2009 Hyundai Accent from North America

Summary:

A nice little car, spoiled by a company that won't correct problems

Faults:

Toe in out from the factory, nothing bent. Cost me two tires and alignment mount and balance at 19k miles. I feel Hyundai or the dealer should have at least covered the labor.

Passenger airbag keeps deactivating with a passenger present. Dealer will not do anything till it throws a code up. Called Hyundai customer service, which is nothing but a call center, useless waste of time. In the meantime, I drive with family or a friend as passenger, wondering if they will have an airbag in this little car. Think I will try some government agency. Very serious.

Drivers visor would spring up, so it was either straight down or all up. Minor.

Shift boot developed a wear hole; dealer just got new one. Minor.

Fuel mileage not as good as expected. Was thinking it would be like a Corolla; about 5mpg less, seemed to improve slightly since alignment. Disappointing.

General Comments:

This car is fun to drive, handles well, good in snow, and has sufficient for what it is. Ride is what you would expect from a sporty driving car.

Interior made too cheaply. I know it is an economy car, but most anyone would probably pay a few hundred bucks more for better quality materials.

Great heat and AC.

Kind of a buzz box on the highway.

Getting into reverse is tricky at times.

If it not for the airbag issue, I would say it's a good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th November, 2010

7th Nov 2010, 10:28

I have had the same problem with the passenger airbag, but after some time, somehow it stopped doing it.

Also getting into reverse gear is tricky as you mention, but for around 13,000 dollars, I think it's a good car overall, and I was expecting better gas mileage too; I'm only getting 25mpg's max.

7th Nov 2010, 20:35

I will never be able to understand what money does to business people in order to drive them to neglect their customers. Try calling the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). Check your owners manual, I think by law they are supposed to provide that information.

9th Nov 2010, 09:19

For the reverse thing. Put it in first and just barely move the car, and then push the clutch back in, and it should go right into reverse. I've had this "problem" on many cars, as the reverse doesn't always sync up as smooth as the forward gears do.

8th Apr 2011, 09:16

Good tip, regarding getting it into reverse. I've found that it works. It's a fight at times otherwise.

Overall, after 21 months and 14,000 miles, I'm pleased with the car. No problems. Oil changes at or under 3k miles have been all that I've done to the car.

4th Aug 2013, 20:31

I had this problem with my parents' 1999 5 speed Civic. Looks like it's not just Hyundai. Thanks for the tip.

2009 Hyundai Accent Sport 1.4 gas from North America

Summary:

Fabulous fun car!

Faults:

The only irregular occurrence with the car thus far is the check engine light appearing twice. First was thought to be an air leak and was reset by the dealer. Second time several weeks later, the dealer said it was given new logic and the light hasn't reappeared since. The Accent was running fine during this issue.

General Comments:

Quality feels as good as past Civics I've owned.

Fit and finish is well done at this price level.

Being the Sport model, the ride is a bit choppy, but I knew that going into the deal.

On a smooth back road, driving this car is very rewarding; carving corners with vigor.

I do miss having a temp gauge; it's strangely absent on even the upper model.

The shift to second is clunky and reluctant, more so when cold. I'm hoping the accessory short shifter may cure this.

Quite reasonable low end torque, and pulls nicely when revved, keeping in perspective this is a small car.

Works well in winter in snow and ice, provided you use proper tires. Cheap brand studded snows worked great commuting through blizzards.

I've never driven a car that varied the mileage so much depending on your driving mode. Keep it revving and speeds higher, and expect 31 or 32 mpg. Run posted highway and you'll see maybe 36 or 37mpg. The sweet spot seems to be in the 80 to 95 kph range, as my commutes with some backroad cruising has netted 44mpg on several occasions.

Uniquely styled. A pleasure to look at in the driveway!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2010

21st Apr 2011, 12:50

Nicely stated review, and agree with you totally!

22nd Apr 2011, 12:14

And the new Accent coming out is the best yet, and is rated at 40mpg. Hyundai long ago surpassed Toyota, Honda and Nissan in quality, and backs it with the world's best warranty. Good work Hyundai!! If they were made by a U.S. company, I'd buy one in a heartbeat!!