1998 Hyundai Coupe Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1998 Hyundai Coupe SE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance164000 miles

Summary:

Good for first 5 years, poor for last year

Faults:

Throttle Position Switch, continuous problems have had this replaced every year almost on the dot.

Oxygen Sensor, had to have this replaced last month following poor emissions on last MOT.

Catalytic Converter, this was due to Throttle Position Switch and oxygen sensor problems which fuelled the Catalytic Converter and has burnt it out.

Exhaust Manifold. This is a known fault, which Hyundai are aware, a crack appears at the branch and you have to replace the Manifold with the Catalytic Converter as they are build as one.

Clock, the clock flashes on and off.

General Comments:

The car has been generally reliable.

I am still on my first Clutch, Suspension and Exhaust excluding the Manifold and Catalytic Converter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th September, 2004

26th Apr 2005, 07:38

Yep, had exactly the same on my 1998 coupe. Failed emmisions led to new exhaust manifold and new cat - very expensive.

I've also got the annoying clock on and off problem.

: (

14th Aug 2005, 06:49

I have had exactly the same problems with my Coupe. The exhaust manifold is cracked and needs replacing and I have a flashing clock. Still love the car though and have had plenty of fun in it.

1998 Hyundai Coupe SE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin rover 827 si

Summary:

High speed rush

Faults:

Nothing at the moment.

General Comments:

This car is too hot for words. If it was a women it would be Jennifer Aniston.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2004

1998 Hyundai Coupe F2 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

A brilliant bargain for a car that delivers

Faults:

So far the only fault I have had with the car is after having a new tyre fitted on the front passenger side, the tracking and steering went completely out of sync.

General Comments:

This car is the ultimate in comfort, both to drive and to travel in.

Its pickup speed is very fast and has no problems out of the starting block.

I will have no problems picking my next car, I want another!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th February, 2004

21st Nov 2007, 20:17

I fault Hyundai very much till the day I die, I had nothing, but troubles with their dealers & their damn cars.

My Hyundai Fx 98 model went straight to the tip, piece of junk. Spent so much for nothing.

1st Feb 2008, 15:59

I bought my Hyundai F2 Coupe Evolution a few months ago. At present I find it a comfortable and pleasant car to drive, but my REAR passengers' hate it! It is far too small, both legroom wise/height wise. So in effect (unless you have small kids) it is really only a two seater. As far as fuel goes, it is OK over a period of steady motoring - perhaps doing 300 miles or so, but it is rather heavy around town. Nice looking, stylish, & I love the 'cruise control' when it is working. It handles the road very well - a big plus in my book!Would I buy another? Don't know yet, as I'll give it another year. By the way, my model was first registered in 1997/8.

1998 Hyundai Coupe Base 1.6 petrol from Malta

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres

Summary:

Low cost and a low performance

Faults:

I had to change the brake calipers after 10000 miles.

The engine has been opened after 13000 miles cause it was doing a sound like if it was a diesel engine.

I changed even the clutch after 20000 miles.

General Comments:

It was a mistake for Hyundai creating the coupe with a 1.6 liter engine. It cannot be compared with other 1.6 liter engines like Honda etc...

The body is too heavy for a sports car.

Beautiful dashboard if some things are changed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th September, 2002

1998 Hyundai Coupe S.E 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance37500 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

The Versace of the car world

Faults:

Nothing other than needing 2 new tyres which is wear and tear.

General Comments:

Stunning car that you can't stop looking at unless Sarah Michelle Geller walks past that is.

Handling is second to none and it handle corners without any body roll. Somebody said to me it's like it glides round corners.

Not much room in the back, but who cares... if you need 4 seat for adults then buy a crappy Vauxhall Vectra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2002

1998 Hyundai Coupe SE 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2300 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carHyundai Coupe

Summary:

A low price good looking coupe

Faults:

No mechanical problems at all.

But PAINTWORK EXPENSIVE (AS ON ALL METALLIC PAINT), expensive to redo. Need to spend £400 on front bumper and one side bumper from a parking (not me) side scratch from a truck when parked (the car not the truck).

General Comments:

A good looking car, I prefer this model to the new 2000 coupe look.

SE came with leather upholstlery, CD and air con.

Good MPG.

Possible criticism, not built for tall people, although the aircon model has more height than sunroof models..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2000

1998 Hyundai Coupe FX1 2.0 petrol from Malta

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

It's only 5 months from new, I can't say. I hope that I won't have any.

General Comments:

My previous cars were Fords so this is my first Korean car. I find it value for money for what you get. In Malta, it is the cheapest new coupe that can be bought - it is cheaper than a Puma or a Tigra which are smaller, less roomy and have a smaller capacity engine. The car is also quite refined mechanically although not to the level of its Japanese counterparts. Also it gets noticed in traffic for its aerodynamic design (I like to compare its shape to an RX7). Although it's a coupe, it is quite roomy in the back seat.

Well, I like it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 1999

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 12 reviews