1998 Honda Passport LX from North America

Summary:

Do not, under any circumstances, buy this car

Faults:

Fuel gauge doesn't work.

Power steering pump leaks.

Oil leak.

Rear wiper stopped working.

Constant oxygen sensor problems.

Catalytic converter issues.

Electric window problems.

Key ignition assembly wore out.

Radiator had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This is not a Honda.

This car is a gas guzzler.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th May, 2012

1998 Honda Passport from North America

Summary:

Excellent SUV

Faults:

Transmission had to be replaced by previous owner.

AC went out in 2006

Gas gage does not work and no one can seem to fix it.

General Comments:

The vehicle has been fabulous and very dependable. We have really not put much money into it throughout the last 7 years that we've owned it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2008

16th Apr 2009, 14:46

My gas gage went out on my 98 Passport too! The dealership told me it would cost over $500.00 to fix it because they would have to remove the whole gas tank to get to the gage to fix it. Needless to say, I haven't fixed it... I use my trip odometer and go by my mileage to determine when I have to fill up again. Luckily, in the 2 years it's been broken, I've only run out of gas twice.

They hinge on the driver's side door has also broken, and the dealership told me it would cost over $500.00 to fix that too. They said they would have to take apart the entire door to fix it. After this, I asked them, "why is it that you have to take the entire car apart just to fix one part... and it always costs over $500.00?" They just gave me a nervous little laugh and said, "you know this car is an Isuzu Rodeo and not really a Honda". This always seems to be their stock answer for difficulties with the Passport. Again, needless to say, I haven't gotten the door hinge fixed either... I just have to grab on to the door every time I open it so it doesn't go crashing into the car next to me.

Overall, in the 11 years I've owned this car, it has been pretty reliable even though it has been "nickel and diming" me over the past few years. I am currently shopping for a new car because my Passport has been leaking something (not sure what), and they said it would cost over $500.00 to fix that too. At this point, the car just isn't worth it.

16th Apr 2009, 19:43

"Luckily, in the 2 years it's been broken, I've only run out of gas twice."

Each time you ran out of gas, did you ever think of forking over the $500. Perhaps for safety's sake?

10th May 2012, 16:28

I have to agree - for safety's sake, I too would get the gas gauge fixed. However $500 does seem to be a bit on the high side, even with them having to drop the tank to replace the sending unit.

1st Aug 2012, 12:45

I have a Passport, and I have had the same issues with the gas gauge; it works when it wants.

The door also, but I just pulled the hinge that had the broken bolt, lined it up, and slipped a small screw into it. Works pretty good.

The leak I would say is either power steering fluid, or check the hoses to the radiator; mine came loose and was leaking the cooling oil.

Yes, they seem to wear out and not hold to the Honda value.. but it is in fact part Rodeo.. I'm happy with mine, I have well over 200 thousand and a few repairs. But then again I've owned mine 6 years now, and it only has 85k on it, so I drive a lot.

1998 Honda Passport ex 3.2 V6 from North America

Summary:

Reliable, but unexciting

Faults:

Pinging on gentle inclines.

Corrosion on negative battery terminal.

Gear shift interlock is sticky.

General Comments:

This has been a great vehicle. Gone 102K with only routine maintenance. For those who have experienced rough shifting... I know this sounds weird, but I have found that by keeping my battery terminals clean I can avoid the rough shifting. For reasons nobody can explain, my negative battery terminal collects large amounts of powdery green corrosion. This will eventually degrade the ground connection thereby reducing the voltage to all of the car's electrical systems... including the electronic controlled transmission. I'm not making this up... on several occasions I have experienced rough jerky shifting which always goes away after I disconnect and clean the negative battery connection.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2007

1998 Honda Passport EX 3.2 V6 from North America

Faults:

Maybe I've been lucky, but my 1998 Passport has been one of the most trouble free cars I've ever owned.

At 101K miles, I am still on the original brakes.

The only major repair this vehicle has ever required was to replace the alternator at around 70K.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2007