2001 Honda Passport Reviews

2001 Honda Passport from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired208365 miles
Most recent distance208470 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

A work in progress

Faults:

Ignition key will not turn completely off and cannot remove. Have been able to remove by cycling the gear shift through the gears, then turning the key to off.

Ignition key will not turn beyond the first stop to start the engine. Have been able to start by aligning steering wheel straight forward.

General Comments:

Lot of mileage on car, but very clean inside and out.

Transmission rebuilt and radiator replaced by last owner.

I replaced two tires and had the front end aligned (big improvement in ride).

Purchased for $3,500 for my daughter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd December, 2010

5th Dec 2010, 20:14

$3,500 for a FAKE Honda (the Passport is just a rebadged Isuzu!) with over 200,000 miles on it?! What a rip off!

2001 Honda Passport 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles

Summary:

Overall a good car; very pleased with its performance

Faults:

Fuel pump sensor went out about 5 years ago. The cost then to replace was $600. I elected to use my odometer to keep track of mileage to know when to fill up. The transmission is hard to service. I'm trying to figure out what they were smoking when they came up with that design.

General Comments:

Car has been very reliable. In fact it's not broke down once.

I had it in for service (transmission) this week, and the technician remarked how quiet the engine was for all those miles. I must admit that I'm anal about servicing my vehicles, so it's had regular transmission service, oil changes, and radiator flushes.

Body integrity is good, and the interior is in very good shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2010

19th Aug 2011, 11:49

There is a recall for lower link trailing brackets for 22 states that use salt on the roads. When taken into the dealership for inspection, the 1990-2002 Honda Passport and Isuzu Rodeo, they find the whole under body is rusted due to poor manufacturing of the frame. Please have your car inspected as there have been many fatal accidents. Recall date September 2010. Received notice January 2011.

2001 Honda Passport EX V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance111579 miles

Summary:

We will never buy a Honda again

Faults:

The most current problem with the vehicle is it that it idles rough, and when it shifts to overdrive, it sputters.

Other problems are that the gas gauge stopped working, the light in the clock went out, the CD player doesn't work, the check engine light is on, the ABS light is on, the windshield wipers won't work on intermittent, the rear wiper doesn't work, and we had to have it towed due to some emission problems.

The biggest surprise is that we called the dealership about the rough idle, and wanted to take it in and put it on the diagnostic computer, and were told it would cost $800.00 just to hook it up. Is that ridiculous or what? We bought this car brand new!!!

General Comments:

The Passport does not stand up to the reputation of what a Honda is supposed to be, and then you can't afford to let the dealership troubleshoot for you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th December, 2009

21st Dec 2009, 23:29

Don't let the Passport sour you on Honda because that's not even really a Honda your driving.. it's an Isuzu Rodeo. It's too bad Honda tarnished their reputation by putting their name on an inferior product and selling it as if they made it themselves. A poor marketing move to save money so they wouldn't have to make a new design, and whoever thought that one up should be fired or sent to work for Isuzu.. or better yet, should be made to drive the heap themselves!

2001 Honda Passport EX 3.2L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.2L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance133300 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Reliable until it reaches 120k miles

Faults:

Car has been reliable until about 120,000 miles.

Air conditioner compressor made lot of noise, dealer wanted $1,200 to fix it.

Transmission once in a while will not down shift to lower gears when hot.

Latest thing, starter is out.

My 1993 Camry has 300,000 miles on it, finally, the air conditioning went out about a year ago, while everything is still okay. So much for Honda build with pride.

General Comments:

Semi reliable, rough riding piece of junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th October, 2009

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 10 reviews