1995 Hyundai Lantra Reviews

1995 Hyundai Lantra GLSi 16v 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good family motor

Faults:

Clutch failed due to a worn master cylinder - replaced under warranty.

No other problems, the car was only off the road for 2 days.

General Comments:

An all round acceptable, cheap to run and buy, family sized motor.

Loved it (at the time)

Massive improvement on the Escort I had beforehand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2004

1995 Hyundai Lantra 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres

Summary:

Efficient and a dream to drive

Faults:

The starter motor needed fixing at about 151 000km.

A hole in the exhaust at 160 000km.

Interior light gone at 150 000km.

The radio is broken; it turns itself up loudly for no reason and you can't turn it down.

The radio also turns itself off if you press the back of it.

General Comments:

It is an economical car, runs well.

Very smooth gear change.

Steering is wonderful, smooth and easy.

Air conditioning is like magic.

Very roomy and spacious in both the front and back seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2003

13th Apr 2004, 06:03

I currently own the car, just clocking over to 144000kms, had no huge problems. Diff Blew up and gear box fractured due to miss treatment, but very easy to obtain another gearbox and fix. Motor has rattle, but a mechanic thinks this would be the tappets. Very good car on fuel getting 550kms to a full tank. One thing missing with the car is air conditioning.

16th Apr 2005, 16:48

I have just purchased a '97 Lantra and am suitably impressed with it, however I too have discovered a slight rattling of the tappets at mid to high revs. A new oil filter and of course oil helped, but didn't eliminate this problem. The only other problem is with the driver's electric window panel, but I'm told it's easily fixed.

4th Apr 2011, 01:54

Solely because of mistreatment.

1995 Hyundai Lantra GLS 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance51250 miles
Previous carRenault 5

Summary:

Mechanically Unreliable

Faults:

Alternator failed. Warranty replaced.

Rear fog light had water in. Dealer drilled a hole to release water! Refused to replaced component.

Wiper arm rusty.

Clutch failed at 49.000 miles. Replaced with re-conditioned at a cost of £700 myself.

General Comments:

When I first picked the car up from the dealer it was like driving a dream car. That dream soon disappeared.

Two weeks after I purchased the Lantra, the dealer closed down. I had to travel 30 miles to find another.

It pulled away quite well, but take it on a motorway and it was very sluggish. Anything over 70mph and it whined and whistled.

The brakes were very bad. Hard braking was a nightmare. With no ABS, it flew all over the place.

The comfort level was not too bad. Air conditioning was not on my model, and I really missed it during hot weather.

However, it never failed to start first time through the 40 odd thousand miles I owned it, but I would not buy another Hyundai. It felt cheap.

It was written off by a truck rear end collision. Actaully the Lantra may not look like it, but it is a very strong car. The whole back end was in the rear cabin, but I never sustained a scratch. The truck did me a favour actually. That was the end of my Lantra. Unfortunately I had just spent £700 on a new clutch. Oh well!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th August, 2003

1995 Hyundai Lantra from Trinidad and Tobago

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres

Summary:

Good car

Faults:

The clutch broke within a year. I was a novice, just learned how to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd July, 2002

1995 Hyundai Lantra GLSi 16v 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carNissan Sunny

Summary:

Nice image belies poorly designed road car

Faults:

Nothing except one day it wouldn't start, but fired up later. No problems before or since.

General Comments:

This is the very last of the 'old shape' finished in summer 95 (UK) with the Mitsubishi 16v engine.

It looks quite stylish externally in profile, especially in silver, but the car disappoints after that.

Seats are nice, plenty of room for large drivers, cabin is quite simple but with electrics (windows, s/r), but it's all quite cheap.

Engine is perky, and quite powerful at 111bhp for a 1.6. No problem with power, but it gets intrusive with revs.

Suspension/handling poor. Easily upset, not very good on bumps and twitchy. Sails (positively glides even!) comfortably on good smooth roads.

Notchy gearbox.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

1995 Hyundai Lantra GLXi 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Excellent but difficult to resell

Faults:

History of noisy rear brake shoes, apparently due to brake dust, not a safety issue, just irritating.

Would have got 100% for reliability except for an unresolved problem a few months ago when the battery went flat in prolonged traffic jams, dealer cannot find the fault, cutting out radio and fans etc during prolonged traffic jams provides a temporary solution.

General Comments:

Mitsubishi 16v engine in automatic guise is a bit gutless and fuel consumption could be better, average about 27 mpg day to day, 30 mpg on long journeys. The autobox is the smoothest that I have ever experienced, gearchanges are almost undetectable. Ford and GM please take note that it can be done.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews