2002 Honda S2000 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2002 Honda S2000 2.0 Vtech from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Vtech Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance5946 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

High tech performance, beauty and fun all rolled up in one package!

Faults:

This engine used 3 quarts of oil during the first 5,000 miles of break in driving.

General Comments:

At 5'9", 190 lbs and having chronic neck and back pain I was absolutely shocked at how comfortable the cockpit style seating really was.

The gorgeous body lines get to me every time I approach the car, especially from the front end.

Uncompromising power at your disposal takes you to a whole new level of driving experience. Yet this car is such a pleasure to drive that driving within the speed limit becomes habit forming!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2002

25th Mar 2005, 23:48

I had exactly the same experience. Driver's seat felt tailor made. Best view is dead-on front. And close ratio gears and high-winding engine make you happy... and make you think you're a pretty good driver, too.

2002 Honda S2000 2.0 DOHC VTEC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC VTEC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance1987 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Excellent bang for your buck

Faults:

Car was perfectly prepared on delivery and has been faultless since.

General Comments:

Why should you consider an S2000 over a Boxster or TT?, because you are an individual who is not swayed by fashion or status.

This car is two in one. Below 6000 rpm its as docile as an MX5 and comfortable enough for the daily commute. Above 6000rpm, this car will out accelerate virtually anything else on the road.

Dry weather handling is excellent. In the wet, as with any 240 bhp rear wheel drive car, caution is required, especially as the OEM Bridgestone S02 tyres are designed for optimum dry weather grip.

If you want a car that is £8000 cheaper that the equivalent Porsche, £3000 cheaper that the equivalent Audi TT and is as satisfying to own and drive as either of them, then buy an S2000. If you are worried about what your neighbours think, or are just a poser at heart then buy something else and leave the proper sports cars to people like me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2002

27th Jun 2005, 08:06

It's miles better than the TT, which let's face it is only a very expensive Golf in drag, but it's not as good as the Boxster S.

I had an S2000 and sold it for a used Boxster S after 6 months. The 2000 is a great car, is beautifully made and very exhilarating when it comes on cam. However, the Boxster S engine does what the S2000's does with half the revs on the clock.

The Boxster is far more rewarding and exploitable on the limit, and can be found at bargain secondhand prices. As for pose value, all a Boxster says about me is that I can't afford a 911 ;-) I bought it because it is a proper sports car that you don't need a trust fund and a big inheritance to afford.

2002 Honda S2000 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

The best deal on a Lamborghini you will find

Faults:

So far so good.

General Comments:

The S2000 is like a finely crafted sewing machine.

The transmission is nearly perfect.

The handling is incredible.

And running through a tunnel with the top down and kicking up to 8000 RPM is reminiscent of F1 racing.

Some folks have complained that the car is too stiff and doesn't have sufficient low end torque for city driving. This is like saying that the Honda Civic wasn't designed for city driving. I have found no flaws with the S2000 in commute traffic, and have been duly impressed with its dual personality (below 6000 RPM - reserved sharp looking commuter car, above 6000 RPM - tenacious tar eating beast).

The best thing about this car is that Honda wasn't no money on frills. All the engineering is in the chassis and engine. So if you want a car that drives like a missile and don't want to pay for a Diablo, this is the car for you.

Also, more head room than advertised (more than boxster, Z3, etc.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th May, 2002

6th Jul 2005, 06:27

Agree with you on every point you made, just wish I could afford one!

Raziel.

24th Dec 2005, 09:02

I have a 2002 S2000 and agree that this is a rocket of a car.

Handling, speed and looks are all in this package. Only drawback I have are the tires (they don't last very long even under normal wear and tear). Does anybody know of a good set of tires for this car that lasts longer than 10-12k miles?

10th Jan 2006, 21:58

I don't know if you have a supplier of Good Year tyres, but that's what I have on my S2000. The handling is even better (esp in the wet). I have a set of Good Year Eagle F1 GS-D3 tyres on mine.

8th Jun 2006, 14:16

As far as tires go you can't beat the potenza s03's. The s02's were specifically made for this car and the s03s handle like a dream. I went from some cheap khumos to the s03s and the difference was remarkable. I thought the car was on a rail before.

30th Jul 2006, 13:53

Six feet two inches tall and I'm a TIGHT fit. If only there was a way? Some day we (large size humans) will fit in the S2000.

7th Feb 2007, 17:00

To add to the tires comment, I would strongly suggest that you take a look at the BFGoodrich G-Force T/A KDW.

10th Nov 2008, 10:49

The car can be pretty tiring to drive in the city. The car has very little torque and you have to keep the revs up to stick with traffic. The engine is terrific but isn't practical in local driving. It's best suited for highway and racing track use.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews