1987 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1987 Honda Prelude 2.0 Si from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired287651 miles
Most recent distance288561 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

My favorite Fonda the Honda

Faults:

Had to replace the brake pads.

Car has starting leaking brake fluid.

Alternator belt needs replaced.

Seats wearing out.

Pg-fl light comes on every time you drive car.

General Comments:

Love my Honda. Drives and handles curves great. All interior lights work. Seats are very comfortable. Car is perfect for someone with a shorter framed body, easy to reach everything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2007

1987 Honda Prelude 2.0 SI L4 F/I from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 SI L4 F/I Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired127900 miles
Most recent distance127982 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Lots of potential

Faults:

Just bought the car needed valve cover gasket.

Fuel pump went bad 125,000 miles.

Hazard lights working, but they only turn off when they want too.

Cruise control does not work.

Dash lights don't work.

Speedometer lights don't work.

General Comments:

This car is very quick car, and still very easy on gas. My motor needs a lot of work and I am still beating cars that aren't stock. Very comfortable seats, nothing is out of reach from the drivers seat. Very smooth clutch and transmission

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2006

8th Mar 2006, 21:50

What non-stock cars can you beat in that thing? The UPS truck with his flame paint job? LOL.

9th Mar 2006, 11:34

Smart Alec comes to mind...

1987 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance205000 miles
Previous carDatsun 1600 Pick-up

Summary:

Really a reliable car

Faults:

Numerous interior electrical problems (i.e. hazard button failed, headlight/wiper control failed, cruise control 50% failure, power windows barely work now...etc.).

EFI had to be replaced at 200k.

Water pump failed at 195k.

Trunk lid started leaking water at 100k - now there is a perpetual moldy smell in the car.

General Comments:

I have been a bit frustrated by the interior electrical problems.

Not too upset about the EFI and water pump - certainly expected maintenance after this many miles.

Its starting to show it's age (exterior and mechanically, but I can't get rid of the thing - it's my wife's baby and she wants to keep it forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2006

1987 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Wishing I still had the greatest car I ever owned!

Faults:

Power Steering leaked at the Rack.

Seats were recovered.

Headlights got stuck in the up position.

Muffler rusted out.

Lower and upper ball joints went bad.

General Comments:

This Prelude was my first import. I loved owning this car! And I would still have it to this day if a drunk driver had not hit me. I was very impressed with the handling and the way it would handle turns. This car became my "dream car" and still is to this day. My present car is a lot like it... Acura Interga. I drove this car across the US a few times. I was very happy with my "lude".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2004

28th Aug 2008, 20:40

My '87 prelude died when a 19 year old drunk driver hit it (that happened in 2000). I'm still weeping. I loved my car! Wishing Honda didn't discontinue the Prelude.

18th Jun 2009, 16:53

I've owned 5 preludes, and the black '87 SI was my favorite car by far. It was fun to drive. A teenager hit it and totalled it. It broke my heart. I don't think any car will measure up.

1987 Honda Prelude 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

A fun summer car

Faults:

Power steering system broke, needed completely replaced.

My number 2 spark plug has blown 3 times, and the 3rd time damaged the engine enough for me to junk it. No matter what I did, got new plugs, etc, it kept blowing. Mechanics didn't know what was wrong.

Rear trunk leaks from "somewhere" another leak soaks the rear seat.

Power steering fluid keeps leaking out.

Misc. parts broken in interior, such as both window cranks, door handles.

Vibrates like crazy between 60 and 70 MPH and pulls to the right always. Had it alligned 3 times, tires balanced twice, nothing will fix it.

A/C stopped working one day, must have been a blown fuse, but at that point it wasn't worth checking into.

General Comments:

It was a fun summer time car to open up the sunroof, roll down the windows (you have to take the handles out of the glove box though and stick them on since they are broke.) and drive to a park or something, as long as you didn't have to go over 60 mph and get your spinal cord rattled by the shaking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2004

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 18 reviews