1987 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1987 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired198000 miles
Most recent distance213724 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

It's a quality car

Faults:

I have had to replace the clutch, alternator, and battery.

The seats need to be replaced and it needs to be painted.

General Comments:

I love this car. Its not only quick it gets great gas mileage.

Even with all the miles it still runs like a top.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2004

23rd Jun 2004, 18:04

Yeah, I read you're article about how much you like the Honda Prelude, I'm thinking about buying a Honda Prelude, 1987, 2.0 Si, and I was wondering how many miles to the gallon that you get, and how many gallons does your tank hold?

22nd Dec 2005, 11:49

It'll get 27 city 31 highway. it holds 15.8 gallons.

1987 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 Fuel Injected from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Fuel Injected Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

Nice sporty car for the sports car enthusiast who no longer can live without a back seat

Faults:

No problems until recently. The automatic transmission starting feeling loose... it was slipping when cruising along at highway speeds. Finally, the D4 and R options completely went out. My Honda tech told me that owners should drain and refill the auto transmissions at least once a year to keep the transmissions in good condition. If not, the tranny will fail between 100,000 and 120,000. Just wanted to let everyone know from my bad experience. Otherwise, the car runs like a dream. It is not unusual for the engines to run 300,000 miles if properly maintained. Rust appears to be the main concern as the vehicle ages. It might be worth it to fix the rust as the rest of the car is so solid.

General Comments:

Honda really designed a nice car back in the '80's. The Prelude Si was the culmination of everything Honda learned about refining automobiles. The car is smooth, powerful, comfortable, and reliable. It's also a lot of fun to drive. It's amazing how solid the car feels even after all of these years. Find yourself a solid example and save yourself a boatload of cash that you would spend on a new Honda. Enjoy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2004

25th Mar 2004, 23:45

The fan on the '87 Prelude that I bought last year also stays on for what seems like a very long time after turning the car off. But I don't have any battery problems. In fact I went over 2 months without driving it and it started within one second when I finally got around to driving it.

Just a note for people with Hondas, cars that they would like to keep as rust free as possible. Remove the plastic trim piece under located by the rear wheels. These trap dirt and moisture, and worse, salt (if you live in a state that uses salt in the winter).

5th Aug 2007, 12:05

Hello.

I have one question. About a year ago I put my '87 Prelude into a ditch and the passenger side front wheel hit the ditch at 30 mph. I broke the axle, and I need to know what to do to fix that problem. I know I have to replace it, of course, but I need to know what specific part to replace with?

I have been a fan of the Honda Prelude for over 5 years and have enjoyed the car greatly! I own two Honda Preludes, one a manual '86 and the other automatic '87 SI. Both beautiful cars and in the process of repairing both to original performance.

Thank you for taking the time to read!

18th Feb 2008, 03:01

OK for the guy who drove into the ditch, you probably need a lower control arm. In addition to the axle.

To the original poster, which engine do you have? The 16valve or the 12 valve?

1987 Honda Prelude 4WS 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 kilometres
Most recent distance200050 kilometres
Previous carToyota TOYOTA

Summary:

I hope that they bring out a new 4WS car, the concept is amazing

Faults:

So far I've had trouble with the air conditioning, it seems to work randomly.

Also the front and rear lower ball joints have been replaced.

The front brake lines perished and the clutch hose as well.

And the rust has been pretty bad patches around all windows and around the doors.

General Comments:

The car however has been a joy to drive with the exception of the faults, I have really enjoyed the 4WS and the smooth ride it provides.

Now that I have replaced all the faulty parts, I really do not like driving my new Toyota Celica, I leave that to the wife!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th January, 2004

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 18 reviews