2005 Hyundai Santa Fe Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2005 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS 2.7 awd from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 awd Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Santa Fe

Summary:

Performs well and delivers the goods

Faults:

No troubles so far.

General Comments:

This is a fun vehicle to drive.

More peppy than CRV and quieter ride and more feature packed and better warranty.

Leather seats are harder than expected and could use a better grade of leather.

No choice of leather colour, grey is your colour, but better than black.

Gas mileage is nice on highway, but not to good in city (awd always on).

Styling is dated, but not bad after you get used to it.

Nice little truck, people need to get over the 1984 Hyundai reputation. It's a new ball game.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2005

2005 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS 3.4 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles

Summary:

Acceleration system is a safety concern

Faults:

The drive by wire acceleration system is a safety issue.

General Comments:

The drive by wire acceleration system is very difficult to adjust to, and is a safety issue especially if not primary driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th July, 2005

23rd Mar 2008, 14:13

Oh whatever, drive-by-wire is not THAT different. A bigger safety concern would be if your BRAKES were not working. I don't think that having to adjust to a new car is a particularly dangerous thing. Also, if you do not like how it drives then you should not have bought it.

3rd Sep 2011, 15:05

How can someone verbally BASH not only a car, but the whole company after hitting a horse (you should be a better driver). And the only damage is to your mirror and the clock stops operating? What? Really?! Get a watch. I know cars that would not run after striking a large animal. You didn't even mention front or side damage to the vehicle. As far as you not fitting into the car, what did you do - purchase this on the internet? Most people take vehicles for test drives and have the ingenious moment of realizing that they really are not comfortable and decide not to follow through with the purchase.

Maybe you are angry and had to vent your frustrations of paying for a vehicle before you actually tried it? Just a thought.

2005 Hyundai Santa Fe V6 GL AWD 2.7L V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired26 kilometres
Most recent distance2900 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Good so far

Faults:

Nothing yet I don't think. I've only had the car for less than 2900 Km (just over 2000 Miles!).

That said, I get a weird vibration when my vehicle gets up to 15 km/h. Probably something to do with an diagnostic test.

General Comments:

My transition from a 2000 Grand Am GT to a 2005 Hyundai Santa Fe is the reflection from a single guy to a family man. That said, the transition from a "Sports-like Car" to "Family Vehicle" was relatively painless when going to a Santa Fe.

My review is very much a comparison between what I know best.. GM and the new Hyundai Santa Fe.

My marks for the vehicle overall are still high, but I thought I would give a balanced comparison.

Pros:

-Handling

-Cost

-Lots of features for the money.

Cons:

-Not really a rocket on the road.

-But getting around 19 MPG

-Miss some of the basic features from my GM

-Terrible choice in seat color (too light!)

Pros:

The 4WD GL handles VERY, VERY well. I have driven through a few snow storms already and the car held the road beautifully. The overall feeling is solid. In Canada the idea of getting a 4WD anything for less than 30,000 Canadian just doesn't seem possible. The Santa Fe IS the cheapest 4WD you can get and it drives well. I was really impressed to find that the Santa Fe had finally added ABS and Traction Control (TC) to models other than the GLS. Both ABS and TC are features I wanted to get in my new vehicle. Also included is a car alarm system. Which isn't spectacular, but it is great to see it included at no extra cost. Lastly, I enjoy the MP3 quite a bit. The truth is, with the MP3 player I see no benefit to having a multidisk player now. The MP3 player can play more music AND displays the song title.

Cons:

I have to start with seat color. It is far too light for a seat that you sit in everyday. It shows the dirt far too easily. Otherwise the seats are nice.

Going from a Grand Am GT was noticable. The Santa Fe weights a lot more than the Grand Am and you can feel it. That said, I don't miss the "torque steer" I use to get from my Grand Am.

Now about the basic features. I just for the life of me cannot understand why they are not included. Features like:

Doors automatically lock when you put the car in gear.

Headlights come on automatically at dark.

Doors unlock when you turn the car off.

Not all the buttons are lit up at night (the Power Window lockout and Cruise control buttons).

I still miss these features and they do not add much to the cost of the vehicle. Perhaps we will see these features in years to come.

Lastly, I will see in time, but the fuel economy for all highway driving is not as good as stated. I am getting only around 19 MPG. Time will tell if this number gets higher as the engine gets broken in.

Overall, at over 2000 Miles (2900 Km) I am still happy with my Santa Fe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2005

19th Apr 2006, 12:21

***16 Month UPDATE***

Well I have now had the car for over 16 months and have driven over 50,000 Km. I am still happy so far, despite a few minor problems along the way.

I have had to have the Dealer replace:

-The car radio (it stopped reading CD's)

-The Fan speed switch (which coincidently went right after they replaced the radio, I suspect it may be related to the taking the dash apart)

-The Cruise control switch

-The plastic back of the driver seat.

The list is a bit scary, but at the same time none of the problems have affected my ability to drive to work.

The Santa Fe really earned it's keep when a driver decided to drive into the back of me on a Highway. I was doing the speed limit at the time. I guess she was travelling faster than that. I didn't slow down or anything.

Nevertheless, we did great, the Santa Fe didn't lose control at all. And the damage to my vehicle was minimal compared to that of the car that drove into me.

Lastly, Fuel Economy. It isn't great at all.

I still, for the most part, average 20 MPG. If I just changed my oil, got the air tire pressure at exactly 30 PSI, and I drive a long distance at exactly the speed limit, without stopping at all. I can crank out the stated 27 MPG. But most of the time I don't get that kind of fuel economy.

Most vehicles I have owned were more forgiving when it came to achieving the stated MPG.

I guess the bottom line is, if you want good fuel economy don't buy a SUV, even a small one (but we already knew that right?)

2005 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS AWD 3.5L V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1160 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Good truck and performance for less money

Faults:

Roof rack mounting rubber on the left rear was pinched during assembly, making it look messy. (Fixed by dealer at break-in service.)

Rear wiper did not make full contact with the glass when it swept past vertical. (Fixed by dealer at break-in service.)

General Comments:

On the advice of a few magazine and internet reviews, I opted for the larger of the 2 available V-6 engines (2.7L is the smaller) for better performance. Vehicle is nearly 4,000 pounds curb weight, which drags the fuel mileage down. Haven't seen the upper range of the mileage figure because most of the driving has been local, not highway.

Overall, the fit and finish seems quite good. Sound system is pretty good for a stock system, and there's a lot of space for rear passengers thanks to the semi-reclining rear seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th December, 2004

5th Aug 2008, 19:55

Date; 08/05/2008

Purchased a GLS AWD today. 56k mls, with all but the sun roof and power driver's seat. $10K. Unbeatable vehicle at an OHMYGOD! price. Been using these pages to research... TY.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews