1989 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 13 of 14

1989 Honda Prelude 2.0 Si 4ws 2.0 si from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 si Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired242000 miles
Most recent distance253000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Calais

Summary:

Endless possibilities

Faults:

I have an oil leak that I need to fix.

Replaced the rear brake pads.

The C/V joints need to be replaced.

But other than that I have had no problems.

General Comments:

This car handles awesome, thanks in part to the 4 wheel steering.

Torque bites at lower rpm's, but is awesome above 3500.

I love the 5 speed transmission.

Still running awesome even after 250000+ miles.

The back seat could be a bit bigger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2002

1989 Honda Prelude 2.0S from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0S Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

A quick little car!

Faults:

There wasn't anything that broke on my car. It is a great reliable car.

General Comments:

If you replace everything in this car before it goes it willd you well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2002

1989 Honda Prelude 2.0 Si from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Si Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired146780 miles
Most recent distance153200 miles

Summary:

The sporty car for first-time car buyers!

Faults:

Replaced the CV joint on the right side. Car still makes ticking sounds while making sharp turns.

Air Conditioning is dead.

High pressure hose for power steering fluid leaked. Got it fixed once and replaced recently.

Speedometer needle functions intermittently. This and the previous two problems are typical to all 3rd generation Preludes.

General Comments:

Nice acceleration.

Great handling. Very firm.

Excellent engine.

Well designed front seats.

Sleek body design.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2002

4th Aug 2003, 20:32

I had the same problem on my 89 Prelude with the ticking noise continuing after having the CV joints replaced, it has even confused the Honda service technician at the local Honda dealership who commented that he had never come across that noise before.

Have you had any luck in finding the cause of the noise and would you mind letting me know the resolve.

THANKS.

My E-mail address is garethrose@shaw.ca.

25th Aug 2007, 13:12

I've also got that ticking noise with mine as well. Mine's a '90 Prelude, 2.0 Si, and I've fixed pretty much everything on this car. I got a new power steering pump, and I've tried to figure it out, but I haven't found a solution yet. If you find out, let me know.

9th Jan 2009, 06:44

I had an '89 4WS Si for a few years. The whole time I had it it made a ticking sound that was always noticeable with the windows open at very low speed. Had it regularly serviced by local Honda dealership. They always told me it was a non-issue and it never caused a problem. I still loved that car like no other. Pity I wrecked it!

1989 Honda Prelude Si 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 miles
Most recent distance280000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

This car can easily be turned into a nice street racer

Faults:

When I had gotten the vehicle it was a fixer upper, I replaced the CV axle, Exhaust system, alternator. But what do you expect from a car that has almost 300,000 miles on it?

General Comments:

It's a fast little car.

It has a nice style to it.

It rides real nice, takes turns easy, and hugs the road really nice. The handling is really good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2002

1989 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired174000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Awesome style and great performance

Faults:

Rear brake calipers had to be replaced.

Timing belt was replaced at 199 000.

General Comments:

This has been the best car I have ever owned.

Its fun, fast and really sticks around corners.

Almost 15 years old and can still smoke all those new civics!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2002

1989 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired144965 miles
Most recent distance190867 miles
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

This car is fast, stylish, and all at a great price

Faults:

The hood is fading.

The clutch is starting to loose its grip.

General Comments:

This car handles like a $40,000 sports car. Steering is very tight when at driving speeds, but when stopped the wheel becomes loose so it is easy to steer.

The acceleration is great. You will have no problem getting up to highway speed on a short ramp.

The overall styling of the car is sharp, and the front bucket seats accent the sports car feel!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2002

1989 Honda Prelude 2.0 Si 4ws 2.0 DOHC 16v 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC 16v 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired154000 kilometres
Most recent distance173095 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Delivers excellent bang for your buck

Faults:

The clutch pressure plate failed so I replaced the clutch and machined the flywheel.

Reverse light switch failed, but was easily replaced.

I had to replace the Electronic Air Control Valve (idle valve).

General Comments:

This is one hell of a sports car. Its only 1110kg which makes it very nimble and the low centre of gravity gives it exceptional stability. The suspension (double wishbones at each corner) is just great, the way it responds to driver input makes it a dream to drive. You only have to think of what you want the car to do and it just does it with a minimum of fuss and virtually no body roll. Chassis rigidity is quite good with hardly any noticeable body flex. The limit of grip is ridiculously high considering the relatively modest size of the tyres.

Power is good for a car its weight and there is more than enough to get you into serious trouble with the Police. The brakes are pretty good (4 wheel disc) but I upgraded the pads to road/sport pads.

All in all, it is an incredible piece of machinery even when compared to current so called 'sports' cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2002

8th Feb 2008, 04:45

How much did the clutch replacement cost?

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 61 reviews