2005 Honda S2000 Reviews

2005 Honda S2000 2.2L from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Absolutely amazing to drive!

Faults:

Top developed a hole at 30K, was replaced under warranty (my dealer gave me a loner car for the 2 days it was in the shop)

12v Outlet stopped working at 40K, still have not fixed.

General Comments:

This car is absolutely incredible to drive. Every time I get behind the wheel I'm smiling from ear to ear!

The hit when VTEC kicks in never gets old and the car has been stone reliable.

The stock sound system left a lot to be desired, so I replaced it with an Alpine head unit, amp and 2 sets of Polk Momo speakers (doors and headrests).

The car eats through tires if you drive aggressively, but then again what do you expect from max-performance summer tires.

I get 20-25 mpg in the city, and closer to 29 on the highway if I keep the speed down (very hard to do with this car!)

The heater is incredible, allows me to put the top down on 55 degree days!

Service at the local Honda dealer is amazing and they do a full synthetic Mobile 1 oil change for less than Jiffy Lube!

This car rides stiff, but that's how it was designed. If you want a buttery ride buy a Buick!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2009

2005 Honda S2000 GT 2.0 liter from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles

Summary:

Delightful, but in 2008 it's a dated car

Faults:

Headlight washer comes on during the day when I clean the windscreen (with headlights off). The car has a button for the headlight washer anyway, so it shouldn't come on automatically, particularly without the headlights on!

General Comments:

Its superbly built, has a fantastic gearbox and is actually quite comfortable. However it's now 2008 and the car has been around for 10 years, so it could do with changing, even though I love it.

Alarmingly, when at speed and revving it highly (i.e. 80mph+ in 4th gear) and then change up a gear, the rear end shudders slightly. Surely this shouldn't happen?

Other little gripes are the fact headrest speakers aren't standard and heated seats aren't available (even though its £28k new!) The ride is actually quite good for a roadster, but driving the Mazda RX-8 does highlight how dated the S2000 is. It is way off the pace against the Mazda in terms of handling, especially in damp conditions, refinement and general appeal. It is probably a little more reliable though, and has a nicer gearbox in its favour.

You really do have to work that engine hard considering its 237bhp and my friend's 2.2 liter CTDi Civic can actually keep up with me most of the way. How is that?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2008

25th Jun 2010, 01:37

Sounds odd. A Civic keeping up with the S2000? Are you sure it is okay motor wise?

Mac.

28th Mar 2011, 12:11

I wouldn't say no to this. A friend of mine has an 08 2.2CDTI civic and it really pulls with the torque. OK it is remapped, but will keep up with a lot of the Type R cars whether a Civic, Integra or S2000 and still gets great MPG.

28th Mar 2011, 14:35

The S2000 is a good sport car to buy used... The consumers report annual auto guide says that the 06 and 07 were very good cars used cars... The 05 had some examples that had some engine problems... Since the car went for 25,000 to 30,000 new... a good price to pay for a good use one would be 8000.00 to 12000.00... Try to get one owner car... also if you can't get it for that price... just wait...good examples are coming on the market every day... Great poor man's mini Ferrari...

1st May 2011, 14:30

If you find a mid mileage 2005 S2K for 8-12k, you must be smelling breakfast... because IT'S TIME TO WAKE UP!!!

More like 16 to 18k after you are out of your jammy's and back on your feet.

2nd May 2011, 09:24

You are correct... my error...my comments for the 8-12k should have been for the the 01-04 S2000...and going on craigslist search for multiple S2000s, you can find many for the 8-12k figure... my comments should have been more clear... also the car has not changed much since 2001... so finding a good clean 01-04 for that price range should be easy if you are patient to find the perfect one owner car with records.... also pay a mechanic the 80.00 dollars to check the compression in each cylinder, and put it up on the rack to check for structure damage...

2005 Honda S2000 2.2 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 kilometres
Most recent distance47500 kilometres
Previous carHonda Tiburon

Summary:

This car is something special

Faults:

Nothing. Everything is working beautifully.

General Comments:

This car is something special. It's notoriously fast, handles wonderfully and stops on a dime. The heater works extremely well - keeping the cabin warm even in winter.

I love this car!

The S2000 is way too fast for the street. It makes a mockery of the speed limit. If you want to explore the S2000's limits, you'll need to take it to a race track.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2008

2005 Honda S2000 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

Honda Excellence

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

It has the same precise, direct and responsive handling of an evo, but without the hefty running costs. Granted its not as quick as an evo viii (my previous car) or practical, but the money I'm saving on running costs makes it well worth it.

The engine is a thing of amazement, the noise it makes at high rpms is so addictive. The car just feels special, I can't put my finger on it.

Never have I had so many memorable country drives in a car. I am thankful to Honda for making such a good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2005

22nd Feb 2007, 08:51

I'm willing to bet you would mess yourself if you ever drove any sports car with more than 4 cylinders.

20th Mar 2007, 13:32

I just went from a owning a C5 Corvette to buying an 05 S2000. The vette has tons of power, but the S2000 is just a lot more fun to drive - period. It is a real drivers car.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 4 reviews