1992 Hyundai Excel LX from North America

Summary:

Problems after problems

Faults:

At 165 000, the starter died. 150$ Since this time, I have a problem with it : it don't always start!

During the winter, I had to changed the battery and the alternator. 500$

3 Months after, it was the muffler. 260$

Now, I have to change the brake and I got problems again with my new alternator.

The motor really drinks oil!

When I start the car, it smells very bad and the motors makes weirds noises.

And so more littles things who drives me crazy!

General Comments:

The baddest car in this world!

The only two positives points that I found, are the comfortability of the seats and the gas consummation. I easily make 200km when the tank is "full"

I paid this Hyundai 500$, put more than 700$ on it, and only after one year, I'm not able to sell it more than...600$ or 700$!

I lost time and money for nothing!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th July, 2004

8th Feb 2006, 10:58

Forgive me for being harsh. But, you bought an 11 year old car, with nearly 100,000 miles on it, for $700 Canadian (approx $500 US at the time) and you're complaining about repairs?

21st Sep 2009, 00:43

I'm sorry, but the baddest car in the world awards are out, and the Hyundai doesn't place very high. How about these cars: Ford Taurus (transmission repairs are deadly), Chevrolet Citation (some insane people still own these, and still have problems that should have been fixed by the recalls that came out in 1982), Volkswagen Vanagon (who turned off the lights?), Austin Allegro (this car is a pro at bland and unreliable. The Hyundai is a wannabe.), the Yugo GV (Engineered by Fiat in the 1960s, built with 1970s quality, with reliability that made bicycles look great). The list goes on, but even a Ford Mustang of the time is a less-pleasant car than the Hyundai now, especially if you give it a four cylinder.

19th Apr 2010, 18:19

Seriously? It's a $500 car. That usually means it's going to suck and need loads of repairs, no matter what kind of car it is.

1992 Hyundai Excel cxl 1.5 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Best kept secret in sub compacts

Faults:

Camshaft seal blew out at 265000km leaving a large oil slick behind me.

Front lower ball joints and right outer tie rod shot at 272000 km.

Axle seals needed at 280000 km.

Clutch slave cylinder went bad at 281000 km.

Washer tank cracked. Over anxious to get into Tim Hortons!! Hit raised entranceway too hard!

Engine smokes real bad. Assured by dealer that valve seals are all that is needed.

General Comments:

For the price these car unbeatable. Very few problems, mostly minor or self inflicted. Seats are comfortable for a small car. Suspension is quite soft and has a floaty ride. Dealer network is very small though so it is an hours drive each way to the closest one. Some trim pieces are fragile and break off easily, but for the price of admission, who cares!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2002

1992 Hyundai Excel 1.5 from Guatemala

Summary:

Got it for $1625 with minor bumps and with a little investment it's working great and looking better

Faults:

Had to replace the water pump this year

Had to adjust the transmission, 3rd. gear was making funny noises.

Had to give maintenance to the starter.

General Comments:

This car almost runs with water. It has better gas mileage than my previous car (an 86 Chevrolet Sprint with a 1000cc engine).

Third car I owned, best one yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2001

1992 Hyundai Excel GL from North America

Summary:

This car is a barrel of lemons

Faults:

The transmission went on it about 3 years ago. Then not even 1 year later, the engine seized up and we had to replace that. Between those two episodes we put out over $3,500. Now the transmission is going again. We do not have the money to fix it.

The front end shakes when you get up to sixty.

The hydraulics went on the hatchback and we have to use a stick to keep it open.

General Comments:

We like the car, but we don't like the fact that it is a barrel of lemons.

It is great on gas and mileage.

For the most part it is comfortable.

Until this year the air conditioner worked great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th August, 2001

2nd Nov 2001, 17:21

Just bought a used 92' here in Guatemala and it's been one of my best cars ever.

Super great on mileage!!!