1994 Hyundai Excel CX 4-Cylinder from North America


Cheap economy car


When I bought the car (131000km), I found the gas gage didn't work. I got a free replacement and labor.

135000- The rotors are warped causing the car to shimmy when in reverse and when I brake.

139000km - Front passenger headlight wiring loose causeing frequent adjustments.

General Comments:

Wonderful car.

Cheap on gas, $31 of gas at.965 per liter equals 389km or two weeks of city driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2004

1994 Hyundai Excel from North America


It's a reliable, economical car


The latest thing that has gone wrong with the car is: The struts went out, the ball joint went out (due to wear and tear), side lamp of my headlight broke off, and the back window latch has broken.

General Comments:

The seats are uncomfortable, however it is really low maintenance, does excellent on gas mileage, dash board is in perfect condition (not cracked), easy to keep maintained. The paint job is still perfect, except the top of the car looks oxidized, but with a wax job its like a new penny. It handles well when your going 65mph or lower. It's a perfect car for students in college or high school.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th October, 2003

1994 Hyundai Excel GLS 1.5 OHC from Romania


It's an acceptable car


I had a few problems with the electric part and a I had to change a piece.

I had to paint a few points of rust.

General Comments:

I like the car because it's cheap to run. the pieces are nor so cheap in Romania.

The seats are not comfortable for long distances.

I like the audio system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2003

1994 Hyundai Excel from North America


Good performance


The front drivers seat is ripped.

The starter needed to be replaced.

Oil leaked.

Car leaks water (when it rains) from the windshield.

General Comments:

My Excel was my first car. My dad bought it for me for $1,700. I must say, I really like this car. It is comfortable, is is small, and takes me where I want to go. I've heard Hyundai's have had cheap reputations, but my Excel has taken me up mountains, through the snow, etc. without really any problems.

This is a good first car to learn on. I plan on keeping this car until high school ends.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2003

1994 Hyundai Excel Hatchback 1.6L from North America


Peppy, super reliable economy car that goes forever.


A rocker arm nut came loose at 132,500 miles. 15 minutes total fix time.

Timing belt broke at 119,144 miles, it should have been changed at 60,000 miles.

Tie rod ends and ball joints need replacing at 200,000 miles.

Motor mounts needed changing at 200,000 miles.

Back window got small leak at 90,000 miles. Fixed with clear window silicone caulk.

General Comments:

This has to be one of the most reliable, efficient cars ever built.

It is VERY quick away from the stop light.

After treating the engine with Teflon, it is getting an average of 47 miles per gallon on the highway. $32 of gas from Virginia Beach, VA to New Orleans, LA; 1070 miles.

The car has no power steering, but feels like it does; the steering is very light.

No air conditioning, no power anything, but for $6,200 new, it was a great bargain and I have loved owning and driving this super reliable car.

Change the oil every 3,000 to 4,000 and the car will drive forever.

Even at over 200,000 miles, the compression of all 4 cyllanders is still almost as good as the day I bought the car new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2003

1994 Hyundai Excel from North America


As long as you keep up with the car, the car will keep up with you.


I had to replace the brake pads at 98,000 miles.

I had to recharge the air conditioner at 95,000 miles.

I had to replace the starter at 88,000 miles.

I had to replace the thing that holds the oil at 77,000 miles.

I had to also replace the seat belt because my dog chewed through it, the windshield because a rock hit it and also the rim because it had a crack in it. But these last three things have nothing to do with the engine.

General Comments:

The car is reliable and gets you from point A to point B.

The car excels quite quickly, I suppose that why it is called an "Excel".

The seats are comfortable and is quite roomy. The backseats can be pulled down and the trunk gives plenty of space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2002

31st Dec 2002, 06:42

Make sure to change your Timing belt sometime (preventative maintenance). My '93 Excel's timing belt went bad at 167,000 miles and caused damage to my engine; it hasn't run the same since ; (...supposedly this is common with these cars, but yours doesn't have that many miles on it so maybe get it checked in awhile? Just a suggestion.

22nd Feb 2003, 01:17

Hi there,

I got a 1994 Excel since 1998 purchase at 153600 miles and now I have 448000 miles!!! Really, and don't work on it... just changes suspension front and back, timing belt 1 ball joint, 1 boot, both bearing at the rear that's it.

17th Mar 2004, 23:49

I have a 93 Hyundia Excel and am quite happy with it!

I abuse the hell out of my car and it just keeps taking it. with the exception of the trnsmission! I have had to replace it several times. my mistake was buying used and reconditioned trannys! don't buy used and reconditioned trannys for this car. have them rebuilt and spend the extra for replacing all seals and barrings!if you see one of these cars for sale in good shape snatch it up they are hard to find!

Again I'm very very happy with my little blue car!!