1998 Hyundai Coupe Reviews

1998 Hyundai Coupe 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Very good car

Faults:

Car fails to start at times. Fuel pump not running. After a short time it will start.

General Comments:

The coupe is a nice looking car.

Drives well and is comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2009

1998 Hyundai Coupe SE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Really really good solid car, very reliable, would recommend!!!

Faults:

The clock has the intermittent Hyundai fault of flashing on and off.

Not faults as such, but have replaced brakes all round - apart from that have serviced it once since purchase, and its done me proud. Just passed MOT last week with no problems! Not bad for a 10 year old car!!

General Comments:

This has been a really really cracking car and can thoroughly recommend them to anyone wanting a cheap to buy and run sports car. It's a dream to drive, if a little tight on headroom (I am 6' 7" tall!!), but the legroom is excellent. Mine is an auto, and the car has been entirely fault-free since I bought it. No manifold problems (touch-wood), and no expensive clutch to have to replace either! Handling is excellent. The interior is the only "downside" on this car - but fine if you like plastic I suppose!!

The 2.0SE is the best all-round model to go for. The 1.6 is a sheep in wolfs clothing, even in SE guise. The 2.0SE has the toys and decent poke.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2008

1998 Hyundai Coupe from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

It is a heap of junk that keeps robbing my money

Faults:

My car revs up all the time. It is very embarrassing. I feel like a boy racer when I am stuck in traffic and everyone stares at me! I have taken it to three mechanics and the main Hyundai dealer, and no one can tell me what is wrong. I suspect it is the idle control valve or throttle position sensor.

I had to replace the clutch along with a long list of other things which cost me e1500.

I was driving along one day and my bloody sunroof blew off the car!! Lucky it did not kill someone. It wasn't even open! so I had to get a new one and have it resprayed.

I also seem to have the flashing clock syndrome that so many others are complaining about. Other than that it is great (not).

General Comments:

Nice looking.

Heap of scrap.

Weird things go wrong wit it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th March, 2008

7th Sep 2008, 08:09

Look at the ECU for the over reving!!! Just get a new one from the scrap yard, 10 quid!!! Easy next!

Sun roof??? Wow good story, I like it.

1998 Hyundai Coupe SFX 2.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance103000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Lemon car - Hyundai rip off

Faults:

Everything almost.

- Car in 'park' revs high

- Water pump leaks - continuous issues

- Interior is cheap stuff that don't last

- Easy to break into

- Paint fades quick

- Transmission/alternator are crap

- Lacking power & shuts down while driving with usually no indication

- Keep spending on repairs even if you maintain well & a good driver.

- Too squeaky, rattles a lot, always a worry

- Engine doesn't perform well.

General Comments:

Just look at another car to buy, another Hyundai lemon car this is. Not impressed, soon as you notice problems occur with this car, it means time to trade.

The problems never stop, & spending money on it doesn't either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th February, 2008

1998 Hyundai Coupe FX 2.0 from Czech Republic

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Pure individualism

Faults:

I've inherited one or two minor problems that seem to have little to do with the competence of the Hyundai guys.

The only thing has been the paint job. There are minor scratches, which upon close inspection, appear - otherwise one wouldn't notice.

General Comments:

Having been disappointed with my previous Renault Megane and Golf - believe you me - I was more than used to being beaten from the lights, treated with annoyance at the local garage, and not even attracting an occasional glance from an adrenaline-hungry teenager.

Then one day I saw a Hyundai coupe parked, gracefully posing by the pavement while waiting for its master. And then I saw the truth. Even now I cannot believe the looks this baby gets from the plebs at the bus-stop. I am hesitant - neigh - not worthy, of the power under these pedals - willing to waste far more costly pretenders to the value-for-money coupe.

The Porsche developed suspension deals with ease with the harsh cobbles of central Europe that play havoc with most suspension systems, while 2.0 litres gets the instant respect other car owners either crave, or spend most of the time filling up at the petrol station, to earn.

If anything goes wrong with it, I won't be all that bothered because it only cost 3500 pounds. Having said that, after scouring the WWW for 2 weeks, I could only find good things said about the reliability of the Hyundai Coupe.

The boot is larger than you'd expect - more than enough space for most purposes. The rear seats come down to whether you are a 'the glass is half full or half empty' kind of person. I for one am not planning on driving any arthritic old-age pensioners around in the back with my girlfriend in the front, the leg room is an irrelevance. Any more leg room in the back, and it would defeat the whole point of the Hyundai Coupe - style and dynamism for the kind of person who wants to stand out from the rest!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2005

2nd Mar 2007, 18:09

What leg room you on about? Safety features are awful.

This car is not amazing at all, too much credit given to this cheap car and its cheap quality and poor performance.

Any person who knows better about cars will give it a thumbs down.

People be more realistic, lots of people who want to buy this car are not getting the correct information.

Appearance ain't everything, I'm a mechanic and I would say find another car to buy. Save your money, even the Hyundai coupe SFX is another terrible model of the car. This car is like a biscuit, it crumbles. Waste of money.

4th Aug 2008, 22:15

I actually own one of these cars, the FX model.

Looks... i'll agree with, im a girl and get plenty of attention in this car.

Reliability comes down to the previous owner and how they treated it in the first place.

Regular services etc.

Crumble? as much as any other "new-plastic made-non Holden HQ" would.

This is a young girls answer to luxury.

The answer to the Toyota Celica.

But a lot cheaper.

The car is great and treats me well,.

5th Feb 2010, 07:08

I also own an FX Coupe, I have done so for 10 years now, I have driven it like I have stolen it, and all I can say is it handles like it should!!!

I test drove a lot of cars when I purchased this one. It came down to it felt like a sports car and drove like a quick go-cart. If you are looking for something that isn't speed limited to 180km, and at 200km handles like it does at 100km, then this is quite a nice car to drive. In fifth it just tips the red line at 225kms; not bad for a bottle of milk so some motorists say.

I will admit in the time I have owned my coupe it has been extremely reliable, and only replaced one gearbox, two CV joints, and a manifold (now mandrel bent extractors as they are actually cheaper than genuine manifold) along with regularly servicing and an XR8 muffler.

It's a very nice car!!! It won't win you Bathurst, but it will be fun to try ;)

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 12 reviews