2002 Hyundai Santa Fe Reviews - Page 6 of 7

2002 Hyundai Santa Fe LX from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles

Summary:

Extremely reliable SUV

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

I have never been more pleased with a car's reliability and options included at point of sale.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2003

16th Feb 2005, 15:25

Totally the opposite mine being a 52 plate turbo diesel.

Three clutches hole back row of leather seats due to the seat catch broken fuel gauge all over the place.

Would I by another one not on your nelly.

Yours

Mr Waters...

2002 Hyundai Santa Fe LX from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

A disappointment

Faults:

At 15,000 miles, I took the car in for the 15K service. Afterwards, the car did not run well. I took it back and was told all was well. Finally after 500 miles, I thought the brakes were bad. I took it in and found that it needed a new transmission - this at 15, 500 miles. It probably needed a new transmission at the 15K checkup, but nothing was said. Nothing was said two days later. After the new transmission was put in, the car seems to rev up between 35 and 45 mph. I took it in and the dealership said I need to run the car 1,000 miles. I do not have great feelings. Has anyone else had similar problems?

General Comments:

I feel that the dealerships in northern Virginia are not customer friendly. I have been disappointed with the lack of candor and the inability to schedule an appointment. In northern Virginia, you need to come and leave the car or wait. Not everybody has a situation that easily fits into this. Honda and Toyota dealerships here offer specific appointment times. Hyundai does not.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2003

29th Feb 2004, 00:41

Oh go with a domestic and not a company that is only 20 years old and is famous for rusty, terrible underpowered junk.

1st Apr 2004, 11:02

Yeah, and Chevy pick-ups don't get recalled, and Ford doesn't have problems with head gaskets or coil springs, and GM doesn't have exploding gas tanks...

Problems happen (sometimes weird ones) with all vehicles. I just got rid of a Ford minivan that was in 6 times for the same problem. They never did find it...

Be thankful your warranty is a good one!

9th Jun 2004, 21:38

In regard to the first comment, I have had some horrible luck with domestic (U.S.) cars, and I've had great luck with some as well. It will be a long time before I buy another GM, but I'd buy another Chrysler again in a second. My dad has a 2003 Santa Fe and has had zero problems to date. With the comment you made above, I doubt you've ever even driven a Hyundai, let alone owned one.

2002 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS 2.7 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

Best bang for your buck!

Faults:

Fracture in the transmission.

General Comments:

This has been a wonderful family SUV for us.

It's been reliable and with simple modifications to the intake and exhaust, it's been exceptionally speedy.

The 2.7 liter 24-valve V6 has been silky smooth and the manumatic transmission has been great for holding the gears along coast highway one.

The suspension exhibits a bit more body roll than what I would like, however the Santa Fe will fool you; it has more grip than you think.

It's 4x4 capabilities are wonderful on road in icy conditions and muddy situations.

It's not a serious off roadster due to its car chassis and suspension setup.

Interior is really nice. There is adequate space for all our family gear.

Great on long trips once you get used to the seats.

High ride height gives you a great view of the road. Decent ground clearance and low load height is great all around.

Only 1 cubic foot smaller than the more expensive Ford Escape/Mazda Tribute.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2003

21st Jun 2008, 15:52

Any vehicle which exhibits transmission failure by 27K is far away from reliable.

2002 Hyundai Santa Fe LX V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carMercury Mystique

Summary:

A comfortable ride with SUV capabilities

Faults:

During extremely cold weather, the front left speaker would crackle.

General Comments:

I love my Santa Fe.

It has the most comfortable drive. It has a smooth ride and excellent control unlike some sport utilities that drive like a truck.

It looks great and draws attention. I have had numerous strangers come up and ask me about it. I even came out of the store one day and found a person walking around the car checking it out. He was embarrassed when he heard me unlock the doors from a few feet away!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2003

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 25 reviews