my case and Honda paid for the repair.

4th May 2008, 19:25

The 08 have bumper inlet grids that protect the A/C unit. If you have an 05-07 just have grids installed, or place something to protect the condenser.

26th Jun 2009, 14:00

I am now suffering from my 2005 Honda Odyssey. Suddenly AC stop working and they said that the coil of AC got burnt and that burn the clutch also. They also said that the compressor condition is not good. How come it is only 4 and half years old. I am suffering with this car. I wish I have money to replace this car.

I can tell only one thing that I will never buy any Honda car in future.

26th Jun 2009, 23:54

I thought I had major problem with my AC in my 2004 Honda Odyssey. It would run, but not put out much cold air. When I looked into it, I found they have a filter that needs to be changed at least once a year. After changing the filter it ran fine.