1999 Hyundai Elantra Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1999 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles

Summary:

Very good bargain

Faults:

The bolt holding the battery in place was completely eroded.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable (if you are a petite person).

It handles very well and is beneficial in larger cities, such as New York, where it is very difficult to find a parking space.

The car handles very well and is good for a new driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2003

11th Apr 2003, 00:51

I'm an owner of an Elantra, I've had nothing but problems with the car. Hopefully it starts tomorrow morning. Do not know what is wrong with the car.

1999 Hyundai Elantra Wagon 2.0 four cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 four cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carToyota 4x4

Summary:

... but she has a great personality

Faults:

The only problem I have had with this car was an incorrectly installed battery, which resulted in a short that fried the alternator -- but I installed the battery, so it's my own fault.

I wish the rear suspension were a little stiffer in order to handle heavier cargo. Two or three boxes of books will bottom out the rear springs and seriously affect the handling.

The cup holders are inadequate, and few.

You cannot install an after-market stereo without spending a thousand dollars to remove and replace the entire dashboard, unhooking the air-conditioning in the process.

General Comments:

This is a boring, stupid-looking car.

It is, however, incredibly reliable.

It is also very comfortable for me, a short driver.

It's extremely economical.

It handles well, and has plenty of pep if it's empty. Loaded with passengers or cargo, it becomes very sluggish at freeway speeds.

I have put a ton of miles on this car in a short time, and had very few problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2002

1999 Hyundai Elantra Station Wagon 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance58900 miles
Previous carSuzuki Sidekick

Summary:

A very economical, well rounded car

Faults:

The vehicle had only one recall which consisted of a faulty seat belt mechanism. The paint on the engine hood is wearing thin with a slight hint of primer showing through and the clear-coat finish on the rear bumper and wheel covers is flaking and peeling.

General Comments:

I drove this car 45,000 miles in two years going to grad school on weekends in central Texas.

It was my office, library, transportation and bedroom for that time and I'm keeping this car for the long haul.

With the fold-down rear seats, it is just big enough to sleep in with the assistance of an air mattress.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2002

1999 Hyundai Elantra from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

The pits!

Faults:

Both wheel bearing had to be replaced. It took forever for the dealership to fix it and they did not provide a loaner of course.

Sensors broke. Had to be replaced twice.

I have gone through three batteries in three years, in addition to a new alternator. The latest alternator/battery combination problem left me stranded on a rural road with two small children in the car in the middle of winter.

Complete brake overhaul. The mechanic (not a Hyundai dealership) said it appeared that the braking system was almost seized which is very unusual in a newer car.

Premature tire wear. I had to replace the tires after the first year and only put 15,000 km's on them.

Very poor steering.

As of today yet another grinding noise coming out of the front right hand side of the tire. (yet another bearing perhaps)

General Comments:

Worst car I have ever had in my life. The service of Hyundai is terrible as well. They really could care less about the safety of the passengers of the car, and their customer service is the pits as well.

I am honestly afraid to drive it with my children in it.

I will never buy another one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2002

29th Oct 2002, 11:57

I was stranded on a deserted road for 5 hours, due to alternator/battery problem. I was so panicked with anxiety, I thought my life was over. Can't anyone help us from the company, if we take all our comments in together?

19th Jan 2004, 12:34

I totally agree. Although I haven't been stranded anywhere (I did have a flat tire two months after I bought the car, but fortunately Florida provides free roadside assistance), I have sat with my husband and complained about the sounds coming from the front window which sound like the window is about to fall out. When I took it to the dealership, they told me they heard nothing. Which is pretty incredible since I hear it every single day. Along with that, there is a rattling noise in the engine when it is cold outside. Plus there is another rattling noise in the tire. None of which seemed to happen when the dealership looked at it. Now, after less than five months, the dealership expects me to come in and get the "30000" mile tuneup for almost $300. If you ask me, I would never buy this kind of car again. I've also had to replace four tires since I've had the car less than 5 months.

3rd Mar 2007, 16:55

I bought my 1999 Elantra off of the showroom floor. The dealership had to replace my transmission twice... but I had to fight and make a scene in the showroom to get the owner to make his mechanics help me... this was after they had my car for over FOUR weeks! I had to pay for my rentals that entire time and I was a college student. The owner decided that he was very generous when paying me 1/2 back for my rental cars. From that day on, they gave me a dealer car until my car was fixed. My tranmission has been messing up again... as soon as my warranty expired, but I just deal with it. It slips all the time... and the car hesitates when I try to accelerate. Too many other things to mention have gone wrong. I'll never buy an other Hyundai product again. both the car and the Hyundai dealerships are terrible!!!

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 23 reviews