1989 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 12 of 14

1989 Honda Prelude 2.0 Si Coupe L4 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission L4 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles

Summary:

If I could make love to a car, it'd be this Prelude

Faults:

My clutch is starting to slip at 83,000.

The brakes squeak a little.

The antennae doesn't retract.

My air conditioning unit isn't all that good. If I'm in neutral (at below 1000 RPM) the air conditioning unit makes the engine sound like it's dying.

There's a hole in the muffler, but I'm going to leave it there... it sounds GORGEOUS.

General Comments:

I absolutely love the way this car drives. I haven't driven many other vehicles, but this car beats the living daylights out of anything else I've ever tried.

This baby drives smoother than butter.

The turning/handling is incredible. Turning corners is literally like doing donuts.

The trunk is HUGE. I could probably fit like three to four bodies in there... I mean lots of groceries...

I have to say though that the seats aren't all that comfortable. I'm a bigger guy (like 6 feet, 220 lbs) and the racing-style seats really hug me a little tightly.

This car is strictly meant for two passengers (three is pushing it, but do-able). The backseat is beyond tiny. Legroom is non-existent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2003

31st Aug 2003, 06:12

The Honda Prelude is a great car with the handling and everything about it. But I have to say that there is not enough room in the trunk.

10th Apr 2005, 22:53

Think of the back seat as a large cargo area, 'cause it ain't gonna hold two people. By far the smallest rear-seat room since the '79 Sunbird/Skyhawk.

1989 Honda Prelude Si, 4WS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 kilometres
Most recent distance237000 kilometres
Previous carFord Marquis

Summary:

Fast, fun and legendary performance

Faults:

There is absolutely nothing wrong with this vehicle. I need to rebuild the clutch shortly. Other than that, the suspension is in excellent shape as is the engine compression and cylinder readings.

General Comments:

The handling of this car is incredible even after its fourteen years of life it is as quick or quicker than most new cars in its class. The 4WS makes cornering seem to defy gravity and this is by far the most fun I've ever had driving a vehicle. The engine is showing its legendary Honda quality and my mechanic says it's in great shape. The classic third generation Prelude shape is still a head turner and much desired after all these years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2003

1989 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired172000 miles
Most recent distance193000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

This car will get you speeding tickets

Faults:

The head cracked from a loose cam shaft bolt. had to have it replaced.

The rest has just been mantenance.

General Comments:

This car is fast and blows away most newer cars.

I keep trying to bring my self trade it in, but I just can't do it.

Fun to do upgrades on the body and engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2003

12th May 2005, 23:54

I completely agree with this review. these cars have a lot of potential and can take almost anything in its class with a 4 cylinder engine. To me this car is like a poor mans Ferrari.

1989 Honda Prelude Si from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carChrysler Laser

Summary:

Worst car that I ever owned

Faults:

Clutch cable broke at 5,000 miles

Much of the interior molding was either loose or detached

Coil failed at 12,000 miles

Rattling noise from the engine from inception

Alternator problems where the lights would constantly 'pulse'

General Comments:

Very minor accident on driver's side caused $$$ in repairs

Despite the higher performance engine - poor acceleration

Very poor quality / workmanship in assembly

A mechanic told me that he could see a Budweiser can on the panel that was removed after the accident.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd February, 2003

25th Jan 2007, 00:10

This car uses a hydraulic clutch not a cable.

1989 Honda Prelude 2.0Si 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 miles
Most recent distance263000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Lovable little car

Faults:

Replaced timing belt and rebuilt head at 254000 miles. Replaced rear brakes at 240000 miles. rebuilt transmission at 260000 miles. replaced alternator at 236000 miles replaced stereo system at 260000 miles. replaced radiator at 260000 miles. replaced retractable antenna at 260000 miles.

General Comments:

Love the 4WS. Handles better at high RPM than Lower. Bucket seats seem to wrap around me when I sit in them (makes for more confident driving).The car is very quick and handles very well in traffic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2003

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 61 reviews