1989 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 14 of 14

1989 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres

Summary:

High on the fun, low on practical

Faults:

Rust and a poor electrical. I had the car in the shop for the electrical many times and in the end I had to hard wire the fuse box.

The sun roof leaked and rusted out, along with the rest of the car.

General Comments:

The engine and suspension were great. I could take on and off ramps to the 401 at well over 100km/h and this car stuck to the road.

The 5 speed gave me decent mileage and made for a very fun drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2002

1989 Honda Prelude Si 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance189000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

A good performer that lasts

Faults:

Retracting antenna failed at 45K miles. Replaced it.

Clutch went out at 70K miles.

Clutch slave cylinder went out at 90K miles.

Suspension bushings worn at 100K+ miles.

Timing belt broke at 137K miles. Did valve job and rebuilt head at this time.

Alternator failure at 140K miles.

Air conditioner compressor failed at 140K miles, leaks in system.

Major paint fade at 150K miles.

Antenna failed again at 189K miles.

Replaced brake rotors at 189K miles.

New clutch needed at 170K miles.

General Comments:

This car runs great, still pulls good.

Interior in good shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2002

16th Apr 2005, 09:28

I Have a 89 Honda Prelude Si. It runs good, but I have replaced the slave cylinder twice. Replaced the clutch. Replaced the fuel pump. Also my antenna is broken. Otherwise its been a good car for haveing over 156,000 miles.

1989 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance114000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

Great value, and fun for the money

Faults:

Had the left drive-shaft boot replaced.

New exhaust center pipe, probably due to driving on roads salted in wintertime.

A/C is officially dead, don't care to replace it.

Car seems to have developed a 'snore' ie low-end vibration noise at around 2500 RPM for just a second or two, no big deal.

General Comments:

What can I say? I love this car.

I was supposed to trade it in when we got our mini-van and at the last minute I balked and kept it.

Road response is excellent, cornering great, acceleration good especially at +3000 RPM.

After 12 years the engine still ‘purrs’ at 4000 RPM just like it did when new.

Also kids love it since they can play in front seat (no airbags!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2002

2nd Jul 2002, 17:52

I have an 89 Prelude Si 4WS, and one thing I can tell you is that rattle/snore at 2500 RPM's is actually the 4-2-1 header, on the 2 pipe. The 2 pipe consists of a "pipe within a pipe". What they are doing is the inside pipe is rattling against the outside pipe. All you have to do is take it to a shop (or do it yourself) and get the inside pipe welded to the outside pipe, thus eliminating any chance for more vibration, which can cause problems when you try to re-sell the car. A shop should charge about 40 bucks to get this simple thing dealt with.

1989 Honda Prelude Si 4WS 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance136633 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Nimble, comfortable, reliable good looking car for its age

Faults:

Typical 3G Prelude problems: power steering leak, bushings wearing out, main relay. Nothing major over routine maintenance.

General Comments:

Showing its age (13 years). Not as fast as newer cars today, but still handles well (with the right tires). Only 1 spot of rust, paint faded a little, but still shiny. Interior very comfortable and holding up very well.

Not major problems, clutch was sort of pricey to replace. Very reliable for car this age. Will get 30 MPH. Power steering leaked with fluid additive, bushings hard to find, main relay was $35.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2002

1989 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee Sport

Summary:

An inexpensive joy ride

Faults:

Belts.

Alternator.

General Comments:

Great overall car!!!

Comfortable, sporty and surprisingly fast!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2001

1989 Honda Prelude Si 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2 (never own one)

Summary:

Great car, I will never own anything other than Honda again!!

Faults:

CV boots have been replaced twice in 2 years(commmon with Honda's).

A/C is dead, and costly to repair.

Keep a close eye on the bottom end!!

General Comments:

Very reliable; always starts.

It does have steady power, it keeps up or beats almost any other 4 cylinder.

I wish I had the 4WS; a 2.2 Vtech; and the spoiler.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2001

1989 Honda Prelude Si 4WS 2.0 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance108345 miles
Previous carFord Ranger 4x4

Summary:

A screamer in the turns

Faults:

I have to replace the upper arm bushings in the rear of the car, and the A/C is dead. But, other than that it has been a great car.

General Comments:

I would seriously buy the new Prelude if it had the four wheel steering option.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2000

1989 Honda Prelude Si 4WS 2.0i 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Mainly stuff that is part of maintenance.

The timing belt broke, but fortunately no damage done and only needed a new belt. Right now the power steering is leaking but that shouldn't be a problem either.

General Comments:

A really good car for the money I paid for it, still looks good even after 10 years. Really good handling, because of the 4WS it handles like a rearwheel drive car, especially in the wet :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 1999

1989 Honda Prelude si 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Maintenance mostly. New calipers and brakepads, 90k service. Still runs strong. A tremendous little car with lots of pep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 1998

1989 Honda Prelude 2.0i-16v 4WS 2.0i 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

The head gasket blew on the Autobahn, and I had to buy a new engine from Japan, but apart from that not bad. It goes better with the new engine anyway, as it is a slightly later model.

General Comments:

Excellent car, the best bit is the four wheel steering bit, turns on a penny, plus supreme stability in highspeed corners. The acceleration ain't too bad either, plus there is no room in the back which means you'll never be too weighed down to pull away from the lights. Traction control might be a bonus !!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 1998

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 61 reviews