1994 Hyundai Scoupe Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1994 Hyundai Scoupe mvi 1.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

A decent first sports car for the young

Faults:

Starting problems (unresolved) after driving left for 20 minutes or so won't start again.

Handbrake stuck on for a few miles.

Boot lid won't stay up.

General Comments:

Fairly quick car pulls well.

Good looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2004

3rd Sep 2004, 04:21

Hi.

Can you please tell me how or if the problem of non-starter has been solved. I have the same problem.

Thank you.

4th Apr 2005, 02:45

I had the starting problem with my car (not an S Coupe) but it was a problem with the distributer module, when it got hot it would shutdown causing the car to stop. It would take about 30 minutes to cool down before it would start again.

1994 Hyundai Scoupe SE from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance85200 miles

Summary:

A very reliable car at a great price

Faults:

I just got this car a few months ago; nothing has gone wrong yet.

Before I bought it, the dealer did something to make the air conditioner work better. It's ice cold; the heater is nice and warm.

The defroster seems to defrost kind of slowly, but it works.

General Comments:

This is a great car. It was cheap (only $1800), but it runs perfectly.

It gets good fuel economy (I've been getting about 30 mpg in town).

I love the manual transmission. It shifts well for a car almost a decade old.

It handles very well. I can take corners much faster than the people who look at this little car, thinking "what is an Scoupe?".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2003

14th Oct 2003, 12:33

It will last you a long time. Ours has 140k and still no major problems except Clutch Slave Cylinder.

24th Dec 2003, 08:24

Yea, my SCoupe has 167+k miles on it, and it's running perfectly. :) So it will last a good long time.

1994 Hyundai Scoupe LX Standard from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Standard Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A great car, but very difficult to repair and find parts for

Faults:

Engine blew up and had to be replaced at about 130000.

Power steering pump had to be replaced at 135000.

Dash board is warped and discolored.

The interior effects (mirrors, sun visors, etc) frequently fall off.

General Comments:

Overall, this has been a very reliable car. However, the few times it has broken down, it has taken weeks to locate and order the parts. It is impossible to find a parts store with anything in stock for this car... and almost as difficult to find one that can even order the parts.

It rides like a go-cart...if you hit a bump in the road, you'll feel it.

Very reliable when it's running. Considering the high mileage, it rarely develops problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st May, 2003

1994 Hyundai Scoupe LS from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carMazda MX3

Summary:

This is a good car, but time consuming and expensive to fix

Faults:

The transmission had to be replaced.

The head gasket is currently being fixed.

The moldings along the bottom of the doors have begun to come off.

The plastic on the console has begun to warp.

General Comments:

This car is very fun to drive. My father purchased it for me in June of 2002.

In early September of 2002, the transmission blew, which caused me to lose steering control. The car was in the shop for 6 weeks while parts were being ordered. This was $1605 to fix.

In late December, the head gasket blew. It has been 6 weeks and I am still waiting on on the shim kit for it. The mechanic expects parts and labor to be near $1000.

Front seating is very roomy and comfortable, but the back seat is extremely uncomfortable for an average teen or adult.

The car has been very well preserved considering it is 9 years old. The seats are in excellent condition and the paint has only chipped a little bit on the spoiler.

The engine in my car was discontinued four months after production began, so finding parts is a very long and difficult process. It has caused many frustrations for me to be without a car for months at a time.

I would not recommend this car because of the difficulty in finding parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th February, 2003

1994 Hyundai Scoupe LS 1.5L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit

Summary:

A high performance vehicle bargain

Faults:

Passenger side front dash board cracked about 1.5 inches.

Passenger side vinyl popping up below the dash.

Head Gasket cracked... had to be replaced.

Both doors are rubber freeze sticker... in cold winter weather, especially if you live in Michigan.

Overall, just got to keep up with the maintenance and replaced most sensors.

Oil pan - started leaking... had to be replaced, cheaper if you know how to change it.

It burned out oil, so that means time for a tune-up.

Thermostat is hard to find... most parts had to be special ordered. what do you expect... It's a foreign car!

Trunk release button doesn't work any more... problem with the wire connection (easy to fix).

Key door stopped working... had to get to get auto keyless lock/unlock.

General Comments:

It's got some good horse power for a take-off.

Great driving control stabilities all season long.

Car is equipped with Overdrive and Economy button.

Car has great gas mileage, except it's only a 9 gallon tank. 29 City and 34 Highway.

Keep up with the maintenance every 3K miles or every 3 months.

Make sure to inspect all sensors, including; Plugs, Plug Wires, Distributor Cap & Rotor.

Radiator flush every 50K miles.

Don't have too much room for a 4 person vehicle.

Wished it was power sunroof instead of a flip-up roof.

Other than that, 94 Scoupe LS got some style, only if you want to put work into it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2002

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 15 reviews