2000 HSV Clubsport R8 Reviews

2000 HSV Clubsport R8 5.7 litre V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.7 litre V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Berlina

Summary:

Tough Aussie Car

Faults:

Nothing major, just the pouches behind the seats have started to come off.

General Comments:

Very, very well built car. Handles like it's on rails and is extremely quick. Taking into mind it's a fairly heavy car, it's very fuel efficient and I would definitely buy another car from this manufacturer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2007

25th Jul 2014, 15:48

I have owned my 2000 R8 5.7 for three years. Never had any trouble with the car, and it still puts a grin on my face every time I drive it. I love it!

2000 HSV Clubsport R8 VX 5.7L from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 kilometres
Most recent distance52000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Calais

Summary:

Clubsport R8, what else is there???

Faults:

Nothing so far, and I'm not expecting anything!!!

General Comments:

Looks mean, but also very classy.

Good to feel the power, the car almost begs you to push your right foot down!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2004

2000 HSV Clubsport R8 VT 5.7 Litre Alloy V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 Litre Alloy V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carHSV VL turbo

Summary:

Car of your dreams

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

We own a HSV VT R8 Clubsport series 2, leather interior, sunroof, new brakes, s-02 tires ($400 each), HSV additions (pocket knife, flashlight, tyre pressure gage), 250 kw and a New exhaust system.

It runs like a dream and 9/10 people we go past turn around to look at it as we drive past, do you get that in a ford TS50, NO!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2003

12th Feb 2003, 05:36

This may be true, however judging by many of the comments on this website in regards to the GenIII motor, I would rather own a car that didn't go through as much oil as it does petrol.

16th Feb 2003, 03:18

I'm a mechanic at a Holden Dealership, and yes there have been lots of problems with the gen3. One of the more current problems is piston slap (gap between the piston and cylinder is to big.) And the gen3s do go through a lot of oil. To fix the problem of piston slap is to rebuild the engine with bigger pistons in it. And I hope the new gen4 is a lot better and has less problems.

28th May 2009, 03:38

I also own a HSV VT2 R8. My car has never used any oil, I change the oil every 5000k's and never have to top it up. I love my R8 and will never part with it. It has just gone over 100,000k's and I've never had to spend any money on it. I obviously got a good one.

18th Oct 2012, 07:44

Have had a 1999 VT II Clubsport R8 for almost a year now. It's 13 years old and has just a click over 52000 klm's on it, runs perfectly - no piston slap and no oil usage.

Looks like I got a good one!! Or maybe a responsible first owner??

Bought at 46000 klm's and have enjoyed everyday driving since... Replaced air con, gearbox mount, rear shocks... such minor issues!! Everyone complains about the engine in this model - but nothing else?? How good is that!! So if I have an issue, I'll just rebuild the engine with more HP and enjoy a perfectly built Australian sedan!!!

Average review marks: 8.9 / 10, based on 3 reviews