2001 Hyundai Elantra GLS from North America - Comments

4th Mar 2009, 10:46

I got a 2002 Elantra GT... Bought it used in 2004...

It had some warranty left... but I NEVER took it to a dealership and never will...

I like my little garage... They don't cost much, they don't BS me and they do the work..

Car has not cost me much and NEVER left me stranded.

Now the car has a lot of little problems...

But still runs safe...

Most of it is suspension... but I live in Montreal and I used low profile tires for 2 years...

I have 160 000km, the engine is running flawlessly.

Power windows are no longer all that powerful but work.

The 2002 Elantra is what the 1992-95 Civic should have become. :P.

12th Mar 2009, 20:23

I keep having to replace headlights with this car? What's the problem???

20th Apr 2009, 12:14

I have a 2002 Hyundai Elantra.

Two weeks after driving the car off the lot brand new, I noticed the paint was chipping and peeling from the hood and roof. Took it back in for a re-paint.

We constantly are replacing headlights.

The dashboard clock has stopped working.

The brake lights are on all the time, no one can figure out why.

Exhaust manifold needed replaced during last years inspection, paid for it, then later found out there was bulletin for this exact problem, so we had to fight to get the cost for repairs back.

This morning we just found out that the O2 sensor has gone bad.

I despise my Hyundai.

23rd Apr 2009, 12:37

To the individual who posted on 2nd Jan 2009, 10:25:

I can't speak with reference to the O2 sensors, but what you are describing sounds like it may have something to do with faulty injectors and/or engine compression.

###

To the individual who thinks I work for Toyota:

No, I do not and if I did, would I be driving a Hyundai? Like many people in the United States, however, I am surrounded by people who own Honda and Toyota vehicles. Why? Because it is generally assumed that they are among the most reliable makes. Flawless and perfect? No. Better than many? Yes. If that were not a commonplace perception, a lot more Americans would be buying models built GM, Chrysler, etc.

20th May 2009, 21:39

Just bought my 2001 Elantra for 1000 bucks, the owner sold this car with the 4 cyl code. Since I have experience with cars I purchased the car. Although the car had a check engine light and ran rough -- I had assumed for the price, how bad could it be.

Well replacing the right part at 70 bucks -- brought this car back to life. I will change the oil, brakes, and 2 tires.. What a deal -- the car has 160K and runs like new.

I would recommend this car...

15th Aug 2009, 22:56

I bought my 01 Elantra used back in 07. Since then I've come across MANY problems.

My first was the 02 sensor, which made my car fail inspection. Then the control arm broke, which could have been a very very serious accident if someone was behind me when it broke.

I recently just found out that there's a recall on the control arm. I had an axle break also.

A lot of the interior lights have gone out, for example the P D N R.. All those lights don't light up anymore.

For whatever reason, when it's cold outside my car does not let me unlock any doors in my car no matter how much I try to pull back the lock to unlock it. It only unlocks after I turn the headlights on.

Now I have problems it overheating.

It's not the same as when I first got it, and it gets very frustrating.

16th Aug 2009, 11:30

I bought a used '07 Elantra GLS that had 11,000 miles on it. Apparently it had been a lease that somebody didn't like. I can't imagine why, I love it! I have a 100 mile daily commute and this is the perfect car for it. It's been very dependable (I now have over 52,000 miles on it due to my commuting) and I haven't had a single problem with it. It has a manual transmission, and I taught my son how to drive a manual in it, and it still runs just fine. I regularly get 40 MPG highway (I don't know what I get in city mileage because only about 5% of all my miles are around town, it's mostly used for highway.) I have had zero problems with it, mind you, I do have it regularly serviced, oil changes every 3,000 miles, air filters every 25,000 miles, and timing belts every 60,000 (haven't gotten to that point yet but intend to replace the timing belt at that time.) I love this car and would recommend it to anybody looking for a dependable, fuel efficient vehicle.

20th Aug 2009, 11:17

Hyundai Elantra GLS 2002, and aside from the driver's side door lock problem, it has been great for me. It has 60K miles on it. I drive it hard, rarely change oil and pretty much abuse it. No problems. Mine's a standard shift.

13th Nov 2009, 17:15

2001 Hyundai Elantra:

1. At least 10 headlight bulb changes (finally did it myself and made it work by NOT touching the glass with my fingers as the tech was probably doing)

2. On my third set of tires at 80k miles, this car eats 'em

3. Five broken wheelstuds

4. Busted radiator

5. Bad thermostat

6. Two busted front struts

7. Check engine light on for approx. 60000 miles, dealership says gas vapor sensor acting up, but cannot find any leak, then next time tells me gas cap, and oh yeah nothing is covered under warranty I'm told.

Radio only works if a CD is present, numerous other small issues, but I'm stopping cuz I'm getting angry. NO, I WILL NOT BUY ANOTHER ONE.

17th Feb 2010, 15:24

I bought this 2001 Elantra brand new. Since I love to repair my car by myself, I normally don't bring it to the dealer for a simple repair. There are like 3 check engine light incidents that I remember about this car. All 3 are about the sensors. I called the dealer about it and asked if this is covered by the warranty, the dealer said NO. It will cost me 1 hour repair job plus the sensor. I decided to fix it by myself and save a lot of money.

The wiring connector for the airbag on the driver's side has been replaced when they have a recall. Unfortunately, they never get it fixed. Every time you move your driver's seat, the airbag connector got loosened. To fixed this, all I have to do is to grab the connector under the seat and tighten them together.

The driver's side windows is now malfunctioning. The window is very slow to rise, but quick to go down. I have been told that I need to replace the window motor. I already bought the motor from ebay for $65 plus shipping. I will be working on it this spring.

There was one time that the radiator is leaking because of a crack on top of the radiator. The top of radiator is made of plastic. And for some reason, this plastic top cracked, so I have to replace it.

There was also a time that a very loud screeching noise was coming out from the engine compartment. When I open the hood, the noise is coming from the steering pump. So, I went to Pepboys to buy a recon pump, and install it myself.

The last part of this car that I am having a problem with is the brake rotor. The brake rotor needs to be replaced, but I cannot remove it. There are only 2 screws holding the rotor, but even without the screws, the rotor seems to be welded permanently to the axle. I tried to use a sledgehammer and whack it really hard, but the rotor never bulged out. I did a lot of Internet browsing, but I did not find any new way to remove it.

I love this car. It had 104,000 miles on it already. But this car is not perfect. You have to admit that no matter what car you drive, problems will come to you, no matter if you like it or not.