1999 Honda Passport Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1999 Honda Passport LX 3.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Poor design and terrible customer service

Faults:

The Honda Passport is basically is Isuzu Rodeo.

After about 40,000 miles I got the check engine light on, now I have problem with fuel gauge suddenly dropping to empty. After researching the web, I found hundreds of owners with exactly same problem. Don't you think it is time for some kind of suit class action??? We have 500000 lawyers in USA; may be one of them will be willing to bring it up???

General Comments:

I would never recommend to buy Isuzu to any of my friends or relatives. Every manufacturer can produce bad quality product, but how Isuzu is dealing with that is unacceptable. Instead of addressing the problem, they are passing cost of their poor design on to the customer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st July, 2008

1999 Honda Passport from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Faults:

I bought 1999 Honda passport and for the past 6 months I have a problem with starting the car. The car won't start if not used for a day or two, need to give a jump. Checked the battery at auto zone and they said it's a good battery. Sometimes it start and sometimes I have to try around 20 clicks to start the car and sometimes I have to give jump. Not sure if it is a starter problem or the alternator. Different mechanic giving different reasons. And in winder the steering goes very hard, mechanic wanted to replace the rack and pinion assembly and the cost mentioned was $700. I didn't changed anything so far and now as it is summer I don't have that issue with steering. Not sure need this in winter or not.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2008

24th Jan 2009, 03:33

Before you change the steering rack. Have a mechanic flush out the old steering fluid and put in some new fluid. Whoever told you that a new rack was needed just wanted to make some money. Try the cheapest stuff first. New fluid could clear the problem. Sometimes the fluid gets contaminated with moisture among other stuff that causes hard steering in the winter.

1999 Honda Passport LX 3.2 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Overall great car with mediocre luxuries and OK gas mileage for an SUV

Faults:

I had problems with the transmission about 7 months ago. It shifted hard when going from 2nd gear into 3rd. BUT IT FIXED ITSELF... or something...I had problems for about a week and then they went away. Also the 'check engine' light came on. All it needed was a PCV valve $2 and it hasn't come on since Auto Zone reset the code.

General Comments:

I actually really enjoy this car. Not really any problems with it, I've had it for a year. Compared to my friends SUV though, it could have more comforts. The interior is nice but on the smaller side and instead of feeling like the seats wrap you in comfort, you're just kinda sitting there. That is the only bad thing I can say about the car. Well, of course the gas mileage isn't great, however better than my friends 'comfy' SUV (Mercury Mountaineer). It seems like the first 1/2 tank last A LOT longer than the last 1/2. I can get about 300 miles out of a tank but if I only have 1/2 tank I get about 100 miles... they should have engineered the car with a centered gauge lol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2008

1999 Honda Passport from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles

Summary:

A solid family SUV or daily driver

Faults:

Nothing. The car just passed the smog test with flying colors (in California). The only complaint I have is the squeaky rear hatch when going over bumps. Apparently you can fix it by installing new rubber gaskets and realigning the strike holes for the hinges, but I haven't tried it.

Car handles very nicely in the snow and mud. Never been stuck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2007

1999 Honda Passport EX 3.2L V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.2L V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles

Summary:

Don't buy a passport or rodeo

Faults:

I have seen many postings with problems about Passports and Isuzu’s. I have a 99 Honda Passport (or Rodeo) and I have had some major problems with it. Below is a list of the problem and fixes. Hopefully this will help others out there with the same problems.

Problem: ABS Light Turn On

Solution: The cable harness in the rear passenger side (Behind the wheel) is not mounted properly cause vibration to the cable harness and breaking the wire. Check for wear and tear on the cable harness where the two connectors meet. If no visible wear is seen, jumper across the connector.

Problem: Transmission Problems

Solution: I’m afraid to say it, but the transmission needs to be rebuilt. Something with the gear from 2nd to 3rd causes hard shifting.

Problem: Engine Light turns on (Error P1404 EGR Valve)

Solution: Try cleaning/replacing the EGR valve. This may work for a month or two. But I really dont have a solution for this problem. Sorry.

Problem: Fuel Gauge Broken

Solution: Replace the fuel pump assembly and float that is located inside the gas tank.

Problem: Gear Shifter does not agree with Dashboard indicator

Solution: Replace the inhibitor switch.

Problem: Gas pump does not work resulting in gas not being delivered to engine

Solution: This took me a week to figure out. The wire that runs from the fuel pump relay to the fuel pump is cracked and does not make a connection causing the pump not to work. I found my cracked wire above the passenger headlight where a bunch of wires are tie wrapped together. You need to look very carefully for this one to find the problem.

Problem: Car makes squealing sound while turning

Solution: Replace the rear bearings. Also replace the front CV boots and bearings.

Problem: Honda Passport/ Isuzu Rodeo

Solution: DON”T BUY THESE CARS.

I have read many reviews and concerns about this car, but I have not seen anybody really post solutions. Hope this helps. I know I have gone crazy trying to fix this car. Hopefully you wont have to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th September, 2007

4th May 2009, 11:05

I love my 1999 Honda Passport. My sister also has one and she loves hers. I bought mine used and haven't had any major problems with it. 2 minor things are the gas gauge has recently stopped working, and the check engine light always stays on. It has been tested and there are no problems with the engine. Whoever said not to buy these apparently hasn't driven one. Mine now has 129,000 miles and is still going great.

1st Dec 2009, 15:10

My '99 Honda Passport runs fine. As with any car, if it's treated well, it will return the favor and vice versa. Whatever horrible condition a USED Passport/Rodeo comes in when it's bought is most likely the fault of the previous owner. It's unreasonable to put the blame on Honda/Isuzu for the failure of this vehicle when bought used.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 10 reviews