1994 Honda Prelude Reviews - Page 2 of 5

1994 Honda Prelude Si 2.3 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles

Summary:

Great car to race with and also very reliable

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

I have a 94 Honda Prelude Si 2.3 liter its pushing about 190 horse power with a few modifications. this car will demolish any civic VTEC with slight mods. i raced and beat a mazda 3 with mods the other day I smoked that p.o.s. overall the car is real quick for a 4 cyl. and especially for a 1994. I ordered a turbo with a BOV. never seen a prelude with turbo and a BOV before. anyone on here have one? I want to know how it is. I wish it didn't take only premium gas though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2007

2nd Oct 2007, 02:44

I have a 1993 si prelude I'm running in the high 13teens what are you running.

1994 Honda Prelude Si 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Fast, fun, and sporty

Faults:

Air bag light constantly on.

Air conditioning broken.

Seal on window damaged due to an attempted theft.

General Comments:

The 94' prelude is the best car I have ever had. I loved the interior and the comfortable seats. The dash board and guages are unique and attention grabbing also. The car gets up to speed very quickly and handles like a champ. Even at 170,000 miles the car ran excellent and didn't require any maintenece during the time frame that I owned it. The sad part is that the car was eventually stolen from me. These cars are a target for car thieves, not only for the car itself, but the seats and other interior parts are in high demand on the streets.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2004

25th Oct 2010, 08:00

I bought a Honda Prelude 1994 SI VTEC. It is a nice car. I love it.

But I recently had the tyres changed and the wheels aligned and now the wheel light remains on all the time. I don't know what it could be.

Can someone assist?

1994 Honda Prelude VTEC 2.2 4 cylinder (H22A) from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder (H22A) Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance131500 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Not all that common, but worth every penny

Faults:

The whole cat-back exhaust system broke.

The flex-point on the headers broke.

Battery terminals rusted over and needed cleaning.

Oil pan was leaking badly and I was burning about 1 gallon of oil a month.

Clutch slave cylinder was getting a leak at 130,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car isn't all that quick until you hit the VTEC and then it just takes off.

Handling could be better, but it's not all that bad.

My friend who is 6'4 doesn't fit very well.

Awesome dash that is spread out across the width of the car.

Leather seats are very comfortable and offer very good support when racing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2004

30th Mar 2004, 00:15

I think this review was written very well.

5th Jan 2007, 05:22

Good review, but you could fit a 7 foot man in this car easily, I am 6"2 and with the drivers seat fully back I can't even touch the peddles, absolutely no rear leg room though.

1994 Honda Prelude VTEC 2.2L VTEC from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L VTEC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A pocket rocket that's well worth it

Faults:

At 145,000 miles there was a problem with the fuel lines overheating in the summer.

General Comments:

This car is for people who like to drive fast. Although just a four-banger, this car has some serious speed. In the lower rpm range, the speed is moderately quick. As you approach red line, the VTEC kicks in and you feel pushed back into the seat.

While domestic cars may have more horsepower for the money, they can't match the Prelude's handling and reliability. The extra cash up front is definitely worth it in the long run.

My car is 9 years old and still gets comments wherever I go. Most people think it is a '99 or '00. The body style is aggressive, but not over-done. The interior is amazing. The black leather seats, although a little worn by now, look and feel awesome. In my '96 Accord, by back would start to hurt after longer drives. In the Prelude, I feel I could drive all day. The dashboard is very unique. The digital displays are extremely bright and go across the whole dash. When I first bought it, I would always forget to turn on my lights at night because they are always lit up very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2003

21st Nov 2003, 06:25

Good review. Been without headlights myself as the dash is always lit up; unlike in other cars where you have to turn the lights on to light up the instruments...!

10th Dec 2003, 10:12

And here's another tip regarding the dash lights. If they ever go out you know your tail lights have gone too. They are part of the same cirtcuit.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 15 reviews