2001 HSV Clubsport R8 Reviews

2001 HSV Clubsport R8 VX II 5.7 LS1 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.7 LS1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 kilometres
Most recent distance123500 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Pure HORN!!!

General Comments:

Picked this car up in March 2006. Had a full Holden service history.

This car was a mild mannered stock VX R8 pushing out 194rwkw. 16 months down the track, and now at 272rwkw, this car will just about eat ANYTHING on the road today.

Being a manual, I chucked in a Rip-Shift and wrapped some Bridgestone Adrenalines around the stock 18" wheels. NOW WHO WANTS TO PLAY!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2007

2001 HSV Clubsport R8 5.7 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 kilometres
Most recent distance88000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

Fun, aggressive and sporty - couldn't be happier

Faults:

Catalytic converter had to be replaced under warranty.

Glove box cover needs to be replaced (warranty).

General Comments:

This car is the best I have owned to date. It's aggressive, sporty and comfortable.

I can do 0-100kms in 6.5 seconds and the engine note had to be heard to be believed.

The R8 suspension is beautiful and the car sticks to the road. I've taken this car down the Great Ocean Road and it eats up the curves. Minimal body roll considering it's size.

It belts out 250 Kw with a bunch of upgrades and mods waiting to push it up to 350-400kw. I can see these projects taking up most of my spare cash over the next few years.

It's one of the more powerful cars on the Australian road and it's great to be able to confidently take on 90% of the other machines out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2005

3rd Oct 2008, 21:52

I couldn't agree more! The sheer nostalgia that comes with driving one of these cars is 2nd to none... Chevrolet/HSV have got a major Ace up its sleeve with the LS1 motor. I've got 1.75 inch Pacemakers with a twin 2.5in merging into a single 3.5in system... the sound from idle through to red line is spine tingling!!

As with my 6spd manual when slowing down through the gears, the wads of fuel rumbling out the exhaust is what I live for! I'd recommend a C.O.M.E., comp, or crow custom grind LS1 cam upgrade, it will net you power gains of up to the 300+ rwkw, it's worked for me!

2001 HSV Clubsport R8 vx 5.7 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Excellent bang for your buck, great aussie car

Faults:

Premature tyre wear.

Rattle in the gear change knob.

HSV racing pedals became lose.

Other than the above it is an excellent drive.

General Comments:

Excellent power.

Quiet on idle.

Fuel consuption not the greatest with about 18 litres per 100km on average.

Handles extremely well with or without traction control on.

Difficult at time to grab 3rd gear when launching out of 2nd at high revs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2004

2001 HSV Clubsport R8 VX Series 1 5.7 Litre Gen III LS1 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7 Litre Gen III LS1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance42500 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

Lemon or Friday afternoon build!

Faults:

The vehicle was delivered with a delamination in the windscreen on the drivers side, no tyre placard sticker or right hand "Clubsport" sticker. All were replaced after delivery.

The engine consumed an excessive amount of oil, well over the 2.5 litres per 10,000 km's which Holden say is acceptable.

The oil light would stay on after starting the engine and then go out after a few seconds. On one occasion it didn't. The oil pump was replaced. This took three weeks, as there were no oil pumps in Australia.

The car was scratched by the dealer while putting the engine back in during the oil pump replacement. The paint repair was like orange peel and had to be fixed by my own spray painter at the dealers cost.

The rear differential whined when under no load, right from day one.

The gear lever rattled against the console in second gear due to insufficient clearance. The standard gear shifter was replaced with a short shift lever, however there is now an internal rattle when in third gear and operating in the higher rev range.

The engine and rear differential were eventually replaced at 11,000 km's.

The new engine continues to consume oil at a rate of 2 to 2.5 litres every 10,000 km's. Holden say 2.5 litres per 10,000 km's is acceptable.

The rubber boots on the front steering arms had to be replaced after 30,000 km's, due to the heat radiated from the engine.

General Comments:

The car looks great, but there is a serious problem with oil consumption that can occur with the 5.7L Gen III LS1 engine.

A mates VX Series II Clubsport was tested at 2.5 litres per 10,000k km's. He bought the vehicle new (Del 7/02) after the dealer assured him the oil consumption issue was fixed in the Series II.

While it's a bit hit and miss, its not a good thing having to top up a new $65,000 plus vehicle (any new car for that matter) with oil between services. All this and then to have the car manufacturer tell you its acceptable after you bought vehicle. Be aware!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th November, 2002

12th Jul 2004, 15:51

Unfortunately I have to agree with you. I purchased a new VX R8 Clubsport and had similar oil pump problems from day one. But to be fair General Motors Holden were quick to remedy the problem.

22nd Aug 2005, 18:28

You can get a camber kit fitted to decrease the tyre wear.

I have when I had a VX SS.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 4 reviews