1995 Hyundai Accent Sedan 4dr from North America


Would never buy another Hyundai


My Accent has been in and out of the shop every year since I owned it about 5 times a year. The dash had also cracked even though I use a dash cover, a window shade. At the dealers the mechanics never seem to be able to fix the problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2000

1995 Hyundai Accent LSi 1.3 from UK and Ireland


Unbeatable at the price


Boot lock failed.

Drivers visor wouldn't fold back.

General Comments:

I get 35-44mpg and great performance from the 1.3 12v engine. Always starts on the first turn of the key, the car is ultra reliable

Good sized boot and spacious inside if a little narrower inside than some rivals. Been officially booked at 104mph by the Police so it shows you can have good economy with performance. Well built, almost bulletproof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2000

1995 Hyundai Accent L 1.5L SOHC from North America


This car is pretty good for the money, but the overall lack of quality is disheartening


- Rear struts (100-115k).

- Driver's side window always comes out of tracks (can't open window all the way).

- Front disc rotors, TWICE!, 70k, and 145k... Even though there was no 'warning' (i.e. squealing brakes).

- AM radio doesn't work anymore.

- Rims needed to be replaced (100-145k).

- All 4 trailing arm bushings (100k).

- Front exhaust pipe (115k).

General Comments:

Don't feel bad about getting this car if it's all you can afford... If you have the extra money, get something better. Especially if you want to "drive hard"... Although the Accent handles pretty well (4-wheel independent suspension, front and rear stabilizer bars), the parts of the car can't handle it and will just break. So you should drive with extra caution.

The Hyundai engineered powerplant seems pretty reliable, although the fuel economy from the power-deficient engine is disappointing. Especially considering cars with variable valve timing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st August, 2000

29th Mar 2001, 06:23

I know what you mean, it will perform but you can sense the strain. Little things like the window winders have gone wrong on mine. But as for brakes, etc, what do you expect after 100k+ miles?

9th Dec 2005, 16:26

For a cheap, little, econobox to last 150k miles, that is great! Minor problems are...well, minor.

1995 Hyundai Accent Si Coupe 1.3i petrol from UK and Ireland


Water ingress into boot.

General Comments:

Great dealers.

Handling leaves a bit to be desired, but as a cheap and cheerful runabout, fits the bill perfectly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 1999

1995 Hyundai Accent 1.5 from North America


Everything! I'm talking engine, ball bearings, transmission several times, electrical!!

General Comments:

Car is very cheaply made - paint falls off hood less than 2 years after we got it, wiper arms fall off, I am truly disgusted. My father was right, Hyundai's are junk! My wife bought her Aspire 2 days after I bought my Accent and she has NO problems at all from her car. I knew I should have bought the Aspire!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 1999

13th Jan 2001, 21:10

I live in the great sunshine state of Florida, and have a 1995, Accent Gold, with 1.5 4 cylnder and it is one of the best cars I have ever owned! I enjoy it as much as the 1981 Honda Civic I had, true the car does not have a large motor, but if you drive it like a sensible adult as an econobox for work, you will be very satisfied!!

9th Dec 2005, 16:21

The Ford Aspire is actually a Kia product. Kia is owned by Hyundai, just to let you know.

22nd May 2006, 22:36

The Aspire was actually made by Kia before Hyundai had to bail them out, so that fact further discredits the Aspire. Kia was not nearly as good of a manufacturer before Hyundai took over.

29th Sep 2006, 10:34

I have to agree that Kia vehicles have improved in quality a great deal. Still not great cars though.

1995 Hyundai Accent GS 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland


Tracking on front wheel is difficult to get right.

Small things include;

a) Sun visors

b) Drivers window cable

General Comments:

Very pleased with reliability. I have over 112,000 miles up and it has never broken down. They need to get the tracking right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 1999