1995 Hyundai Accent from North America


I had the car less than 1 year when all of the following went wrong:

Car stuck in gear.

Transmission slipped out of gear when driving.

Brakes lights stuck.

Emergency brake would not work.

Over the life of the car I have had unusual things also go wrong:

The air vent covers all broke and fell into the ducts.

The heat went out 2 years ago.

The outside mirror's paint has faded.

The cassette player went out.

Tires wear out at an alarming rate.

The brakes are replaced all too frequently.

I cannot keep up with all of the repairs.

The windshield cracked within the first 18 months.

The roof leaked after 14 months.

I know I have left some out.

I am very unhappy with the car I received and I wrote to Hyundai stating I believed I had a lemon. Thay stated the "Lemon Law" did not apply to my situation.

General Comments:

I believe Hyundai now has a great warranty, but my car was purchased before then and I am stuck with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2001

21st Oct 2006, 15:37

I have own my hyundai accent for 11 years, it's a 1995 and nothing has gone wrong with it yet besides the normal stuff, such as brakes, tires etc. This car never once broke down and its the best car on the road, this thing has 405,000km's on the original motor and still drives and runs like new. I will always have a hyundai!

1995 Hyundai Accent L 1.5 SOHC from Puerto Rico


Always fun to drive


The paint on the bumpers started to crack last year, and the outer door handles cracked too. I have had them replaced already.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable. Fuel economy is great and the air conditioner works really good in this hot weather.

I think it could use a stronger engine and better suspension.

Overall I am very satisfied with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2001

1995 Hyundai Accent GS 1.3 petrol from Malta


I see the Accent as almost the best performing car in its own class, also having a good hp/bhp ratio


It consumes a fairly good amount of fuel.

Certain models are not even imported here in Malta.

No diesel engines are available in Malta for the Hyundai Accent.

General Comments:

The performance of this car is well over that for other cars that I have driven in my life. It has good acceleration, comfortable seats, is spacious, and has very good handling.

However I feel that considering the price for petrol here in Malta, it is a bit expensive to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2001

1995 Hyundai Accent GL from North America


How do you spell crap? A.C.C.E.N.T


To sum it up in one word, EVERYTHING.

General Comments:

Well, all I can say it that it's OK to have other fast, high performance cars blow by you on the road, but when you have cyclists and rollerbladers easily cruising by, something is definitely wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th December, 2000

14th Dec 2000, 10:43

Why change a Honda Civic for an Accent anyway. It's obvious the difference in quality and reliability. Some things that appear cheap turn out to be expensive.

5th Dec 2004, 08:28

The Accent is a good car. Depends where and how you drive and also who drove it before you. I have an Accent that has been a taxi... in Costa Rica... And with minor investment it still runs good. A tune up every 6 months would do you good. In your situation an overhaul. If it is not too expensive for you. Well, the cars are like humans... what you give them that is what they give back. You spoil it and treat her right... It will be reliable. If you disrespect it and treat it like apiece of junk, it will eventually become one and die on you all the time.

1995 Hyundai Accent Coupe from North America


Excellent value for the money


I am especially concerned about the seat belts. I am wondering if other owners have similar problems to mine. The rear seat belts flip over and twist rendering them useless. They can be unwrapped and reset but they do this little trick again and again and.....

This may sound simple but you have to exit the automobile and reset them from the trunk. Not convenient on the expressway with a load of passengers. I have approached Hyundai Canada and they are very very silent. Like NO CALL BACK! EVER!

General Comments:

Rest of the auto is well manufactured. No major problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd December, 2000